We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location peace and quite in abundance”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Muilean

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mrs Eliza...
2 reviews
“Perfect location peace and quite in abundance”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited Muilean in September, the views from the property are stunning and the location which was easy to find was peaceful. Muilean was spacious and well equipped and very comfortable and warm.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect secluded location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at Muilean for 2 nights. 11 of us altogether (4 adults and 7 children) and the place was perfect for us all. Plenty beds for sleeping arrangements, the house was well furnished with everything we needed.
View at front of house was amazing! Lovely secluded, peaceful location. Had a fun group walk along the beach when tide was out. Not far from Inverness town centre and quite close to a large Tesco for buying in food for our stay. Our friends commented that I'd made a good choice in picking this house for our holiday :-)
The owner, Caroline, was lovely and very helpful. Always happy to answer questions I had before staying and quickly posted down a couple of kids' blankets to me that I'd left behind.
My only complaint is that we were only able to stay there for 2 nights and not longer, but husbands' work commitments wouldn't allow more time away. Would definitely recommend Muilean to stay if you want a quiet scenic break!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rural scenic location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina9584
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a weekend here for my henny! Had an amazing time villa was great not too far from the city and so peaceful and relaxing too! Intending on returning next year with family and friends!

Date of stay: July 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caggymo
inverness
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing break with friends”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in Muilean for 2 nights - there were 12 of us.
The house is beautiful and the views are stunning. We had plenty space, comfy beds and no-one waiting for a shower! The garden area is lovely with the sound of the pretty stream running at the side.
Kilmuir must be one of the most beautiful peaceful villages and with the location of the house leading straight to the water it is perfect - and only @ 10 minutes drive from Inverness :)
Plenty to do nearby and a car is essential - the Black Isle is a gorgeous place to visit - we went on a Dolphin Spotting Boat Trip and saw mum and calf swimming by the boat, plus an interesting Black Isle Brewery Trip. The house is so lovely though that much of our time was spent there relaxing!
We all really loved our weekend and it would be great to return.
Lovely to meet you Caroline en route to the house and many thanks!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too difficult to answer - both house and views were perfect.
Liked least: If I was being really fussy maybe a blind on velux bedroom window would be good with the bright mornings but not a big deal.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorj62...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and views”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Muilean House is a lovely property with beautiful views of the Firth of Moray. Sadly, we didn't see any dolphins while we were there. Lots of space for lounging, socializing, etc, and plenty of bed and bathrooms for our party of seven. Overall very nicely decorated and appointed, but oddly, missing a few basics: no shelves in showers for soaps etc, kitchen had only two chef's knives, which were dull.
Wifi would be a great addition, as the 3G reception wasn't consistent and not all of our devices could work off this signal.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, sitting room with huge windows
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.