We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$289
Expedia.comUS$289
eDreamsUS$289
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
392
278
61
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
392
278
61
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews browns restaurant fantastic hotel train station pleasant stay town centre ben nevis fort glen base
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Had originally booked via an accommodation search engine only to discover that it was on a room only basis.

Phoned the hotel direct and spoke to Claire. She was able to book 2 single rooms on a B&B basis for much less. When we arrived she was as helpful as she was on the phone.

Lovely big modern room with a hospitality tray and toiletries.

The food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

Hope to go back.

Room tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

I am leaving a review during what must be a difficult time for the hotel, and this hotel has some pros and cons as we see it over a full weeks stay.
A big plus for this hotel is its helpful staff and cleanliness. The sheets were changed every day except the Sunday. The staff are very quick to serve meals, and always enquire about your day. Its a nice touch and they respect covid 19 safety by masks on everyone in the hotel, except when eating. There are sanitiser stations everywhere.
We occupied the disabled room on the ground floor as it was all they had for a full week stay. That was fine, but a big negative was that smokers congregate directly outside our room, and their smoke came through our bedroom window making the room and our belongings smell of smoke.
The bathroom window backs on to a tumble dryer service area which you hear the noise from the kitchen and driers.
Because of Covid we were asked to leave all windows open but this became impossible to do and people stood outside our room talking at all times gave us little privacy or any fresh air. Reception was told but nothing done. A sign or dedicated shelter perhaps?

The breakfasts are good with plenty of choice, no complaints at all there. However evening meal choices have changed from the website we saw, and been reduced during covid to fewer selections that are not particularly good value (especially the steak meal at 28.45 each) It was okay but well overpriced for what we got on the plate.
I was also surprised that the soup does not come with a roll and butter, and I had to ask.

On one day, we had to send our soup back due to stringy fibrous veg, just after another woman had sent her fish pie back for being cold in the middle.

The chefs ham broth soup the previous day was excellent.

The hotel does give very good in room tea/coffee facilities with biscuits.

The last con we need to mention was the parking. We found it a lottery to get a space, (which is not guaranteed) next to the hotel.There is another few spaces available across the road, but local builders are using it, and boxed our car in one day. We waited 30 minutes with the car horn going to get our car out.

The hotel is well located for Glen Nevis, and ten minutes walk from the station in Fort William.

I must again applaud the staff during these covid times as their vigilance put our minds at rest during the whole of our stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank chriswD627WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Another trip to Scotland, another perfect stay.

2nd stay at the Nevis Bank inn, same room, same team, same perfect customer service and hospitality, despite COVID the team excelled again this year.

That pretty much sums up our second stay here in suite 36, the only thing really to add is before we left, we booked next year.

Ok maybe a little more detail for those who want to know more.

first the COVID bit, hand sanitisers on all major doors, screens in reception, they removed the bar sofas and distanced the tables and to make it even better they put screens hanging down from the ceiling so each table it totally isolated, we felt totally safe and totally isolated.

All staff wearing PPE, keeping their distance, and always thinking of the customer first.

So now you are thinking, no sofas for a drink, nope, they are still doing drinks but at your own personal isolated table.

Breakfast was ordered the night before and served within minutes of arrival, for an extra amount they will also do you a pack lunch, and it’s yummy I might add (especially up a long hike up Ben Nevis).

Dinner service was as always perfect, great food, great service, you won’t complain.

I suppose I should say a bit about forte William, it’s been our home from home for a few years now, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, some say a bit rugged / industrial, but it can’t be a fairy tail with Ben Nevis as it’s back drop, direct translation from the Gaelic name “Beinn Nibheis”. “Beinn” is a common Gaelic word for “mountain”, “Nibheis” is usually translated as “malicious” or “venomous”.

It’s a big mountain, but will watch over you while you stay

Can’t recommend this accommodation or this team enough, we haven’t been disappointed, We don’t think you will either.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scratchles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

We have just returned from a short break in Fort William and stayed for 2 nights at Nevis Bank Inn which was excellent. All the precautions to protect Staff and Guests were in operation which gave us the impression that these have been well thought out. All the staff were very friendly and helpful within the rules of social distancing. We were in room 22 which was a lovely large room, tidy and clean throughout. The breakfast which was on a book the night before basis which worked like a dream. The food for breakfast and dinner was well prepared and cooked with a good presentation and extremely enjoyable to eat. This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Train station and town centre. Overall a great place to stay and eat.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020

In general we had a pleasant stay there with all the amenities that you would need. The hotel is itself located about 10 minute’s walk from the main shopping/ restaurant area of Fort William

Because of the current situation we had little interaction with the hotel staff other than checking in/ out or going on our way. Depending on the day any of the interaction was met with some enthusiasm or very little (luckily it was the first one)

Room was comfortable and clean and serviced every day unlike some of the other hotels we stayed at during our stay. Not sure why we received fresh towels everyday despite trying to follow the policy of not requesting fresh ones

We also did not partake in any meals on the premises (none were included in the price of our stay) as we had already pre-booked our meals elsewhere. The hotel does offer breakfast, main meal as well as packed lunches

Parking was limited at the hotel, but an overflow car park was available a couple of minutes down the road

Minor inconveniences included:
With no Air Conditioning we tried sleeping with the window open. But in the end we closed it because of the noise coming from the chiller unit below the window. This you could eventually get used to, but the most annoying thing was that someone smoked in the vicinity. This raged from normal cigarettes to the “weed” variety (despite this being a Non-smoking hotel)
Shower pressure was low
Another annoying thing was the scaffolding directly outside the window which looks like it hasn’t been in use for some time.

Would I stay there again? Not really, as I don’t think that it justified the rather high price (£145) per night for the accommodation

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W3sS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews