We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUDGET travel should Never be boring! and this NOT”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I get this, and there will be copy cat incarnations of this concept some where near you soon!
I loved it and the blond wished she had been warned about the self checkin and the mood lighting which some will love others like me can take it or leave it!
the TV needs a little TLC but you will get there!
Join the movement! and you know it is a success when you see the trendies and suits and world travellers all congregating in the bar, it is imaginative and simple and works!

Room Tip: The computer says room . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,264 - 4,268 of 5,394 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

I have stayed at Citizen M several times, three of them in the past two months. I usually stay one night, but on my last visit I booked for two, planning to extend that to five nights - but then I thought better of it and moved on to a hotel with more spacious rooms.
There is so much to admire at Citizen M - the design is great, the bar really nice, the shower amazing, the bed pretty good and the price excellent value.....but! The price is achieved by cutting back on staff costs with DIY. You lug your own luggage in, book yourself in; you chose your meals from a Pret a Manger-like display and then go to a till before finding a table and then your clear your tray away afterwards. All that is OK by me except the DIY check-in often doesn't go smoothly and you have to seek help. Less easy to accept is the hotel's policy of not doing your room if you are a 'stay' rather than a 'departure', which means you return to your room and the unwelcome sight sight of rumpled bedding. You can ask for the room to be done, but if you don^t, it isn't.
If you are staying for longer than one day, storage becomes an issue. There is almost nowhere to put anything, and you start to feel hemmed in, both by the room and your own belongings. It becomes irksome on your own: with another sharing the room it will make both of you cranky. So, great for a one-night stay, but longer may play havoc with your equilibrium and your relationship with your significant other..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralstonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hi “ralstonjames”,

Thank you for sharing with fellow travelers about your experience and loyalty to us at citizenM.

We created our hotels to provide mobile travelers a luxurious experience, at an affordable rate. The citizenM room has 14 sq meters, comfortable and bigger than a yacht cabin. As you acknowledged, makes sense for a short stay; we made functional and used only the best materials, reason we included the comfiest XL king-size bed covered with luxurious Frette linen, power rain shower, and some twists, because we believe a hotel stay can be fun too, other than just a night sleep.

Check-in/out is DIY, just like buying train tickets and checking-in to flights. Staff, called Ambassador at citizenM, isn’t busy with boring bureaucracy (no signatures, passport copies, filling-up forms) but 100% of time dedicated to assist and provide guests an excellent experience, including helping out citizens who aren’t comfortable in using the kiosk.

Rooms and bed sheets are made every day by housekeeping, including exchanging towels and keeping them tidy and sparkling clean. Bed sheets are exchanged every other day for stays longer than 2-nights, which we believe is fair, our eye on sustainability. Of course if there are stains or is rumpled, they are exchanged in any given day, or upon request.

Next time visiting us, please feel free contacting me, I will love to meet for a chat, sharing the ideas behind our hotel & concept and hear your thoughts, while drinking a nice Latte.

All the best,
citizenDiego
@citizenM.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is such a cool hotel. Fab, Fab bed, great room, fantastic reception area. Lovely staff. Ace breakfast. Very, very good

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Love love love this place. For very little extra, it made such a difference for a city break and I really don't want to stay anywhere else again. Really funky design but very easy atmosphere. Like staying in some cool hotel in Copenhagen. Just staying there was a holiday. The staff are lovely. No expense spared from a design point of view. Absolutely yummy breakfast too. Didn't want to leave. I honestly can't think of anything critical to say. Maybe that there's no hotel-based parking?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailinintach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights to take advantage of great gigs during Celtic Connections. During the week the price is good value, a bti dearer at weekends but that's to be expected. Very central location. At first the room felt like a luxurious cell! The website photos are accurate but still the room is basically the width of a king-size bed and that does take a bit of getting used to! The shower/toilet cubicle is also effectively in the room so you need to be very comfortable with your room-mate!
Didn't really use the high-tech gadgets but guess if you like that kind of thing it's a bonus. Spotlessly clean, luxurious duvet/towels and everything you need just very, very compact room. Fine for a couple of nights but likely to become a bit claustrophic if staying any longer. On the plus side, and unlike a Travelodge, there is lots of comfortable communal space on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,086 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: €75 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing