We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful nights sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful nights sleep.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Checked in to the hotel, all staff were very pleasant. After a function at the hotel, I went back to my room, it was so HOT!! I had to make a choice of either really loud air con or roast. I managed about 2 hours of disturbed sleep all night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry you did not get a good nights sleep due to air conditioning . That should not be the case. As you will see from previous reviews, we completely overhauled our AC system last year. I have asked that the Engineers are called in to check that all is in order and to rectify whatever elements of the system are not up to scratch.

Regards,

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    854
    342
    170
    83
See reviews for
285
889
85
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Only stayed one night (27th February). Had a sandwich and coffee in bar when I arrived and dinner in the restaurant in the evening. Expensive but all very enjoyable. Breakfast too was very good.

Room very good with plenty of space and a desk to work on, plus good 3G reception.

Basic requirement of any hotel however is to provide a place to sleep. This was made difficult by the bright light shinning under my door all night and the shrieking of the lift. Whole situation was exasperated by the shouting, laughing and furniture moving that woke me at 4:30am and continued until after I got up at 6:00am - sounded like a party going on. I don't know exactly where the noise was coming from (appeared to come from somewhere above my room - 919) and I don't know if it was staff or another guest; taxi driver suggested it might be related to a concert or something at a venue next door. I don't really care; all I know is that I arrived at my meeting the next day extremely tired and won't be using this hotel for a business trip again.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a quiet room. I did and it didn't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry you did not have a great nights sleep with us. I understand that when you stayed , some other guests did not realise how much noise they were making when they had a party in their room. I mention this as an explanation rather than an excuse. I can assure you it was not staff.

There should have been no light coming from under your door as described and i have asked our maintenance team to investigate and sort it out.

Regards,

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a deal so it was good value. Afternoon tea yummy. A nice quiet room on the 12th floor with a lovely view of the city and the Clyde. Loved the panoramic lift. Only criticism the bathroom was a little tired. Service very good and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan301153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thankyou very much for your review and a belated " Happy Birthday".

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you will be back again before long.

Regards,

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had an excellent night stay at this hotel.The first room we were given was smelling of smoke but we were moved immidately to the 11th floor.The room was a really good size with a kingsize bed which was very comfy.We had afternoon tea which was included in our deal,cakes were lovely.We ate in the bar at night and the food was very hot,plentiful and tasty.We went to the pool which could have done with a bit of a sweep/mop but it was late so maybe this was why it was a unclean,The staff were good and friendly and helpful.Overall it was an excellent stay and would definately go again!!

Room Tip: A higher floor room overlooking the city has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundeeYummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thanks for posting such a great review - it is appreciated. Sorry about the room smelling of smoke. Unfortunately, despite being a 100% non smoking building , some people just cannot resist the urge.

Regards,

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Firstly I must state that I only ended up at this hotel as my flight got diverted, and the airline put us up in the hotel.

The hotel was in a state of chaos as they suddenly had about 300 guests arrive at the hotel all at the same time. To some extent the staff tried to handle it well, but generally it must be said the senior staff seemed to be running round like headless chickens. It took a good 90 minutes before there was any semblance of organisation. While the hotel cannot accept full responsibility for the unusual nature of the events, I would have thought a bit of calm planning up front would have made things more pleasant for the newly arriving guests, as well as for those guests who had stayed the previous night.

The hotel does not have enough lifts to cope with the number of floors nor number of guests. While we only stayed for one night, the wait for the lifts was a real drag, and nearly every time one arrived on our floor it was completely full!

The rooms were pleasant and modern: wall safe, mini bar, decent bathroom, clean sheets etc.

The breakfast buffet was basic, and not particularly appetising. A buffet meal was put on for us on the Sunday evening, which was typical mass catering produced food (i.e. basic hit and miss).

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the city centre. The walk along the River Clyde to the city is pleasant, but not beautiful. You wouldn't want to wak the route too many times in one visit though (and taxi fares would start to mount if you want to go in and out to the centre). Other than the conference centre there isn't much on the doorstep of the hotel.

All in all if I was visiting Glasgow again I wouldn't choose this hotel. I would prefer to be more central, and have a better choice of restaurants on my doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thankyou for posting a review following your stay here at the hotel following a delayed flight. As you quite correctly state, it was an usual nature of events to receive 300 guests together at short notice particularly as the hotel was already quite busy due to a conference on at the SECC along with a concert. I am sorry that you felt that we didn't have enough lifts, however with so many guests wishing to use them at the same time due to fixed dining and departure times, this will result in unavoidable delays - however I do take your point and offer my apologies.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us under different circumstances in the future.

Regards,

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing