We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel that has a great gluten free menu”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Broxburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel that has a great gluten free menu”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I booked this hotel again after staying here 4 years ago and i was not disappointed.
This hotel has a very wide gluten free menu with foods that taste fantasic. It is in a great location, the rooms were clean and comfy and the staff were all very friendly & helpful
Food and atmosphere was so good we didnt even leave the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    250
    64
    19
    26
See reviews for
166
339
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked this on the way to a Winter Skills Course at Glenmore Lodge. It was excellent - just opp the station. V friendly, nice room and huge breakfast. Good soup too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A friend and I booked a weekend in Aviemore so that I could tick skiing off my bucket list. The location of the hotel is perfect, being opposite the rail station in the main street and withing walking distance of all the town amenities but you would need transport to the ski slopes which are about 9 miles away. Hotel parking was not a problem and the reception area like the rest of the hotel is welcoming with all things Scottish everywhere ( tartan carpets, suits of armor and pictures of bygone Scottish people). We were able to check in early, our room being on the 2nd floor but alas, and this was honestly the only downside, no lift, so a bit of a trek up the stairs. Not so bad for us, but not so good for the elderly or infirm ( I would be classed as elderly by anyone under 30, but definitely not infirm yet).
The room was small but clean and well presented and had everything we needed. We decided to set about exploring the town and other local hostelries and to discreetly enquire with willing locals as to important matters like nightlife, food and drink. We kept getting the same response that the Cairngorm was the best choice for all of that, which was encouraging.
The bar at the Cairngorm is large and really nice, with a mixture of all ages, locals and visitors alike. The bar staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and having sampled at least 4 other bars in town we decided to stay there in the evenings. There is live music most evenings and on the Saturday night, the place was packed out due to the popularity of the musicians who were playing that evening. The atmosphere reminded me of a night out in the Temple Bar, Dublin with traditional music played with unbridled frenzy. Busy though it was, there was no pushing or shoving to get a drink and the whole place felt really comfortable. There is a separate restaurant, plus food also available in the bar and outer areas. We elected to eat in the restaurant, and despite being very busy we were found a table promptly. The menu is good and well priced and after having eaten breakfast there earlier, I had no worries about the food.
The speed at which we were served was nothing short of a miracle and the entire service was fantastic. It is really refreshing to go to a restaurant where the food is perfect, the service is exceptional and there is absolutely nothing to complain about- I was really impressed.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will return to the Cairngorm but give the skiing a wide berth as infirmity may have begun to set in, or maybe the whiskey seemed a better choice. Incidentally there are a number of nice bars and restaurants around the town, but the Cairngorm suited us just fine with less of a walk in the freezing cold later.
The Cairngorm is great value for money and a really good choice if you are staying in Aviemore or even just passing through en route to even more remoter and colder places further north and you will not be disappointed if you go there, unless you are anti Scottish or don't like their music.




  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smiffy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed in December with my friend for the 6th Year in a row....Love it more every year! Can't wait to get back this year. Lovely, comfy rooms....amazing breakie. All the staff are very friendly & helpful. Stayed with my friend for my birthday in December and we didn't even leave the hotel bar...the atmosphere and live music was brilliant! Defo have dinner in the hotel....at least once during your stay, gorgeous menu and yummy puddings!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janabellarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 for two nights. A very convenient 30 second walk across the road from the railway station.
Really nice decor and ambience when entering the lobby, and it felt typically Scottish as soon as we walked in.
Very attentive friendly staff made us feel most welcome, and I would not hesitate to stay there again..
The pub/bar section of the hotel has a huge selection of wiskys, and a book listing them all and their characteristics is available to peruse for wisky novices like me..
All in all, an excellent hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhnomPenhStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
10.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
2.1 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.1 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
0.4 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
15.8 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing