We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
189
290
134
59
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
290
134
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays shearings holiday driver steve shearings hotels shearings group evening entertainment self drive coach trip weekend break half board loch view buffet breakfast bus stop front facing meal times hotel staff a ground floor room
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Excellent views of Loch Linnhe from the rooms at the front of hotel including the dining room and bar, good food with buffet breakfast and served dinner, friendly attentive staff, the hotel is ideal for touring the Ben Nevis / Fort William area,traditional entertainment.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Duty Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review.
Your kind comments will be passed to all staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Spent a long weekend as part of a Shearings break. Chose an upgraded room which gave us a lake view and refurbished room. Room was comfortable and the view superb.. heated towel rail didn’t work nor did the extractor [ room 214 ] , there were no power points near the bed [ most people like to charge phones etc and carry on using them ] .. but, these are minor ‘complaints’. The food was eadible, very small portions, service was hit and miss [ i.e slow ].. but, I have no complaints. Breakfast was great [ even at 6.30am ] , Evening entertainment was great, No complaints... oh, NO WiFi in a hotel room in 2018 is really poor.. even some of the ‘elderly ‘ guests were complaining... I will return.. ticked all my boxes Pps, it’s quite a long walk into Fort William..

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trevor6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Duty Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Thank you for your review,
I am sorry to hear of the minor complaint you had, the towel rail is controlled in the room its self where as the bathroom extractor fan is a timed automatic system.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the lovely views of the loch from the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed here on the =10th September with Shearings. Five day break First impression not good hotel looks a bit drab from the outside. But once inside its . Lovely.reception is very nice staff friendly our room 422 on the fourth floor was very nice we had a loch view the bathroom needs painting lots of marks and scuffs on walls but it was clean and always plenty of hot water.slept really well the bed and pillows were so comfy I wish I could have bought them home.!!!!. Enjoyed the food some nights service was slow the staff didn't have time to speak to you as they were really busy maybe more waiting on staff needed.all public areas are good comfy chairs and decorated well . I agree with another review who commented on the smell in the corridors its not. Nice what is it ? Just a little mention our room needs a 're shuffle the wardrobe is by the bathroom door not much room but there is loads of room the other end also three chairs in one room too much .all in all enjoyed our stay thanks to all

Room tip: Room 422 quiet but if Windows are opened noise from the busy road
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank freda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stay at the Caledonian Hotel with Shearings from the 10th of Sept to the 24th of September & as usual this hotel delivers very good standards we stayed in room 104 which was excellent as I have health problems but this did not stop me & my wife having an excellent time, the food was very good & the Staff were great & friendly which always helps to enhance your holiday & last but not least the Driver Ian did a fantastic job looking after everyone well at all timesall in all a 1st class holiday..

Room tip: if you have health issues then 104 is excellent & as a Loch View.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Duty Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am pleased to hear the allocated rooms met your requirements for your stay.
Your kind comments will be passed to all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Caledonian in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We have just returned home and really enjoyed our 5 nights staying at the Bay Caledonian our room on the 2nd floor was very clean and comfortable we upgraded to a front facing room and looking out over the Loch was just so special .We found the meals very good and well presented and loved the self serve breakfast ....the staff were all very helpful and polite and we would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends

Room tip: 2nd floor front facing rooms overlooking the loch
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Duty Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Thank you, for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the views of Loch Linnhe.
Your praise will be passed to the chefs and to the staff.

We look forwarded to welcoming you back to the Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews