We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
511
139
27
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
139
27
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lochs and glens coach driver relief driver long journey meal times daily quiz great holiday evening entertainment winter break coach party breakfast and dinner the main hotel lounge area short break loch linnhe town centre mistletoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Just returned from The Highland Hotel after a 6 night break with Lochs and Glen's, and we had a great time. The journey from Kent to Fort William took 14 hours as their was a minor problem with the coach but we were kept well informed by Lizzy our driver who was very funny and informative. Brian was our driver for most of the week and our return home ans also kept us informed on all the relevant information regarding the sites etc. The hotel staff were amazing helpful and polite throughout are stay. There were several choices for breakfast and dinner and the food quality was good and plentyiful. All in all a great holiday and the highlight was a cable car ride up to the ski resort on the Nevis range to view the skiers and snow borders on the last day thank you to Brian for giving us this opertinity. Very freindly passengers on the coach which made the long journeys bearable.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoffthegills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

I can't praise the Hughland Hotel enough for our wonderful welcome and stay at their hotel. Our room was perfect with a beautiful view of Loch Linnhe. Every morning was a joy waking up to this beautiful view. The food was excellent and staff were outstanding. Our trips with Lochs and Glens were superb. The driver giving us some facts on all the places we visited making it very interesting. We shall certainly be booking again. Thank you.x

Room tip: Room 105 spectacular view.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 93jacquelinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Just returned from a six day tour with Lochs & Glens staying at The Highland Hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. This is a beautiful hotel which has retained some of it's 'Olde Worlde' charm. Loved the wide staircase & stained glass windows in the lobby as you enter the hotel. There is one very good lift.

My room on the third floor was a double, plenty big enough with lots of storage, very comfortable bed, bath with shower over, tea & coffee provided (no biccies or hot choc, you can purchase from reception), good tv & Wifi. The only thing that could maybe be a problem for some people is that the walls seem to be thin as you can hear next door's tv, unusual for an old type of building.

All of the staff seemed friendly & pleasant. They genuinely seemed to enjoy keeping their guests happy. Food in the restaurant was really good, plenty of choice served by very efficient staff. Just ask if there is anything you would prefer & they are happy to help. All the food is served at your table so I did miss having a self service selection at breakfast. I missed having fresh fruit to put on my lovely porridge. Tea & coffee is served in the lobby after the evening meal.

Entertainment every night was good, 9pm until about 10:45. Don't forget to pick up your daily quiz from reception, hand in by 8pm & you could win a very nice box of shortbread. DO NOT MISS GARY SPIERS, Highland Hotel's Billy Connolly, best night of the week.

The hotel is up quite high but it only takes 5 mins to walk down to Fort William High Street, several different ways, by steps or road. The walk back up is a little steep so just take your time. The views from the front of the hotel over the town & Loch Linnhe are wonderful, I loved the changes the light or weather made to the view.

There were three coaches staying at the time I was there but the hotel coped exceedingly well especially at mealtimes. Very, very well organised.

Huge thanks to all at the Highland for looking after me so well, I hope to return if I can make the long journey again.

Room tip: Loch views are on the front of the hotel.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful time Ian our coach driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable the Hotel friendly good food clean comfortable rooms with great views of the loch thanks for a great holiday we are looking forward to going back next year and I see why people keep returning good value for money

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank garykF8223QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Stayed with Lochs and Glens holidays in this hotel.Staff were wonderful,especially the restaurant guy's. Good value break in one of their older hotels. Its nice to be able to walk into town for a local pint, although the price of drinks in the hotel was very reasonable. Room (no 51) was very clean and tidy but small compared with their other hotels we have visited. One huge minus in the rooms we and neighbours had were the awful squeaking floors both beneath our feet, the corridor and above rooms, they really need to sort this out, you couldn't move without noisy flooring. I would have awarded 5 stars if it wasn't for this, it doesn't take much to screw the floor down and make it all quiet. Apart from that it was a good trip.

Room tip: Not around no 51 if you don't want noisy flooring
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews