We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb customer service”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my partner for a city break in Glasgow on a Thursday and Friday night. Parking is across the road from the hotel in a multi storey which was quite expensive although if staying at the hotel the cost isslightly discounted. On arrival in reception we were greeted warmly by the reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. Our room was average sized with a double bed and a sofa. Both the room and en suite were clean and well kept. My only complaint was the lack of mains sockets in the room - only 1 which means if you want to charge more than one mobile phone for example, you will need to stagger this.
On the first evening we asked the reception staff to book us a taxi to take us for dinner. By the time we arrived in reception the taxi had still not arrived and on several occasions the reception staff contacted the taxi company to chase up our taxi unprompted. The staff were really helpful and went way above their duty of care when they were clearly busy with other guests too.
Breakfast was a 'help yourself' buffet affair which was actually very well stocked with a really good choice considering it's a Holiday Inn Express. The only disappointing thing is the cooked option consisted of three items only (sausage, beans and scrambled egg) however this isn't really a bone of contention as there was plenty of other things to eat (muffins, croissants, toast, cereal etc).
The hotel is really well placed for shopping, only a 3 minute walk from Sauchiehall Street and lots of other attractions. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future although the price tag is a little over what I would normally be willing to pay for what I consider to be a budget hotel. The customer service on this occasion makes up for it in my eyes though.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room otherwise you might end up overlooking the main roads out front which can get q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    476
    171
    37
    18
See reviews for
195
357
85
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Booked this at short notice, requesting a quiet room and that was what we got. Fabulous reception from staff, who briefed us on breakfast and check-out times. Lift is operated by keycard, which is a reassuring security measure. Less than 10 mins from both Queen St and Central stations, this hotel is great for shopping / theatre etc. Only a block away from Sauchiehall St and also Thistle Shopping Centre. Modern room, with clever storage. Bathroom has shower creams etc provide, also tea/coffee and hair dryer. Irons and boards from reception. Breakfast on 1st floor is until 1130. MIx of cereals, toast, eggs/ bacon/ beans/ sausages, fruit juices, croissant and jams. Left luggage in store room though this is not locked. Our bed was slightly on the soft side but we had a choice of pillows. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms to the back are quieter than those on the front of West Nile St, as hotel is by some tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisboeta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Next door to Glasgow Queen Street Railway Station and the bus station, a Cineworld on one corner and the Concert Hall, umpteen cafes and restaurants on the doorstep. Just round the corner and you're into Sauchiehall Street. What a find! The room was basic but surprisingly roomy with a comfy settee to loll on to watch TV, as well as a comfortable bed with a choice of "firm" or "soft" pillows. The shower room was fine with good quality soap and shower gel. Everything was spotless.

As a lone traveller, it was good to know that a basic, but adequate breakfast was available "in house" and if I'd wished, a pizza could have been ordered from Reception. I look forward to future visits to the hotel, alone or with my partner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was my first visit to the hotel and my first experience as a solo traveller. The staff were smiley, friendly and welcoming. They sorted out a taxi for my night out even phoning round for the cheapest quote. I was pleasantly surprised with my room. The level of cleanliness, VERY comfortable beds, choice of firm or soft pillows and excellent bathroom and powerful shower exceeded my expectations. I had pre booked an iron and board which had been missed but staff were apologetic and the problem was quickly resolved. Help yourself breakfast provided an excellent choice but was a little congested at times. Overall a fantastic value for money hotel which I would highly recommend. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afternoonteafortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

On check in we were directed to appropriate parking and the charges were explained to us. The receptionist, Mark I think, also gave us an extra hour in the room for check-out. What a star and much appreciated. The rooms are basic and not huge but more than enough for a one nights stay. They have nice, clean bathrooms with half decent toiletries - enough to get you by. That's one thing I can't stand about The Travelodge chain - no toiletries at all in the room.

Check out was efficient and I would have no hesitation in recommending this budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing