We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,062)
Filter reviews
6,062 results
Traveller rating
3,832
1,608
389
150
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,832
1,608
389
150
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews citizen m mood lighting free movies remote control mood pad funky hotel high tech wall to wall rooms are small self service huge bed rain shower frosted glass city view storage space amazing hotel great shower
Filter
Updating list...
4,878 - 4,883 of 6,062 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Ludicrously expensive for what you get, which is a tiny room with very little in the way of comfort.

I picked this hotel because it was highly rated by tripadvisor reviewers as the top hotel in Glasgow. I was staying with my Mum so I checked it was considered OK for seniors.

Well, it isn't. In the rooms there is nowhere to sit, no wardrobe, no bath, no tea and coffee.

Pluses - staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Location is great.

Don't bother with the £7.95 hot breakfast - you can get better and cheaper 2 minutes walk away.

Room tip: It is right by a busy road so the higher and further back the better.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TykeTraveller1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Hi “TykeTraveller1987”,

Thank you for sharing your experience at citizenM with fellow travelers.

We are transparent, openly sharing pictures and information about our hotel and rooms to not generate wrong expectations. I feel sorry you haven’t been able to learn our approach of accommodations beforehand.

citizenM was built for the modern traveler, who travels a lot but not much interested in huge outdated rooms and other services that are not really essential. Essential here are free wi-fi, free movies on demand, contemporary environment to work, lounge & eat, 27/4 food & beverage, Skype phone rates and a room that has just what is important: a great bed, shower and fun.

Spite of the XL king-size bed (2X2 meters) to sit or relax, there is a chair, a large drawer under the bed to store a Samsonite suitcase, hangers for a jacket, jeans and shirt. Just like in your own house, citizenM rooms do not have a kettle but the kitchen downstairs, canteenM, has 24/7 fresh tea and real Lattes made by our Ambassadors, who are all baristas.

I wish you safe travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

everything you need right on your doorstep. hotel itself was very good with small but very comfortable & clean room.easy to use self service check in/out with friendly staff on hand if you get stuck.lots of free movies on offer but be sure to use the parental lock if you have kids or a dodgy ticker :]

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend for a night in the city. Conveniently located with an impressively stylish interior. Pleasant staff, particularly the guy behind the bar with the dark hair in a ponytail. Liked the futuristic Tokyo-esque look in the rooms. Nice to see a hotel company making a departure from the usual floral wallpaper and trouser press approach. One small detail - the area of the bed where the headboard would normally be was a bit grubby. Something that can be easily missed but easily rectified, whichever way you want to look at it. However would certainly recommend to others.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fabulous hotel - friendly staff - offered a couple of free drinks for celebrating a special occasion. Beautiful lighting, funky furnishings, nice food. This hotel has it all - and it's central for all Glasgow has to offer.
Travelled as a couple but would go back with the children too!

Very clean, tidy, comfy wall to wall bed, got a discount on parking (easy swipe of the parking ticket at the Hotel) - highly recommended and can''t wait to go back!

Room tip: Top floor has good views and not too noisy
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myislandhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Your not going to get a £30 a night deal for your room at CitizenM unless you are talking per person, but for a city centre location and a great "concept" hotel it is still very good value for money. The theory is that a room is for sleeping and washing and...... well whatever else you do in a very comfortable king sized bed. So there is no space for swinging a cat if that is what you're inclination is (no pets allowed of course). For everything else, well they not only have it covered but they do it with style. For me, a good shower at any time of the day makes a huge difference to how you feel and CitizenM give you one of the best waterfall and high pressure combinations around complete with surround mood lighting. Fantastic!
Everything else is controlled by your mood pad remote which covers the largest range of "up to date" free films that I have ever seen in a hotel as well as your window blinds and screen and all round room and shower lighting.
Downstairs there is what is described as a canteen and that is exactly what it is. A good quality range of various hot and cold food at reasonable, but not cheap, prices. It is also available 24/7 so no need to worry about ordering room service.
Then there are the living areas. This is where you chill out, watch some TV, read a book or generally socialise and again, you can do that in some of the best modern furniture and fittings out. If its busy then it doesn't work, but we spent 3 hours after breakfast on a Sunday morning with our feet up on the retro recliners reading the papers and watching the TV. Cool.
Free wifi and a bank of apple macs covers your browser requirements and the friendly and helpful staff are always on hand to help with good chat and advice if you need it.

Your not going to visit this hotel for a meal or a night out but that is not what it is about. If your looking for great accommodation in a busy city centre at a reasonable price then thats what you get. Everything else that comes with CitizenM just adds to the experience. Great fun and made our weekend in Glasgow. You have to try this to appreciate just how well the concept works.

Room tip: They ask you what you want, high up for a good view or near the middle for a bit less noise. Its your choice. The view wasn't great and there wasn't much noise so it works just fine.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews