We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My mother and I had very comfortable overnight stay in this quirky, fashionable hotel.. I had asked for a walk-in shower (rather than over the bath) for my elderly mother and she got a really lovely, huge shower room with a wonderful walk-in shower (Room 256) Our rooms were quiet and we felt safe. Lovely comfy beds with a mattress topper. Nice touches (padded hangers etc) We felt it was a very relaxing hotel and the staff were most friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUCK050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    408
    239
    122
    41
See reviews for
68
691
37
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel after a flight back from holiday which got us into Glasgow fairly late evening. The hotel is around a 15 minute walk from central station in a quieter part of town. The decor throughout is typical Malmaison and very chic but we noticed a bit of wear and tear around the lift, light fittings and on the doors to the rooms which we didn't expect for hotel of this standing. We paid £69 b&B for a Friday night via a corporate rate which was reasonable. The room was small but well appointed. Unfortunately it was very stuffy but opening the windows let in the outside traffic noise so the sleep quality wasn't ideal. We were also placed directly next to a lift which was a shame although not as noisy as we feared. Products in the bathroom were top quality and furnishings etc were all very pretty. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant itself is also a very nice venue. Overall the staff were helpful but a little slow in the restaurant. I liked this hotel but I think they need to do some basic refurb and possibly stop resting on their name/decor and concentrate more on sleep quality and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and if the hotel seems quiet, ask for a swap if not satisfied. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Nice enough hotel with the signature dark decor of Malmaisons. Our room however was actually quite light which made a change (I personally like the dark decor of Malmaisons but it is not to everyones taste). Quite compact hotel with a few signs of wear and tear appearing but can still recommend it and we had a very nice stay - room for only £10 if you spend £75 (per couple) in the restaurant - which we always easily do. The first night of a quick trip around Scotland was spent very comfortably with a quick, short stroll downhill to do a bit of shopping in the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chester_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The quasi-art-deco grandeur of this hotel is slightly undone by its shabby seediness. The decor and fittings are certainly arresting, and at a squint there's a Barton Fink-esque charm to the distinctly prohibition era atmosphere. But it's boutique credentials ultimately fall short: it's not the weird speakeasy decadence subterranean breakfast room that lingers in the memory, but the look of tacit sympathy on the face of the room-service girl handing you your over-priced and burnt burger (£20, in case you were wondering).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Malmasion Hotels are great ... but they're pricey. Having said that the buildings they are in are quirky and odd and no two rooms are the same. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds a great, TV choice is good and there's a CD/MD player in all rooms even the tea, coffee and biscuits are top notch. The Breakfast is legend and their Eggs Benedict is spot on. Glasgow's Mal is a short walk from the city centre but its a quiet place to unwind. If you work in hotel rooms a lot and want luxury this is it.

Room Tip: They're all different ... some are small the others are huge, some have small windows at floor l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing