We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Outstanding Staff”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Checked in around 5pm on a Saturday for a 2 night stay and was handed key card and Priority Club welcome letter by helpful staff. Room was probably one of the best rooms I have stayed in in a while beating other hotels "premier" offerings. Tiny things like plugs in the right places, tv easy to watch from bed, well appointed bathroom all make the difference.

Was using the hotel as a base to go out with friends at the weekend and had never been to Glasgow before.. Hotel front desk staff were extremely helpful with all matters including tourist information, local travel information and were able to use their clout with a local cab firm to call a 6 seat taxi with virtually no wait whereas other companies were quoting waits of over an hour.

Reception staff were extremely helpful and served drinks from the bar on demand in a cheery fashion.

Duty manager even investigated a case of children playing around in the only working lift (making it stop on every flloor) within a few minutes of it being brought to his attention.

Breakfast on Sunday morning would have been better if it had gone on till 11.00 as opposed to 1030 as a lot of people seemed to rush in at 10am making it very busy however the team of staff kept this replenished and cleaned quickly though it did mean sharing tables with other parties.

All in all a fantastic stay with probably the staff being the best asset of this hotel. Happy and helpful staff really can make or break a stay.

The only downside I would say would be that there was no free internet access in the rooms.
With pricing on Saturday night considerably more than Sunday and more than full service Holiday Inn Hotels and a fraction under other brands, the hotel needs to be careful as they might lose guests. People don't want to go down to the lobby to check train times, look at directions to a restaurant or check in for their flight and £10 for 24 hours room access

I was fortunate that my Sunday night was considerably cheaper than Saturday so the overall average cost per night was not so bad but I wouldnt return if I paid more for a lower hotel than full service to get less facilities no matter how good or efficient the staff were.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    476
    173
    54
    19
See reviews for
231
415
67
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N IRELAND
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Express, Riverside is hard to beat for location - shops, restaurants, and bars are all at walking distance. There is no need to use taxis, as everything is at hand. We used the hotel, as we were going to the Elvis concert at the SECC. It is possible to get to the Conference Centre by using Glasgow's highly efficient rail network and is cheap.

The facilities at the hotel are pretty much what you would expect for the price. It is a budget hotel, so don't expect 5 star facilities. The rooms are clean, well proportioned, have storage space, a small television, shower, toilet, and have tea/coffee facilities. The breakfast is included in the price and has a fairly good selection e.g. sausage, eggs, beans, cereal, cupcakes, fruit, yogurt, and bread. What more could you want?

We shall be using this hotel for our next visit to Glasgow, as the location is superb and provides value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMESYBOYNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 2nd-4th March with my boyfriend and family. We all really enjoyed it, fantastic location and considering the breakfast is included in what is a very reasonable price I find it hard to believe that anybody could find any problems with it. We stayed over a weekend which I imagine would be the busiest time and we had no gripes with service or standard and it was replenished regularly.
The rooms were general Holiday Inn standard very clean with a very eager maid who wanted in at 8.30! Although suppose this can only be a good sign but if you don't want a rude awakening then I suggest you use do not disturb! Great size and lovely shower.
We were lucky or unlucky...whichever way you look at it to get three rooms together and one interconnecting which would be perfect for families or groups of friends.
To be honest the only problem we had is it can be quite noisy, we were beside the lift and don't think the windows were double glazed so some traffic noise can be experienced, although this wasn't really a problem for us it may be for lightsleepers.
Excellent service at both reception and hotel bar which is also reasonably priced.
Left an item of clothing in the room which the hotel were kind enough to post back and was received within 3 days, again excellent service!
Great location close to the train station and city centre.
I would happily stay in this hotel again and as a travel agent would be 100% confident selling this to customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Ideal location for a short weekend break in Glasgow. Bang in the centre and excellent value for money

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panthro_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel provided everything required - somewhere to lay my head and breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately it didn't do anything further to make the stay stand out.
There is no parking at the hotel and for a two night stay we ended up spending 12 pounds on parking in an open air car park down the road.
The rooms were comfortable and large as far as hotel rooms go - the shower was amazing with great heat and pressure which you don't always get in a hotel.
The hotel is well based in the city - a short walk to Buchanan Street which is great for a little retail therapy. It is also close to many nice restaurants for dinner.
Breakfast is a little less than average but you cant really complain when it is included in he price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing