We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$142
Expedia.comUS$142
PricelineUS$142
CheapTicketsUS$142
eDreamsUS$142
HurbUS$175
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
340
571
333
133
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
571
333
133
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lift railway station buffet breakfast central location high street lovely hotel reception staff superior room town centre black pudding stayed for one night ben nevis porridge fort bistro highlands loch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

Having previously booked into the Alex as part of the veteran community on this occasion I was able to spend 2 nights with my wife.
Although very different to all previous visits the staff remain professional and alert to ever changing Scottish government guidelines.
Thanks to all staff who worked front of house, behind the bar and in the restaurant over the remembrance weekend very thoughtful one and all.
Excellent food preparation and service.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

We booked this hotel for ourselves and our customers (a group of Spanish speakers). A smooth and hassle free booking is essential, as well as quality food, the Alexandra provided both .

Plenty of parking and a very good breakfast to set us up for another busy day.

There were no complaints from any of our customers.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Little S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

When you go in and up the stairs it looks a bit shabby and the carpets are worn. However I had a room in the top floor which looked as though it had been renovated recently. The en suite was still sparkling.

The restaurant felt a bit tired but the food was excellent. Breakfast was really good.

They have the covid processes sorted with a one way system.

Staff were in the main very friendly and helpful. Female on the desk when we tried to check in 20 minutes early was a bit short with her response and sent us on our way...

Great location with plenty of free parking.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gogs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020

Nothing wrong with the hotel apart from one rude and inefficient waitress at breakfast. No please, thank you or good morning. When asked why part of the breakfast had not been served she was totally dismissive. Excellent location for train station.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dajari63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Stayed here for 3 days, hotel is very central, across the road from the train/bus stations, the double room was large and very comfortable, with a good view overlooking the Bistro and the hills. Room was tastefully furnished with a very comfy bed, great hot shower, large tv and plenty of tea/coffee milk in the room, if you ran out just ask at Reception and you were replenished. Breakfast was quick and plentiful. The staff could not have been more friendly, cheerful and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glasgowgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews