We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Remote controlled features in the room is awesome. And the price is cheap!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3lvinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,148 - 4,152 of 5,328 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

I booked CitizenM largely off the back of all the amazing reviews in TripAdvisor. The hotel doesn't disappoint visually and truly is stunning to wander round. However the rooms are TINY, granted the beds are on the large side which is great but there is nowhere much to hang up your clothes or open up your suitcases and settle into your stay.
My main gripe though is with the shower/toilet 'room' - the walls are translucent and due to the flimsiness of the door there is zero privacy when you're on the toilet. No matter how well you know you're travelling companion, you don't need to know that much(!)
But credit where it's due - check-in/out is super fast and simple, the bar does amazing cocktails, there's big comfy chairs and flat screen tvs and access to iMacs. The location is also a big bonus. Have to saw though it wasn't as cheap as the reviews here had lead me to believe....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We spent one night at CitizenM in Glasgow last weekend because we thought it would be a different experience. It was! All decor and furniture were very modernistic. The room was quite narrow - just the width of a king-size bed - but the bed was amazingly comfortable and you could set it up to sleep in any direction - we put our heads to the window. We had fun changing the colors of the lighting over the bathroom "pod" and I liked being able to adjust the room temperature. The shower was great, everything was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was self-service but the food was hot and good and ample.

The staff was welcoming and friendly. I thought the kiosk system for check-in was unnecessary as the staff had to hover around to assist anyway, would have been just as fast to have checked in at a regular reception desk. But it wasn't a problem, really.

Having the CitizenM doll Malik in our room was a humorous touch. The dolls were available for sale downstairs but too pricey.

All in all, we enjoyed CitizenM and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at another one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel online 3weeks prior to our stay. We booked with a credit card(which belongs to my Mother,as I don't own one),payment wouldn't go through and so I rang reception to confirm the stay and asked could I possibly pay by cash on arrival. She confirmed TWICE that this would be fine.
When we arrived we were two hours early, they wouldn't check our bags in till roughly half an hour before hand and we weren't allowed to pay by cash as it was supposedly a card only payment.
So I asked could I put it on my mother's card that was on the reservation and they said that this would not be accepted without the card being present.
We asked could we cancel the stay and they said if we did they would charge it to the card....THE CARD THAT THEY NEEDED PROOF TO SEE???which to anyone wouldn't make sense!
My girlfriend asked could she use her sisters card (which was a debit card)and they agreed this would be fine as long as she got a photo copy and authorization from the owner and emailed back.
This was all done but we weren't allowed into the room yet because their system didn't recognise the type of debit card.
After phonecalls to managers,families and friends they decided to let us pay by cash for the first night (AFTER THEIR BIG LECTURE ABOUT BEING A CARD ONLY HOTEL)and let us up to the room.
While we were paying by cash we wanted to know if the debit card didn't work should we find an alternative. The girl there assured us it was there system that wasn't working and all would be fine the next day.
However two days later after us coming home from a meal we found ourselves locked out of our room and when we asked at reception what the problem was they informed us that they couldn't take the card and that they had not received payment for the 2nd night due to this.
They told us to wait around until further notice and they would accompany us up to the room to get whatever essentials we needed for the moment.
At this point we were very annoyed and felt we were treated unfairly purely based on our aged(20) as an elder couple would not experience the same abuse.
2HOURS LATER..after ringing my mother (who was very pissed off about us being kept out of our room)she rang hotel staff to try and resolve the problem since we were getting nowhere, she was taken aback by the sheer rudeness of the first girl on the phone but finally got somewhere with the second girl, Gemma who was very understanding of our situation.
They asked my mom to scan, and email back details of her card but she was unable to do so and asked could she jus fax them to her. The first girl said yes but then we were told they had no fax machine?
3HOURS LATER..at this point we were willing to jus leave our bags, get charged for the stay and just go because we were getting nowhere.
They allowed us into our rooms to see if we could have the problem sorted within 2hours and scanned our passports, which made us feel like criminals...adding more insults!

FINALLY AFTER ALL THIS RUBBISH TALK OF NO CASH PAYMENT AND TWO DAYS OF OUR HOLIDAY RUINED...FAMILY MEMBERS ANNOYED AND WORRIED..STAFF MEMBERS NOT GIVING A [--] (APART FROM GEMMA) .....THEY DECIDED TO LET US PAY BY CASH!!!!!!

The whole time we never spoke back to staff or gave out to them. which we were thanked for when we left.
We dealt with 6 different people really and they all had a different thing to say..
1.We can take cash - We never accept cash
2.We take debit cards - We don't accept all debit cards
3.The problem has been sorted, go back to your room - Your not allowed back our machine didn't take your card
4.We have a fax machine - We don't have a fax machine


And to think our whole holiday ruined could have been resolved within the first two minutes by taking cash payment like they did in the end!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Fantastic hotel with rooms perfect for two. The beds are large and extremely comfy!
You have a control that can change the mood lighting of the room, music, TV & blinds all at the switch of a button, very cool. There is also a black out blind for a good nights sleep.
The check in & out is all self service & extremely quick. The staff were very attentive.
There are areas to read and book and browse the internet on Macs with very funky chairs and art.
There is a lovely bar that does brilliant peach bellini's and reasonably priced.
Overall this is a fab hotel at a good price! Really can't fault the stay, will most definitely be returning soon!
I wish there were more hotels like this!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,356 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,043 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: €78 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing