We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
US$270
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
US$245
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Inverlochy Villas(Fort William)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunroy Park Holiday Lodges & Camp Site(Fort William)(Great Value!)
US$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Fort William Backpackers(Fort William)(Great Value!)
US$54
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$670/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
246
332
270
128
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
332
270
128
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesben nevissteam room and saunadb bthe main hotelbuffet breakfastbar menuenjoyable staybit datedroad noisepublic areasplenty of parkingstayed for two nightsone night staytown centreporridgetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed at the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club for one night. We didn't realise the rooms were in another building and had to go outside to get to our room, we'd have preferred to be in the main hotel and would have requested this if we'd known beforehand. We stayed in a Classic room and the room we got needs updating, the bathroom was very small and old. The room was very hot but we turned the heating down so it was fine. No electric shower, it's a shower connected to the tap but it worked fine. The staff were very nice and the room was clean. We didn't get up on time for breakfast (it finishes at 9.30am) but we heard from other guests that it was very nice with a good selection. There are tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits in the room and a hair dryer and TV. No toiletries so make sure you bring some. We paid £30 each for the room and it's a fair price for what we got and breakfast is included in the price. The Classic room is fine if you're just wanting a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

I have noted from your review that you selected to stay in one of our Classic rooms, which are older in style yes, but still clean, and with everything a guest may need. I agree that our reduced price for these rooms reflects good value for money.

I am unsure if the Superior rooms were unavailable at your time of booking, however please be assured that we have had many bedrooms and bathrooms refurbished to a very high standard and these rooms are available to book now. We are also having a further 15 rooms refurbished to a very high standard just after the New Year.

Your kind words about our staff have been passed on to all department heads, as they take great pleasure in feeding comments such as yours back to their teams.

We do hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

The exterior and reception areas of this hotel are well presented and the staff were friendly enough but I cannot really recommend this hotel based on the room. The decoration is sparse and old with rips in the wallpaper and cracks in the paint. The radiator didn’t work and the plumbing woke me at 5am with screeching pipes and rumbling. The bathroom sorely needs an update. I felt like it was stuck in the 1970s. The coach load of pensioners however seemed to be very happy and looked after.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

From your comments I can only assume that you have selected one of our Classic rooms, which yes are older in style but still have everything a guest may need during their stay, and we believe that our reduced rates for these rooms reflect good value for money.

We do have many Superior rooms throughout the hotel, although I am unsure if these were available when you booked with us. Furthermore, we are getting an additional 20 rooms refurbished over the coming months to offer our guests.

Whilst we were unaware of any problems with the pipe works as you have mentioned, please be assured that we will keep an eye on this going forward.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle
Assistant Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Even though the property was good looking and the rooms neat, I'm unable to mention the good bits first as the very thought of my experience makes me shiver, well literally. My family booked this hotel through booking.com after seeing the reviews but were left rather disappointed on two counts; one being the general maintenance of the rooms given to us and the passive attitude of the front office personnel. This property is a quaint property well at least the block we are put in was that way. Only one room had the exhaust fan in the bathroom and all the rooms that were given to us initially did not have wifi and television programs. We informed the reception who did not want believe us at first and then they sounded rather surprised and upon insisting they changed the wing in the same block which had both. So, we were pretty happy especially after our Glasgow experience we were rather wary of how the other hotels would turn out to be. Our happiness was short-lived because at around 1 am we started to gradually shiver and our sleep disappeared. On inspection of the radiator, it was found to be cold and being in Fort William around the time we were feeling rather cold. My father who is 75 years old and who can't handle chillness as good as my sister who lives in this part of the country was the worst affected. We informed the room service who sent someone to check it and after careful inspection said that the central heating must have failed. He told us that it would be set right within 20 minutes and it should be alright. We waited till morning and it did not change at all so it was another disaster. We got to know later that it was our wing which was affected and not the newly refurbished part. I was thinking that we are pampered back in India and even a small slip on the part of the hotel or their staff would not be tolerated. Even the management would go a long way to accommodate us and to do something special to erase our bad memories. Here we were, in the country which is considered far more sensitive to customer service but we did not see even a iota of remorse at our subjected experience.

Of course, the breakfast was included in the tariff and was quite good. Our vegetarian family members did not have much choice but still the spread was quite good. At the end of my stay, I would really have to push myself to rate this hotel especially after my unforgettable experience.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank Sumanth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn of the problems you experienced, and would like to discuss this further with you. In order for me to fully address your concerns, could you please email us directly at bennevismanager@strathmorehotels.com with your dates of arrival and departure.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Stayed 8th till 11th Nov and have to say wow all round. You have to factor in what you pay to the quality of the deal and this was outstanding value. Although the hotel was heaving because of Royal Marines reunion we were still catered for in all areas. Hotel is in main road so easily accessible just out of town but within 10 min walking. Food was really good and breakfast was outstanding. Bar was busy with great staff and made good use of pool/spa facilities. Everywhere in the hotel was warm as the winter started to bite outside and no problem parking, even though it was busy. We booked the 3 night winter offer and loved it so much we are returning next year with many friends. Fort William is also a great base to see the Highlands, see you next year for my birthday again

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you stay, and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to all departments.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Good location, easy access to all locations around Fort William, enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again. Although never used pool it looks clean and well maintained, breakfast was excellent, very filling, we didn't have an evening meal we wandered into the town but other guest seemed very happy. Good value for money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future and you will be able to make use of our leisure facilities.

With kind regards
Andrew Liddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews