We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$239
US$179
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fraser Suites Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$347
US$303
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$333
US$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$284
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$150
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$229
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
634
510
282
144
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
510
282
144
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonours restaurantbig yingreek orthodox churchduplex suitechateaubriandmini barq parkcity centrestandard roomlovely hotelclub roomreception staffrestaurant staffcooked breakfasta great nights sleeplovely roomstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel after a flight back from holiday which got us into Glasgow fairly late evening. The hotel is around a 15 minute walk from central station in a quieter part of town. The decor throughout is typical Malmaison and very chic but we noticed a bit of wear and tear around the lift, light fittings and on the doors to the rooms which we didn't expect for hotel of this standing. We paid £69 b&B for a Friday night via a corporate rate which was reasonable. The room was small but well appointed. Unfortunately it was very stuffy but opening the windows let in the outside traffic noise so the sleep quality wasn't ideal. We were also placed directly next to a lift which was a shame although not as noisy as we feared. Products in the bathroom were top quality and furnishings etc were all very pretty. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant itself is also a very nice venue. Overall the staff were helpful but a little slow in the restaurant. I liked this hotel but I think they need to do some basic refurb and possibly stop resting on their name/decor and concentrate more on sleep quality and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and if the hotel seems quiet, ask for a swap if not satisfied. I wish we had!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Nice enough hotel with the signature dark decor of Malmaisons. Our room however was actually quite light which made a change (I personally like the dark decor of Malmaisons but it is not to everyones taste). Quite compact hotel with a few signs of wear and tear appearing but can still recommend it and we had a very nice stay - room for only £10 if you spend £75 (per couple) in the restaurant - which we always easily do. The first night of a quick trip around Scotland was spent very comfortably with a quick, short stroll downhill to do a bit of shopping in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chester_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The quasi-art-deco grandeur of this hotel is slightly undone by its shabby seediness. The decor and fittings are certainly arresting, and at a squint there's a Barton Fink-esque charm to the distinctly prohibition era atmosphere. But it's boutique credentials ultimately fall short: it's not the weird speakeasy decadence subterranean breakfast room that lingers in the memory, but the look of tacit sympathy on the face of the room-service girl handing you your over-priced and burnt burger (£20, in case you were wondering).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Malmasion Hotels are great ... but they're pricey. Having said that the buildings they are in are quirky and odd and no two rooms are the same. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds a great, TV choice is good and there's a CD/MD player in all rooms even the tea, coffee and biscuits are top notch. The Breakfast is legend and their Eggs Benedict is spot on. Glasgow's Mal is a short walk from the city centre but its a quiet place to unwind. If you work in hotel rooms a lot and want luxury this is it.

Room Tip: They're all different ... some are small the others are huge, some have small windows at floor level others have a wall of them.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My Wife & I stayed here on Sat 28th Jan 2012 and couldnt fault anything. I booked the overnight stay as an anniversary present, and was a brilliant trip from start to finish. Leanne @ reception was very helpful and organised wine and chocolate dipped strawberries to be in our room on arrival, and also arranged an in-room spa treatment as another treat for my Wife. When we arrived to check in at 3pm, Rachael at reception was very welcoming and helpful so gold stars for the reception staff. Also, we certainly recommend Suzie - the spa lady who came to our room for the in-room massage. Prices are very reasonable and massage was amazing. Our room was 115, and was modern decor, clean and fresh. Room had everything we needed. Wasnt much of a view but we didnt go to Glasgow to look out the window :) The hotel is a great location, central but not too central. Not much street noise even for a Saturday night and being so close to Sauchiehall Street. We didnt have dinner in the hotel, but did have some cocktails in the bar downstairs before retreating for the night. Definitely recommend the gingerbread and strawberry cheesecake cocktails! Breakfast was another treat, lots to choose from and staff friendly and attentive. The croissants were lovely and warm, and the hot waffles with banana and nutella were to die for. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice getaway and to enjoy what Glasgow has to offer.

Room Tip: hall floors are a little creaky probably as the building is fairly old, i suspect rooms on the top floor have less noise. We were on 1st floor and noise wasnt really a problem.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews