We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM Glasgow
Nearby Hotels
Fraser Suites Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$330
US$290
Principal Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$144
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$178
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$233
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,734)
Filter reviews
5,734 results
Traveller rating
3,664
1,518
353
127
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,664
1,518
353
127
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mmood lightingfree moviesremote controlmood padfunky hotelhigh techwall to wallrooms are smalltouch screenself servicerain showerhuge bedfrosted glasscity viewhanging spaceamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4,571 - 4,576 of 5,734 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a quirky place to stay in. I found it welcoming, and easy to check-in with the quick check-in system. It is very much do-it-yourself.

The room is small, but well thought out. The shower room and toilet are in a small cubicle inside the room. But we were not cramped inside it, and it is deceiving as the shower space is big inside. The bed is huge, and extremely comfortable as are the pillows and bedding. The window runs the width of the room with the bed directly underneath it. It was just breathtaking, with views overlooking Glasgow. Despite the huge window, we were not disturbed by any light during the night, as there are blinds and a shutter which black out the room.

The room is very hi-tech, with a mood pad to adjust the lighting and colour of the lighting. This also controlled the TV, blind and air-con, so you could control everything from the comfort of the massive bed!

The only downside of the room for us was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities and there wasn't much storage space.

The breakfast wasn't a disappointment. The dining area is of a relaxed atmosphere, and reminded me of a university refectory. The food was delicious, with plenty of choice.

I couldn't fault the location as it is in the centre of Glasgow. We travelled up by car and parked in the nearby Buchanan Galleries at £10 for 24 hours, which is a bargain.

I would visit this hotel again. It wouldn't be to everybody's taste with its modern twist, but it is definitely a fun hotel, and real value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When I arrive at a hotel I want to give my name to someone who will check me in (staff), not check myself in. It took a member of staff to talk me through it, which defeats the purpose doesn't it? The room is made of the same material as a caravan, and isn't much bigger. I had to brush my teeth next to my bed, as that is where the sink is (?). I also don't want to try and work out how my room works. There wasn't a set of instructions. Once I'd worked some bits out and I tried to turn the lights down, as weird animation came onto the television and I lost the television station that I was watching. The film choice was awful. The first three pages were ok, but after that it was just porn. Does this reflect the standard of the clientele that this hotel is directed at? There's no tea or coffee in the room - also not good. My beans were cold at breakfast. The staff were lovely, but I think my opinion of them was coloured by my sympathy for them, having to work in such an awful, overpriced, cheap on every level except the price, hotel.

Room Tip: don't go there
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SYelland193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Hi “SYelland193”,

citizenM was not build for everyone but is one option of hotel accommodation out of so many out there.

I would like to talk you through our ideas and concept.

Staff are called Ambassadors at citizenM, they were hired because of their personality and by being their own, having the ability to smile genuinely and a passion to serve. None of the Ambassadors here are occupied with boring bureaucracy, taking photocopy of passports, busy with their own work load and policy book instead of really care for the guest. Ambassadors are 100% of their time dedicated to assist and help guests.

Having said that, mobile travelers prefer taking the lead of their check-in/out process; a natural fit was creating a self-service kiosk, taking no longer than 2 minutes. For guests who feel uncomfortable with it, Ambassadors help out, just like happened with you.

The room at citizenM is small, 14sq meters but was made with best materials, noise-free, resembling more of a luxurious yacht cabin than a caravan. We focused in having the best bed, XL king-size covered with luxurious Frette linen, the best power rain shower and a twist, the Moodpad in which you can control everything from lights to tv, temperature and blinds. For technophobes or those who prefer the traditional, we do offer 2 options, wall switches which work just like everywhere else and a traditional remote control, upon request (also by telephone).

I do apologise the beans being cold at breakfast, it should not have happened and we are following up internally.

citizenM believes in free wi-fi, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates, hassle free check-in/out, food & beverage available 24/7 and fun! It is an affordable hotel choice of accommodation with luxury where it counts.

Wish you safe travels and great experiences.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner raves about CitizenM and wanted us to stay their for a while. As we were visiting friends in Edinburgh, she twisted my arm and we booked in for a night. First off, you can't really call it self check in, if there is somebody beside you directing and advising you every step of the way: if you're going to do this, just have a reception.
The hotel does look great inside- very modern and very well decorated and the staff are very friendly.
The room itself was very small-ironic really as the bed was massive- wall to wall in fact but this meant there was very little storage space. There was a toilet next to the shower in a pod - yes, a pod, and the wash basin was in the room and not with the toilet and shower in the pod. If you're staying with your partner you'll need to be prepared to keep walking around them and ensuring the door to the pod is closed while doing your necessary business as if they're brushing their teeth at the same time- turn the tv up! Moving on from the smallness of the room- lets move on to what saves the entire experience and that's the gimmicks. Most of the room is controlled via the remote control which is brilliant! The blinds, the lights, the tv and the mood settings. Blokes will love this and spend hours fixing the blinds while the girls will love the love lighting and coloured lights in the (slightly see through) shower. Blokes will also live the free porn- yes, as well as free films, there are a selection of porn films that won't cost a penny. The hotel is five minutes away from the city centre and we didn't have any disturbances sleeping: it was quiet and we had a great nights sleep in the huge bed!
Overall, the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and had some really cool gimmicks. No tea and coffee in the room though but the free porn made up for that......

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had a great time at citizenm in Glasgow. Room was smaller than i thought it would be but perfectly formed. The bed was amazing and the views were great. Perfect location for nightlife & shopping . The overall feel of this hotel is funky and quirky and i liked the gizzmos and gadgets in the room plus there were hundreds of films free of charge.
This is not a luxury hotel and that reflects in the price but it is cool. There was no fridge or kettle in the room which lets it down a bit .Staff were very friendly and made sure we where happy and looked after. I will definetly be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

In a word, CitizenM is "trendy". The location is good- very close to the bus station and within walking distance from the train and metro stations.

The room is very small- to the extent that if there are two of you in the room, it can be very difficult to spread your stuff out if you need to re-pack, re-arrange, etc. There is virtually no counter space to speak of, and the lack of a garbage can in the bedroom is a bit annoying. On the plus side, however, the bed was comfortable, there are lots of free movies on tv and the vibe is quirky and fun.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it does have food options. On the lobby level, there is a self-catering cafeteria arrangement. 24/7 you can get sandwiches, ice cream, beer, juice, dessert, etc. Some of these dishes can be heated up in the microwaves, so you could get theoretically have a hot meal at any time. We thought this was pretty cool and found ourselves taking advantage of it fairly often. Free wifi, computers and printers were a nice and welcome touch.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phosphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews