We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fab hotel restaurant service disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab hotel restaurant service disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I visited this hotel when in Inverness for Easter Weekend and was most impressed at how the former Loch Ness Hotel had been refurbished. My family stayed at the hotel and found the rooms spacious, the beds comfortable and the facilities adequate for the price providing excellent value for money in a lovely location beside the canal. We ate in the Beefeater restaurant on both nights where the food was excellent pub style food, my only slight gripe is that athough the staff were friendly and efficient on both evenings it took 1 hour 15 minutes on both nights for our food for it to arrive. Having a large party of 16 with four children under 7 this was a big frustration and meant us eating much too late. In other Beefeaters and similar chains food has always arrived in 10 mins. In an other locally owned hotel we had freshly homemade food delivered within 20 minutes on the previous night. Just a little bit of improvement on the end times and this will be 5 stars all round. Look forward my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing fields on higher floor have lovely view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    225
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
211
246
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Callanish, Isle Of Lewis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Fantastic accommodation. Booked two family rooms for three adults two children and were allocated interlinking rooms. Staff were very friendly. As it was Easter children were given east eggs by staff. Breakfast was a bit of a let down but would defiantly stay there again. Nice canal side location. The Waterboys were fantastic at Edin Court.

Room Tip: Book early for great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergusFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I travelled up to Inverness with my wife and a group of friends for a wedding and we chose to stay at this hotel. We initially chose this place as we got the room for a good price (£84 for three nights) and the location was favourable.

Hotel:
The location is maybe a five minute drive from Inverness itself yet it is far enough out that it gives free parking and if you get a room on the back of the building, it is very quiet. As it was only recently opened it is all very fresh and new and has all the usual features you'd expect at a Premier Inn. Also it is right next door to a golf course so if you get the right room you can wake up to a nice view.

Room:
Not much to say about the room really it was a good size with a double bed, a lounge chair and a desk with desk chair. Everything in the room was good and served its purpose well, including the air conditioning.

Staff:
All the staff we encountered in the hotel itself were friendly and polite, the reception staff were friendly and eager to help and the housekeeping always had a smile and said hello when we walked past.

The Restaurant:
Unfortunatly this was the only aspect that let the hotel down, I know it is a Beefeater and techincally not the Premier Inn, but as they are connected I count them as one. The food in the restaurant was decent and there were no complaints about that, the problems were the service. We had to wait ten minutes for our breakfast order to be taken and then a further 30 minutes for it to arrive, which was fine if it were complicated but it was all very straight forward. Also they seemed to have issues keeping items stocked up on the breakfast bar, no bowls, no milk, no plates, etc... the list really did go on, it was like Fawlty Towers in there. We could have understanded if this was an isolated incident but it happened each day we went in there, needless to say we only ate one evening meal in there.

We raised our concerns with reception about the delay in breakfast but were told "There is nothing we can do as it is not part of the hotel", however the next day we spoke to a different staff member and a refund was issued for the breakfast...too little too late. When we were waiting in the lobby for the rest of our group to check out we heard at least two other people complaining about the restaurant so it is obviously a common problem.

Conclusion:
To summarise this hotel; Great Hotel, Terrible restaurant. We would stay at the hotel again but we would give the restaurant a wide berth - at £8.95 per person for the breakfast you would expect it to be pretty decent. Sort it out Premier Inn, your reputation is being severly tarnished by the Beefeater next door.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the side with the golf course, makes for a quiter night and a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeForAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted very warmly by the reception staff and allowed to change our room to one we thought might be quieter. The hotel is fairly new so everything looks fresh and smart. The room was nicely furnished and overlooked the golf course. The addition of air con allowed us to have a pleasant night sleep during one the hottest spells in the highlands. In general i couldn't fault the hotel at all. The restaurant was another matter though. we arrived on a Sunday and was told that things had been busy all day, we expected a delay and a lower standard of food than is normal due to the increase in numbers, we were surprised how good the service was and how good the food turned out to be, so good that we decided to book in for our second night, expecting things to be the same if not better due to the lower numbers eating. All in all it was a disaster from start to finish, the bar staff were slow to respond and were heard complaining about the company that employs them, the service was scatty to say the least and to top it all the food was brought out cold. Eventually the food was replaced and it was very nice plus the waitress took the total of the meal from the bill, time came to order a sweet, mine never arrived and wasn't noticed until we'd given up and tried to pay. I think it depends where you sit as to what service you get and try wearing a loud shirt to get noticed in the bar.

Room Tip: ask for the golf course side as you won't get the noise from the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regiment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here two nights for a long weekend in Inverness. Having stayed in many Premier Inn's and knowing this one was only opened this year I had good expectations. I chose this particular Premier Inn over the city centre one due to it having plenty car parking.

The hotel and restaurant looked very inviting, especially the modern look of the hotel exterior. On check in the staff were very friendly and explained about the good night guarantee and offered us a table at the Beefeater next door. Even leaving in the morning the staff greeted us which was a nice touch. We found the hotel to be around a 20 - 25 minute walk to the city centre, or around £6 one way in a taxi.

Although the room wasn't disappointing, I guess I got my hopes up expecting something a bit more special than your standard Premier Inn room due to it being brand new. It wasn't the worst Premier Inn room I've stayed in but was far from the biggest or comfiest but that is me being really picky! That said there were no complaints as the room was very clean, with plenty of towels and a nice view out onto the golf course (room 215). One minor issue was the shower head had not been properly connected, meaning that turning it a certain way allow water to splash all over the roof. The only real fault with the room. The shower itself was very good with plenty hot water and temperature was easily adjustable (I've been let down on many occasions where the shower in a hotel is either not powerful enough and / or too hot / cold).

We made a booking at the Beefeater on the first night for convenience. The food was reasonably priced and tasted great considering the price. The only let down was the service, where we had to wait 2 minutes until someone acknowledged we were waiting. The staff looked too pre-occupied with how busy the place was (we ate on the Saturday night and it was 3/4 full) and one of the waitresses forgot my side order, although this was ok as I was stuffed from the main course! The restaurant itself was very big with plenty of different areas to sit, and there were plenty of tables and chairs outside which would have been nice in the summer months.

Overall I'd give the hotel 4/5, and if taking the car to Inverness rather than the train I'd stay here again.

Pro's: Reasonably priced, decent sized clean and comfy room, plenty parking and good service from the hotel staff.

Con's: Service in the Beefeater could be improved, some may find the location a bit too far from the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Inverness East Hotel
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel
Address: Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Inverness
#3 Family Hotel in Inverness
#7 Business Hotel in Inverness
#9 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the spectacular Caledonian Canal, just a few minutes' walk from the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing