We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
SOOTTISH BORDERS
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly but a bit tired”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Spent two nights and was satisfied with the service. The television was not good, but was replaced on request.
Had meal on first night with mixed reviews, mine was good, with my wife complaining that the meal had poor sauce with meat being very average.
The hotel is not a four star, I had stayed years ago when it was newer, needs a bit of upgrading nowadays.
Overall a decent hotel in a nice location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTHRIESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel overall. I was also glad to hear that whilst you had an issue with your TV, the problem was quickly resolved when you reported it. I was disappointed to read that your wife did not rate the meat and the sauce, I will address this with Chef.

We are continually refurbishing and investing back into the hotel. I was sorry to read that you felt your room was tired. The standard / garden rooms are due to be completely refurbished later this year.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    532
    199
    57
    35
See reviews for
342
707
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

passing through and spent one night in room 105 which was lovely. The room was very spacious with a huge comfortable bed, seperate sitting area, fridge and jacuzzi bath with seperate shower. Breakfast and leisure facilities are first class. We'll definately be back sometime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a guest review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our associates very friendly and very efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills Hotel.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Me, my wife and our 3 month old baby stayed at the Kingsmills Hotel for two nights. We had a fantastic time. The level of service the hotel provides is among the best I have experienced - a special mention to the staff at reception, the concierge and the staff in the Conservatory and Lounge restaurant for being extra accommodating and incredibly nice! Great facilities, great rooms - we can't wait to go back and strongly recommend the Kingsmills to all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indomeitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for guest feedback. I was delighted to read your review and see you had a fantastic stay in room 105. Room 105 is one of our deluxe rooms in the original house, it has a very large bed and bathroom with Jacuzzi bath. I am also glad that you enjoyed the rest of our facilities and were wow'ed by our fantastic associates.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Kingsmills Hotel.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Kingsmill is a fab hotel. Our room was huge as was the bed. The staff were really helpful and friendly, it was good value also. The food was really good. The hotel is just a ten minute walk from Inverness. We will definitely return and I would encourage others to stay here if they are going to Inverness.This was the ideal place to spend Valentines!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoEttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a guest review. I was glad you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed our large rooms and large beds, along with our fantastic food and savy service. It is a perfect location for so many different occasions.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We normally self-cater with our 2 children (5 and 8) so this was a short break with a difference for us. We had the family room in the Kingsclub. Fantastic big room, huge bed, separate children's room with bunk beds. Comfy seats with coffee table. French windows to table and chairs outside (but no view).

Staff all very nice and general manager attentive to our requests.

Bears in bed for children a lovely and memorable touch.

Breakfast huge choice. Leisure facilities good.

Good location, bus stop opposite, 5 mins to city centre, taxis to centre only £4 ish.

Hope to be back, especially to try the pitch and putt!

Richard

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest feedback. I was delighted to read that enjoyed your family break and the kids will take their bears home with good memories. We do like to personalise everyone's stay and deliver guest expectations. Our associates really do care and take pride in delivering a professional job. I appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of view from our family in the Kingsclub however do appreciate all the positive attributes of the room. We do have five family rooms in the main hotel in addition to this one family room in the Kingsclub and Spa.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
1.1 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
4.5 km away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
1.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing