We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
49 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sandra B
1 review
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a week with our family - 10 in all ranging from us Senior Cits to our 2 year old grandson - in this house. It is a lovely place if a little "frayed round the edges" so to speak. The location is beautiful and the drive to Fort William quite manageable.

We found it clean in all the places that mattered - kitchen tops, downstairs bathroom and upstairs shower room, bed linen, dining area. I was disappointed though with the fridge/freezer as it was so small and the freezer badly in need of a defrost. As we were a big group I had ordered a Tesco delivery and you can imagine the amount of food for the whole week (we wanted to avoid eating out too often). There just wasn't room for all my frozen food and some did get left out and had eventually to be thrown away before we got to use it. There was another fridge in the utility room, but also small so we still struggled but that might be to do with the amount of food ordered and others may not find this a problem.

The lounge was lovely and big with plenty of chairs - clean and comfy. It was a shame we couldn't open the large patio door as it was locked, but it wasn't such a huge problem to us as it was quite wet and we had a little one running around.

There is Wifi which we had a problem with at first but when it worked was very slow but enough for me to check emails, but not enough for my sons to play games etc.

Others have mentioned the garden which could have been a bit more attended to. We had a particularly wet week and the lawn was very boggy (with a little pond appearing!!) so we had to walk round the edges on the path and got attacked by brambles etc. But if we had had good weather it would've been fine to play ball with the kids in.

Don't be put off by bad reviews as I think, for the price we paid, it was a lovely house in beautiful surroundings with loads of room inside for big groups like ours. It just comes over as a bit unloved but nothing that a bit of TLC, painting and decorating and a feather duster couldn't fix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of house and location
Liked least: General needing an uplift and good dusting for cobwebs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Hi Guys,

So pleased you had a great time at Mill Cottage. Yes you are quite right Mill Cottage has been the victim of its own success this year as we have been fully booked all year but have allocated November to refurbish for 2015.

We'd love to have you guys back so please do let me know if we can help.

Kind regards

Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevnrich
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, unloved and unclean”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My parents, myself and my husband arrived back from mill cottage on the 18th of July after a 6.5hr journey, we are glad to say we are happy to be home, clean house, clean beds,clean everything. Upon our arrival at the cottage on the 12th July we proceeded to the rear of the house to retrieve the keys from he keysafe, but we're immediately astounded by the state of the garden (overgrown, weeds and peppered with cigarette ends), we overlooked this and went into the utility room where the smell of dog,s hit us (we are dog owners by the way), along with the grime and dust covered walls and floors. As we made our way through the house things got worse, the kitchen had not been cleaned, there were coffee grounds on the work surface, the fridge had smeared butter on the shelf and the oven had grease and burnt food on the bottom. The downstairs toilet had pubic hair!!! on the seat and overall was dirty. The skirting boards throughout the house were ditched with filth, cobwebs in the windows and hanging from the ceilings and mice droppings on the shelves in kitchen, the sofas covered in dog hair, we were horrified. Upset by a prospect of a weeks stay in this filthy property my husband and me drove to the co- op in ballachulish and bought some cleaning materials, bleach sprays and cloths and set about cleaning the rooms which we would be using. My mother called the owner Pete on several occasions over that afternoon, we were concerned that the beds had not been changed as they appeared not to be fresh, we were assured by him that the beds were clean, but after the grim findings, we told him we wished to change them ourselves, we were told we could get into the cupboard used by the [cleaner :)]. We changed the beds but could not find one matching pillowcase, the mattress protectors on the beds were yellow stained and the under mattress valence in the downstairs bedroom was spattered with mud,(changed my eye) Pete offered my parents a £60 refund to cover the cost of the cleaning something that no doubt he and my parents will discuss over the coming weeks.
This cottage is in an idyllic spot, easy for visiting the beautiful surrounding areas, but is lacking any hygiene and the safety aspect left us speechless, only one entrance/exit in the whole property, the front door locked- no key, the patio door inoperable. If this cottage were given a huge facelift I would recommend it wholeheartedly, but as it is, don't bother, there are loads out there to choose from, steer clear of this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The house being dirty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas D
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic stay, wasn't long enough”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

just returned from a 3 night stay, we all agreed it wasnt long enough but it was all we could manage around a large working group. The cottage was perfect it had everything we needed and location was spot on for walks and scenery however like much of scotland it was quite remote, make sure you buy bbq food before 10 as nothing is open after that. as a whole the holiday although short was amazing and already talking about going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Hi Guys, we are so pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage. We'd love to have you all back if you decide to return to the Fort William area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Potential, But Cottage Badly Neglected!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Every year our family spends this week in a cottage in this area, watching the local SSDT event. Normally the cottages we stay in are pleasant, and have that holiday feel, however this was a change from the norm.

On arrival it quickly became apparent that the cottage had been suffering from a lack of basic maintenance for some time: All smoke alarms broken, cooker largely inoperable, garden overgrown, radiators scalding, aging decor, and lacking basic cleanliness throughout. We proceeded with our weeks stay as planned, however standards were so far below what we had paid for that we contacted the owner halfway through our stay. He did send his maintenance man round the next day, who fixed a few things, gave the windows their first clean in some considerable time, but little else.

In an attempt to reach a compromising middle ground we suggested some sort of partial refund. This was refused, and some vouchers were promised instead. However 3 weeks on, and these have also failed to materialize.

We are genuinely disappointed, as this is a large property, and its great location gives it massive potential. However until such time as it is afforded some basic cleaning & maintenance, it does no represent value for money in holiday rental market.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the cottage was neglected and the windows were dirty. As a result of your complaint I will increase the frequency of visits by the window cleaner and hope we get some cleaner rain in the future. You should, by now, have received the £50 of vouchers posted to you by recorded delivery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing