We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but leisure facilities are poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my husband and the hotel was lovely, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right next to a busy motorway however it is so quiet and possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. The staff could not do enough for you. Had breakfast both days and it was a very high standard buffet style and totally worth the money.

The only thing that spoilt the weekend was the leisure facilities, for such a expensive hotel I would expect quality but it was run down, unclean and not up to standard. The pool was packed not helped by two lanes being used for swimming lessons. The changing rooms were unclean. Following a complaint we were compensated for this however it really needs to be improved as this was part of the reason we booked.

Would definitely return if this was improved as everything else was fantastic!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank abzkatejohn1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel really needs updating, decor is tired and needs revamping, like many Marriott's to be honest.
Very expensive for what you get, but I chose it for the central location so you expect it.
First Marriott, out of about 20 I've stayed in, that the fridge had been removed. Very poor

On the plus side, the gin selection in the bar is excellent.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Had a Great night at the Marriot Hotel for the Sainsbury's Love awards, Staff were lovely and very attentive to all our needs. The meal! you couldn't fault it the soup was lovely and the chicken melted in you mouth even having to cater for a large number and who were running a bit late. Did not book a room but the rest of the hotel looks very high class reception/lounge bar area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amuir143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

OK for business trips - clean, functional and central. The room was large and clean; the bar and restaurant area were pretty empty and lacked atmosphere. Overall OK apart from issues with the Wi-Fi which seems to be an ongoing issue.

Room Tip: Sign up for Marriott Rewards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, Guest Relations at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you Treeebs for leaving a review about your stay at the Glasgow Marriott hotel.

I would like to apologise for the challenges you faced in regards to our Wi-Fi, however rest assured we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi in every bedroom of the hotel.

Once again thank you and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Glasgow Marriott hotel in the future.

With warm regards,
Ryan Griffiths
Guest Relations
Glasgow Marriott hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I was expecting a dreary chain hotel atmosphere when I found out I was booked into the Marriott by my company. I was pleasantly surprised by the lobby and the very professional staff on duty. The room was a good size and had all the amenities one would expect of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was excellent and I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank ursulabanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,487 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,234 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: €68 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing