We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Next door to Glasgow Queen Street Railway Station and the bus station, a Cineworld on one corner and the Concert Hall, umpteen cafes and restaurants on the doorstep. Just round the corner and you're into Sauchiehall Street. What a find! The room was basic but surprisingly roomy with a comfy settee to loll on to watch TV, as well as a comfortable bed with a choice of "firm" or "soft" pillows. The shower room was fine with good quality soap and shower gel. Everything was spotless.

As a lone traveller, it was good to know that a basic, but adequate breakfast was available "in house" and if I'd wished, a pizza could have been ordered from Reception. I look forward to future visits to the hotel, alone or with my partner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    469
    171
    37
    18
See reviews for
195
350
85
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was my first visit to the hotel and my first experience as a solo traveller. The staff were smiley, friendly and welcoming. They sorted out a taxi for my night out even phoning round for the cheapest quote. I was pleasantly surprised with my room. The level of cleanliness, VERY comfortable beds, choice of firm or soft pillows and excellent bathroom and powerful shower exceeded my expectations. I had pre booked an iron and board which had been missed but staff were apologetic and the problem was quickly resolved. Help yourself breakfast provided an excellent choice but was a little congested at times. Overall a fantastic value for money hotel which I would highly recommend. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afternoonteafortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

On check in we were directed to appropriate parking and the charges were explained to us. The receptionist, Mark I think, also gave us an extra hour in the room for check-out. What a star and much appreciated. The rooms are basic and not huge but more than enough for a one nights stay. They have nice, clean bathrooms with half decent toiletries - enough to get you by. That's one thing I can't stand about The Travelodge chain - no toiletries at all in the room.

Check out was efficient and I would have no hesitation in recommending this budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We usually stay at a Premier Inn when in Glasgow, but this place had two great advantages over the Premier Inns in town. Firstly, it was cheaper, and secondly it was right next door to the bus station (we were travelling by bus). The room was up to Premier Inn standards (but with a shower rather than a bath), perhaps the breakfast a bit less so - but it was OK. They clearly economise on staff - so you don't get waitress service at breakfast; but any staff we did encounter were friendly and helpful.
For budget travellers, this was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanz1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was a good hotel, we were really happy with it. Very convenient to the centre of Glasgow, right on the edge of Buchanan and Sauchiehall Hall St. The room was clean and quiet, bed was really comfortable. The staff was friendly and remembered that we were there for a film festival - asked us how we were liking it on check out. The amenities are pretty basic, but it's billed as a basic hotel. Don't expect little biscuits in the coffee service, and tiny shampoos bottles, but what was there was perfectly adequate. It's great for someone that doesn't expect small extras and just wants a good, clean, basic room. Breakfast was good - sausages, scrambled eggs, toast, baked beans, more then we were expecting actually. We stay in Glasgow once a year for Frightfest at the GFT, and I think we found a hotel we'll keep returning to..

Room Tip: All were good - perhaps because it's in a busy city I'd recommend something on a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizkane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing