We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accommodation that will do in a pinch”
Review of Seton Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seton Guest House
Ranked #24 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We've been to Glasgow before and just needed a place for 2 nights while attending meetings. Nothing else was available for less than £100 per night this past June so we ended up at the Seton Guest House for 2 nights. Under these circumstances we made do with this place but if we had to do it again, would definitely book a proper hotel as this place calls itself a B&B but in fact is more in league with a backpacker's hostel.

Although it was a bit scary to walk in and be greeted by the pungent odours of dogs and cigarette smoke (enough to hold my breath... and I have a dog), we were relieved to find that our room (on the 2nd floor) was both clean and odour-free, and to be fair the mattress was decently firm. For that reason I would say the place is passable as a last resort, but definitely if you are coming to Glasgow as a tourist you want to look for something in the West End.

We took a look at the windowless breakfast room in the basement, but the dampness, smell and overall grimy feel were more than enough for us to skip breakfast both days.

One last item to note: on the day we were checking out, someone started banging on our door at 10:30am. We let them know that we were still sleeping (jet lag) and then the banging resumed 10 minutes later. When we opened the door we were curtly informed that check out was 10:30am, a new one for me. Again, this only served to underscore the overall feel of the place, more of a hostel rather than a bed and breakfast run by welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank singleminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Seton Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

A lovely, warm, spacious guest house with a friendly, helpful host, Alistair!
Great breakfast - cooked individually!
You can walk into town, or take a short bus trip!
Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonjp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We travelled to Glasgow for my sons wedding we found the Seton on the internet from the first phone call I had the feeling we were going to a very friendly place very comfy laid back and made us feel at home the room was great the breakfast just the job all in all a great place to stay we will definitly be back Margaret and Tom Gregory

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I needed a hotel close to the city centre to stay in following a friend's wedding. The location was excellent - with free on street parking (no parking meters!) and George Square minutes away.

The rooms were very comfortable and the linen was spotless. What set this place apart for us was just the sheer level of warmth and friendliness shown to us from the proprietors Alistair and Sheena Wood. The guest house appeared pretty full, but they still took the time out to chat to us like individuals, making sure we found everything was ok. In short they couldn't go to enough trouble to make sure we were made to feel welcome.

Not a hint of the pretentiousness you get from some chain hotels where you can sometimes be made to felt the hotel is doing YOU a favour by allowing you to stay with them, which is why if I ever need overnight accomodation in Glasgow centre, this would definitely be my first choice now!

Room Tip: Just be open about what you're looking for!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We were visiting Glasgow for a friends wedding earlier this month and spent 2 nights at the Seton Guest house. We would definetly stay there again, The owners were great and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived! The rooms were spotless and the location is perfect.
Would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srussell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#16 of 35 in Glasgow
30 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
708 reviews
Craigpark Guest House
#17 of 35 in Glasgow
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
328 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
351 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#9 of 35 in Glasgow
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Guest House

Address: 6 Seton Terrace, Glasgow G31 2HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: €64 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing