We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We arrived at the hotel before 11:00am so we were expecting that the triple room which we booked is not yet ready at that time but the receptionist told us that we can already occupy our room. That was a treat as we had come from Sunderland which was about 3 hours by train. The internet is available at the lounge and there was no problem in connecting on the first day although the system had to be reset on the second day before we were able to connect.
The room is large enough for the 3 of us and the bathroom facilities are OK. The heater also worked fine. However, the TV is not operational. Staff said that there is problem on the signals.
The hotel is centrally located and shopping malls are within walking distance. There’s a lot of eating places all around. The receptionist gave me a map without waiting for me to ask for it.
They offer freshly cooked scottish breakfast but you also have a choice of continental.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator so try to get a room on the lower floor if you’ve got heavy lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maverick_meru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    156
    180
    98
    147
See reviews for
57
231
113
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goch, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

i have rated this hotel before but i recently stayed there again, so i thought it's time for an update.
after checking into my room i noticed that it was impossible to turn off the heating, after mentioning it at the reception they sent someone to take a look at it but he had no success with the repairs. i was then given a nice twin room, no hassle :)
on this visit i finally managed to wake up in time for breakfast (in the £26 room priced included!) and i was pleasantly surprised... service was friendly and efficient and the full scottish breakfast was really tasty, there are places that charge up to £10 for a breakfast that good so in real terms i only paid £16 for the room.
maybe the place would be nicer with a bit of renovating but then it would cost a lot more, so i have problems understanding why some reviewers complain. everything that's important is there:clean, comfortable bed and helpful service in a good location.a tip for those that were not happy to stay there... pay 30 to 40 pound more and stay somewhere else, you get what you pay for and taking everything into consideration i would say that the rennie mackintosh staion hotel is great value for money.

Room Tip: as i mentioned in my last review: ask for a room as close to the ground floor as possible if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mummelgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Location was ideal for us,very helpful girl on desk,those are the good points!Arrived late had booked for 2 nights,were given a top floor room like an attic poorly furnished and very noisy with traffic. As there were no other rooms available we had to stay in it.It was very hot and the room had a velux type window which we left open, in the middle of the night we were woken by a big seagull trying to get in the window! The breakfast was ok,and we were offered a choice of rooms for that night.We chose a room at the back as it was quieter,but it was very dark as it was just below the station.It was better than the previous room but we wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter but quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravellerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Managed to get a family room here for £60 on Late Rooms. So as you can expect, i didnt have too many expectations! The hotel is in the perfect location and is a 1 minute walk to the St Enoch Centre on Argyll Street. We arrived a little early and were allowed to leave our luggage, the room didnt even have a lock on the door so we didnt leave anything of value. When we returned the staff were very friendly. The room isnt much, the carpet was something out of the 70s and it had 2 double beds which still allowed enough room for the 3 of us. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and everything was clean. I would stay again for the night, for it's very central location, it's clean and most importantly somewhere to crash if you are planning on hitting the nightlife of Glasgow! Word of warning though on check-in i was told i got a very good rate as normally their rate is £110 for a family room, i wouldnt pay this but for £20 each we couldnt complain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I don't normally bother to write reviews on hotels, but this place deserves a special mention. Tired and shabby decor, with rude reception staff. Room was a reasonable size and the location is very convenient, however that's where the positives end! The worst points to mention relate to the bathroom which had the following problems;

Most fixtures hanging loosely from the walls ready to fall off
Shower head had to be removed as fixings so worn it only faced to shower wall
Ceiling paint almost completely peeled off
Sink plug so worn it could not keep the water in the sink
WORST OF ALL, a large window facing the main street which could not be closed, leaving a freezing bathroom and full on show for those that would brave the shower!

All in all not somewhere I would recommend, badley in need of refurbishment and basic maintenence...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#76 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing