We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
Expedia.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$130
FindHotelUS$140
StayForLongUS$159
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
34
52
49
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
52
49
13
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2019

Okay, lets get some down-sides out of the way before I let you in on the true gems of this little place.
Curb appeal - none really. When you come upon this hotel you would be forgiven for thinking it is just an estate pub. It's definitely a pub, and it's based on a housing estate in Smithton, but please don't be put off by your first impressions.
Outdated decor - It's looking a little tired inside, but the people who run it will be the first to tell you that it's looking forward to having a face-lift in the near future.
And that's about it for the minuses really... Now on to the definite pluses!
The greeting my friend and I received was second to none. The lady who checked us in was friendly, very informative about interesting local places, and genuinely lovely to us both during our two day stay. And she's not the only one!
The owner is an absolute delight, full of quirky fun and laughter, and a total delight at breakfast time.
The chef (a fellow southerner) was brilliant. He gave great advice about which meals to go for, and we both thoroughly enjoyed his cooking. Breakfast was brilliant, excellently cooked and just the right amount to set you up for a days exploring.
The bar staff were also really good. Friendly, welcoming, and on the ball when it came to filling an empty glass.
To top it all off the locals were so welcoming. You can tell they thoroughly love the place and mingling with new guests. There wasn't one night where we were sat at the bar alone with nobody to talk to... it was like being welcomed back to a local you have spent half your life in, with people happy to engage and chat!
Another definite plus for us was how clean the place is. Our room was spotless with comfortable beds and windows that actually open. I have stayed in so many places where the windows are painted shut, it was refreshing to stay in a room that could get a little air through it!
I would definitely recommend this place if you're visiting Inverness, you may have to travel a couple of miles to get into the city itself, but there are plenty of busses which pass right outside if you don't drive. I'm planning a trip to Orkney hopefully next year and the Smithton Hotel is definitely on my list for stop overs on the way up and on the way back.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

We needed hotel accommodation for one night at short notice and everywhere in Inverness was fully booked or extortionately expensive so I rang here and got a good deal, cheaper than their website or booking.com. We warned them we would be arriving late and were told that the kitchen closed at 9, however, we arrived about 3 minutes before 9 and were told that the kitchen would stay open for us if we could place or order in the next 15 minutes or so, which we did. The menu is functional (lasagne, fish & chips, etc) but the food came quickly and was good. They had a good selection of wines and beers at the bar as well. Our room was huge and very well equipped with a large bathroom which was spotlessly clean. The staff were amazing and super-friendly and welcoming. We had a good breakfast with a small fresh buffet selection and hot food cooked to order. This hotel is in a great location if you want to be just outside the city centre. It has free parking and is not far from the airport and Culloden Battlefield.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank pipsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

A basic hotel offering B&B at a reasonable rate. Shower/toilet a bit quirky with a pillar in the middle that had to be negotiated. Twin room, clean but with only 1 chair. Both side lights not working but discovered they weren't plugged in. A very small soap for washing and No shampoo. Curtains had no lining so allowed plenty of light to come through. Breakfast was good, though not extensive, with attentive staff. No visible disabled parking spots. All bedrooms upstairs so not really suitable for disabled, having no lift.
I would stay again all in all good value compared to some other hotels I looked at.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Oramazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

FASTEST INTERNET IN ENTIRE UK ... NO JOKE lol !!!! i was really impressed by the internet speed. The owner was super duper nice and generous. I was kind of annoyed that our room was the highest floor the last part of the hallway... i mean was the hotel THATTTTT full to the point they put us AT THE END? lol i don't know .. maybe it was .. who knows. but id didn't elevator so that was annoying. but the food was great!!! not going to lie! this hotel is next to the battlefield which we couldn't check out.. I would definitely come back.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuginaJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

This place took us by surprise. The outside appearence is going to throw anybody off. It is tucked away in the trees. Once we were inside, it seemed warm and homely. There's a bar downstairs as well as a restaurant area. We were greeted by a lovely gentleman who took a keen interest in our NC500 trip and gave us advice for it.

Up to the room and it was a lot better than expected. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was lovely and the overall place was good. The Wifi was usable but mobile data may provide a bit more useful in this area.

One thing that got us is pricing. I feel it was a little expensive for what you got but in th end, it is in inverness and the access to local facilities was good. Another thing is that our room was directly above the smoking area for the bar so if you have your window open, make sure you're prepared for the smell of fag smoke and idle chit chat from bar-goers.

I'd happily come back here again.

Room tip: Room 6 is directly below the bar's smoking area
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews