We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$178
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$186
View deal
Expedia.com
US$186
US$160
View deal
SAVE US$26
Priceline
eDreamsUS$178
CheapTicketsUS$160
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
233
331
145
66
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
331
145
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays shearings holiday shearings hotels dining room self drive coach trip each evening weekend break loch view the hotel is clean the ground floor coach parties night stay single room comedian fort scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2020

Visited this hotel for a 5 day break a few weeks ago and had a great time. The hotel is situated about 2 miles from the town and is in a lovely position right opposite Loch Linnhe. We were lucky enough to have a Loch view from our bedroom.....stunning view to wake up to! Food was good at the hotel.....there were two sittings at dinner 6.15 or 7.15 and we chose the latter. Good choices on the menu every night and the food was served efficiently. Breakfast is usually a buffet but because of the coronavirus situation we were served at our table.....the staff were brilliant and whatever combination of food we ordered it arrived quickly and was hot and tasty. Guess the only downside to this hotel is the lack of space to sit...if you fancy a quiet relaxing drink after your evening meal then forget it! There is only one lounge and unless you want to go to your room then you are forced to watch/listen to the entertainment whether you want to or not! When we came out of the dining room our party of 4 struggled to find somewhere to sit every night. It's a shame there was not a separate entertainment room but the hotel is not big enough for that. There were 3 coaches in the hotel while we were there so a fair few people! The bar area tho is a lovely place to sit in the late afternoon with a drink overlooking the Loch. The other downside is the lack of Wi-Fi....this hotel seems to be behind the other Shearings hotels in this aspect. Wi-Fi is available in the public places but not in the rooms. Overall we had a lovely holiday and would probably return.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 20cal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

Stayed for four nights with Shearings.Check in very quick.Our room was on the ground floor very basic and tidy.Had to be quick in the shower or hot water would run cold.Few squeaky floor boards above but nothing to complain about.Food was O.K.Entertainment at night average except for the comedian on the Wednesday who was brilliant.Staff at the hotel excellent lets hope they were looked after as the hotel was closing the day we left due to Corona virus.Overall our stay was very good if we were that way again we would probably stay at the Caledonian.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyrHYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

went with national holidays for four days. lovley hotel, staff very attentative, clean threwout, excellent trips included in the break to oban and skye, Dave the driver was great. The highlands are stunning even on cold wet days.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Travelled with Shearings for 4 nights Monday to Friday
A great location with stunning views
Friendly attentive staff who could not do more for you and decent but not great food.
Entertainment each evening was varied but generally decent and booked to match the age of the clientele. The singer on the final evening (Thursday ) was the best.
The room was very good and well maintained. I never really have any problem sleeping when away but this time I did struggle and found the bed hard and the pillows very hard.
A good base for touring the area which was beautiful a place We would revisit if we return to Fort William

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Assistant Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Dear JohnSwin

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your kind comments will be passed to all staff at the hotel along with the entertainers.

I am sorry to read of the discomfort you had with your sleep, we are able to change the pillows and arrange a mattress topper to help.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bay Caledonian Hotel

Kind Regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed here years ago and had a great stay so I was looking forward to it again. Our room was next to the lift and overlooked the staff quarters and bin area so when we looked out the window we could see the staff disposing of their rubbish and sitting out having a smoke. The lift was non stop from about 6am until about 11pm. So not much sleep for us from friday until Monday. I asked for another room at the front and was told that would be classed as an upgrade and we would have to pay extra.
Its suppose to be refurbished but our room wasn't the best and the bed was really uncomfortable.
The entertainer threatened a guest and no one said anything about it.
My husband said the food was good but I left my meal each night and it wasn't questioned
Most of the staff were really helpful and friendly.
Wont be going back for a third time that's for sure.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Champers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Assistant Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Dear Champers43

Thank you for taking the time to leave a 3 star review.

I am sorry to read of the discomfort you found with your room, as you have mentioned we do have upgrades available (subject to availability) and this can be arranged with our front of house team.

We take threatening behaviour very seriously and we do encourage guests to report such incidents at the time of occurrence so these matters can be resolved.

Your kind comments will be passed to the staff along with your husbands comments regarding the enjoyable food.

We hope to change our mind and welcome you back to the Bay Caledonian Hotel.

Kind Regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews