We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place near Inverness”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Muilean

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MimiBoise...
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place near Inverness”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family (3 generations, with 10 members from age 6-75) stayed for too short a time in this wonderful house. There was lots of space for everyone to hang out as they pleased when we weren't actually doing something touristy around Inverness. It is across the Moray Firth from Inverness, so residents enjoy the night view of the lighted city. The house is located so close to the water that our grandchildren could practically roll down the driveway to get to the shore--where they practically lived. To everyone's delight, the Moray dolphins showed up for a command performance the first day we were there. The house was very clean and the grounds well-tended. The beds were quite comfortable, the rooms were large, and the living room and dining area were large enough to accommodate us all at once. Cooking utensils and dishware were adequate for a large group. Not being European or from the U.K., we were at first baffled by the washer/dryer, but we figured it out. And the owner was gracious about not having heard from us before we arrived, which must have complicated things for her. All worked out in the end, and we would be absolutely delighted if we could find another time to return. Note that if you enter Kilmuir in your satnav, you'll be directed somewhere else. Use North Kessock as your destination, but skip that exit and take the one marked for Kilmuir at the roundabout.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristof S
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Must be there again”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful and spacious house with stunning views. Although the house is located in the quiet Kilmuir, it is very close to Inverness city centre (about a 15 minute drive via spectacular woodlands) which was very convenient during our stay. We were welcomed very warmly by the owner /and neighbours/, and the house was cleaned and maintained to a great standard. Staying in group of 11 people we could enjoy both family life and privacy in en suite rooms if necessary. Great place to be. In all aspects.
ps.
Owner does not advertise wifi but a bit surprisingly in that remote location there is a really good reception for mobile broadband /I used Three network/.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loaction/spacious house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay F
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic villa, clean, cosy and comfy”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a very enjoyable stay at the lovely villa with amazing views for my mums 60th birthday. Villa was very clean, comfy and cosy and the views were breathtaking. Very relaxing! Caroline was great to deal with and was very quick at responding to our queries. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmanofh...
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this house for a relaxing long weekend with our elderly parents who we don't see too often. From our first enquiry to the day we left Caroline was amazing. She was very helpful and made us feel as if we were dealing with a friend.
The house was everything it was described to be and more. It was warm, spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and had amazing views out over the Moray Firth. The location was beautifully quiet and relaxing, but only a short drive from Inverness where some of our party enjoyed a day at the shops, with me as their chauffeur!
Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their break and we all hope to do it again sometime.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs1411
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, Amazing, Beautiful, these were the word used by our group to describe Muilean.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The place was simple stunning from the setting to the interior, from the lovely modern kitchen to the spacious but cosy feel bedrooms, the lounge was big enough to sit parliament never mind us lot, the bedrooms at the front of house looked out over the sea, and I woke early twice just to watch the sun rise from my bed - It was awesome.

We use the BBQ and the fire Pit, as we were lucky enough to have nice weather. I most definitely would recommend to anyone wishing a quite, idilic getaway.

Only downside was we missed our wee dog, it's not the same without her.

Caroline was lovely and helpful.

Will definitely be back.

Thanks Inverness and Caroline for a lovely weekend

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.