We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek design, good food, mediocre service”
Review of Contrast Brasserie

Contrast Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Contrast Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 281 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: US$20 - US$66
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In Scotland, the traditional way of cooking is to create simple dishes, built around one great ingredient. Contrast Brasserie is no different. From succulent rare breed pork or prime dry-aged beef to locally grown market vegetables and fresh fish from sustainable we try to stay true to our Scottish roots. With a sharp focus on Scottish, locally sourced produce, Contrast Brasserie is a refreshing addition to the Inverness restaurant scene. Located a short walk along the river the city centre and across from Eden Court Theatre, it's the perfect lunch, pre-theatre and dinner destination.
Reviewed 13 June 2018

While staying at the Glenmoriston Town House (in which Contrast Brasserie is located) we dined at the restaurant a few times - twice for dinner, once for breakfast. Overall the space is VERY sleek and chic in design. The quality and value of the food was quite high. Service (consistently) was a bit spotty... we typically had a few different servers assist us with each meal... Ana, the manager, was very professional and welcoming but some of the staff were slow to wait on us or check on our needs. That said, it's still a good place worth dining. Also, they have nice outdoor seating and a live pianist in the bar on certain nights....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lansingmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Lansingmitch, many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Contrast. I'm so glad you found the setting and quality of food to be good, and sorry if the level of service was not up to standard. I'm sure if you read our other reviews you'll see that our staff are consistently praised by reviewers. At this time of year we are training new staff and we hope that our guests will be patient, as after all our staff are our biggest asset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Great location near the river. Beautiful sunny weather meant we could sit outside. Had the set lunch menu which was £12.95 for 2 courses- excellent value for super quality food. I had duck spring rolls followed by seafood linguine which had a great chilli kick. My husband had hake and prawn for his starter and chicken with truffle oil mash for main. service was very friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karengregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Karen, many thanks for reviewing your visit to Contrast. I'm so glad you enjoyed the food and friendly service. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

There is no beating the view offered at the restaurant. We were lucky enough to have dinner on a warm and sunny day so we were able to sit outside.

The steak and mashed potatoes were delicious and very filling. Highly recommend the garlic butter.

1  Thank Heamu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Contrast. So happy that you had an enjoyable meal, and yes its great to be able to sit outside, isn't it? Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Tried to book a table on line unsuccessfully as it seemed to be having some issues and wouldn't accept the booking. Managed to get through by telephone on second try.

The service on the day was very pleasant and attentive. Enjoyed the bread and oils whilst chatting and reading over the menu. And at last, somewhere which asks whether it is sparkling, still or tap water for the table!

The nettle and pea risotto was very tasty. The sticky BBQ chicken with coriander, rice, mango lime and habanero chilli salsa and fresh pomegranate was tasty enough but lacked the coriander and chilli for me. Good size portion of the very nice apple and bramble filo parcels was well received.

3 courses for £15.95 at the standard given is very good value.

The shortbread which comes with a coffee was delicious.

Cocktails excellent and on offer at £5 at 5 o'clock.

Two negatives which I hope will be rectified. First being the hand dryer in the ladies which did not work and there were no hand towels available. (We did mention this at the time.) Secondly, disappointing to see plastic straws still being used.

I would certainly recommend Contrast and will certainly go back.

1  Thank Cal26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Contrast. By all accounts it seems you had a very successful experience for which I am so glad. The hand dryer is a bit temperamental, that said there should have been a paper towel alternative. With regards the straws. we are phasing these out and would certainly have done so before any laws came into place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

The service is excellent and the food as well. Very friendly wait staff and one of the best meals we have had one Scotland. Would highly recommend the duck. The best duck breast I have ever had. Tender and nicely seasoned. The decor is very nice as well.

Thank douglasmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. It sounds a cliche but the staff work extremely hard to deliver excellent food and exemplar service so they will be delighted to read your comments. We hope you'll be able to visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contrast Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Contrast Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing