We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Chic”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight on Friday night before a Saturday's shopping expedition in Glasgow. We had read lots of good reviews and it looked very funky and 'chic' on the internet. We were greeted by very pleasant staff on arrival who assisted us with our automated check in service. I had emailed ahead to explain it was a special birthday for my wife and on entering our top floor bedroom there was a note wishing her happy birthday and inviting us for a free drink of our choice at the bar - very impressed!
The room was as we'd thought. Wall to wall bed unusual but comfy and we liked the idea. Yes, the rooms are smaller than average hotel bedrooms but not uncomfortably so. As I'm a gadget man I was loving the choice of lights for the bathroom via remote control which also controlled our TV which offered music, free films, TV etc.
The bar was very pleasant with a good choice of food on offer 24 hrs with reasonable prices. There is a computer room, library and lounge area to chill out in and meeting rooms downstairs that are used through the day.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. If you are looking for a comfy, reasonably priced, good quality hotel that is centrally located and offers great customer service and something just a little different, this is the hotel for you.
If you are looking for a hotel that has big rooms with Marks and Spencers biscuits on a trolley with fresh coffee and mints alongside, with a chaise lounge in the corner and a selection of fine dining options on the ground floor with concierge etc then this hotel is not for you1

Room Tip: Not really a bad room as such although the top floor does offer the least amount of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippingtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,235 - 4,239 of 5,389 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a quirky place to stay in. I found it welcoming, and easy to check-in with the quick check-in system. It is very much do-it-yourself.

The room is small, but well thought out. The shower room and toilet are in a small cubicle inside the room. But we were not cramped inside it, and it is deceiving as the shower space is big inside. The bed is huge, and extremely comfortable as are the pillows and bedding. The window runs the width of the room with the bed directly underneath it. It was just breathtaking, with views overlooking Glasgow. Despite the huge window, we were not disturbed by any light during the night, as there are blinds and a shutter which black out the room.

The room is very hi-tech, with a mood pad to adjust the lighting and colour of the lighting. This also controlled the TV, blind and air-con, so you could control everything from the comfort of the massive bed!

The only downside of the room for us was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities and there wasn't much storage space.

The breakfast wasn't a disappointment. The dining area is of a relaxed atmosphere, and reminded me of a university refectory. The food was delicious, with plenty of choice.

I couldn't fault the location as it is in the centre of Glasgow. We travelled up by car and parked in the nearby Buchanan Galleries at £10 for 24 hours, which is a bargain.

I would visit this hotel again. It wouldn't be to everybody's taste with its modern twist, but it is definitely a fun hotel, and real value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When I arrive at a hotel I want to give my name to someone who will check me in (staff), not check myself in. It took a member of staff to talk me through it, which defeats the purpose doesn't it? The room is made of the same material as a caravan, and isn't much bigger. I had to brush my teeth next to my bed, as that is where the sink is (?). I also don't want to try and work out how my room works. There wasn't a set of instructions. Once I'd worked some bits out and I tried to turn the lights down, as weird animation came onto the television and I lost the television station that I was watching. The film choice was awful. The first three pages were ok, but after that it was just porn. Does this reflect the standard of the clientele that this hotel is directed at? There's no tea or coffee in the room - also not good. My beans were cold at breakfast. The staff were lovely, but I think my opinion of them was coloured by my sympathy for them, having to work in such an awful, overpriced, cheap on every level except the price, hotel.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SYelland193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Hi “SYelland193”,

citizenM was not build for everyone but is one option of hotel accommodation out of so many out there.

I would like to talk you through our ideas and concept.

Staff are called Ambassadors at citizenM, they were hired because of their personality and by being their own, having the ability to smile genuinely and a passion to serve. None of the Ambassadors here are occupied with boring bureaucracy, taking photocopy of passports, busy with their own work load and policy book instead of really care for the guest. Ambassadors are 100% of their time dedicated to assist and help guests.

Having said that, mobile travelers prefer taking the lead of their check-in/out process; a natural fit was creating a self-service kiosk, taking no longer than 2 minutes. For guests who feel uncomfortable with it, Ambassadors help out, just like happened with you.

The room at citizenM is small, 14sq meters but was made with best materials, noise-free, resembling more of a luxurious yacht cabin than a caravan. We focused in having the best bed, XL king-size covered with luxurious Frette linen, the best power rain shower and a twist, the Moodpad in which you can control everything from lights to tv, temperature and blinds. For technophobes or those who prefer the traditional, we do offer 2 options, wall switches which work just like everywhere else and a traditional remote control, upon request (also by telephone).

I do apologise the beans being cold at breakfast, it should not have happened and we are following up internally.

citizenM believes in free wi-fi, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates, hassle free check-in/out, food & beverage available 24/7 and fun! It is an affordable hotel choice of accommodation with luxury where it counts.

Wish you safe travels and great experiences.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner raves about CitizenM and wanted us to stay their for a while. As we were visiting friends in Edinburgh, she twisted my arm and we booked in for a night. First off, you can't really call it self check in, if there is somebody beside you directing and advising you every step of the way: if you're going to do this, just have a reception.
The hotel does look great inside- very modern and very well decorated and the staff are very friendly.
The room itself was very small-ironic really as the bed was massive- wall to wall in fact but this meant there was very little storage space. There was a toilet next to the shower in a pod - yes, a pod, and the wash basin was in the room and not with the toilet and shower in the pod. If you're staying with your partner you'll need to be prepared to keep walking around them and ensuring the door to the pod is closed while doing your necessary business as if they're brushing their teeth at the same time- turn the tv up! Moving on from the smallness of the room- lets move on to what saves the entire experience and that's the gimmicks. Most of the room is controlled via the remote control which is brilliant! The blinds, the lights, the tv and the mood settings. Blokes will love this and spend hours fixing the blinds while the girls will love the love lighting and coloured lights in the (slightly see through) shower. Blokes will also live the free porn- yes, as well as free films, there are a selection of porn films that won't cost a penny. The hotel is five minutes away from the city centre and we didn't have any disturbances sleeping: it was quiet and we had a great nights sleep in the huge bed!
Overall, the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and had some really cool gimmicks. No tea and coffee in the room though but the free porn made up for that......

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had a great time at citizenm in Glasgow. Room was smaller than i thought it would be but perfectly formed. The bed was amazing and the views were great. Perfect location for nightlife & shopping . The overall feel of this hotel is funky and quirky and i liked the gizzmos and gadgets in the room plus there were hundreds of films free of charge.
This is not a luxury hotel and that reflects in the price but it is cool. There was no fridge or kettle in the room which lets it down a bit .Staff were very friendly and made sure we where happy and looked after. I will definetly be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,081 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: €75 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing