We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful where you park”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scottish Highlands
1 review
“Be careful where you park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here on Friday 3rd February as we were going to the SECC on the Saturday morning to the Caravan show. We had thought that there was underground parking at this hotel but when we arrived the shutter at the side of the hotel marked car parking was closed. When we enquired at reception we were told that it was on street parking and the receptionist knew nothing about underground parking. After about 15 mins travelling about we found a space that a previous car vacated opposite the Devencote Hotel. The sign on the wall said that after 6pm and at weekend there was no charge so we thought this was fine. However in the morning there was a parking ticket on the car £60 and when we asked the Traffic Wardens we were told that we were not parked in a bay and that the whole area was zoned parking. We checked again and found that the bays were very faintly marked - we didnt notice this at night when we arrived and yes there were no bay lines where ourselves and the car behind us had parked.It would have been helpful if the receptionist had warned us about this before we went searching for a space. The only other gripe we have is that when we went to take a shower we found that there was only one set of towels. I phoned reception and was told that there had been let down by the laundry and so had to allocate each room with only the one set of towels. The ones in the room were not of the best quality either. It would have been helpful if this had been explained to us when we checked in. The towels still had not arrived in the morning when we checked out. Apart from that the hotel is very clean, lovely room and bathroom. The breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeleeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLorne, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on your stay, it is greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately, we do not have our own car park but we do advise all guests that there is on street parking available, however, parking is your own responsibility, we can only inform you of any loading bays or time restrictions.

I am disappointed to hear about the situation with us only providing one bath towel in your room. Please accept my apologies, this was a one off situation which we now have rectified by using a new laundry company.

I hope that you get the chance to visit us again in the near future, if you would like to discuss any of the above further, please contact myself directly at the hotel on 0141 330 1555.


Kind Regards,

Martin Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    284
    187
    73
    88
See reviews for
71
446
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We came here several times at end of the last century (sic) and having seen the very mixed reviews before a return visit after more than 10 years we were unsure of what to expect. But the price was right, we knew the hotel (at least before it was updated and it was OK then!) and it was in the ideal location for walking to the City Centre (20 mins) or to the Kelvin Hall and Byres Road area (15 mins). So lets go for it. And we are pleased that we did. The welcome was warm, the updated decor was good, the room was cosy, warm (good aircon), clean, quiet and comfortable. The included full breakfast was as substantial as one wanted it to be (self service buffet) and the price was very competitive. So yes were pleased and pleasantly suprised in view of some reviews. And yes we would go back again and we would recommend this hotel as a good stay for those on a visit to this vibrant city who do not require the latest fad in fittings, furniture or food.

Room Tip: upper floors at back would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLorne, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. I hope we can welcome you back sometime in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Martin Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is far too cold, the room was awful with a leaking ceiling from above causing bare/soggy holes on the carpet. There was a window connecting the toilet with the bedroom which looked bizarre. The only good things about the hotel were the breakfast and the location although the girl taking orders in the downstairs bar was very polite and helpful.Decent location that's about it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandHighlandLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLorne, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I am disappointed to read that we did not live up to our 4 star standard which we greatly pride ourselves in, which resulted in a very unpleasant stay for yourself.

As the new General Manager, I am taking all feedback into account as I strive to ensure that all previous issues are rectified and they do not make an appearance again.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, please contact me in 0141 330 1555 if you would like to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,

Martin Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed at the Lorne Hotel last night for business purposes. I found it to be a lovely warm welcoming place. The receptionist was very polite and helpful and the foyer is very welcoming with a fire glowing and comfortable sofas to use. The room although a bit small was comfortable and spotlessly clean; tea coffee making in the room is always a bonus. The bathroom was very well finished and very clean too. Nice soap, shampoo and body lotion supplied. The lounge area was busy and very tidy. Breakfast was buffet style but tea and toast was served by a very polite and friendly waitress. Would definitely book again. The hotel is very central within walking distance of the city centre and 5 minutes on foot to the SECC. Overall the hotel is well kept and of a modern style. Hope they keep it that way

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalkanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our room was very small, with no space to unpack a suitcase and limited clothes hanging space. Room was cool and but this suited us -often hotel rooms are stuffy, overheated and with poor ventilation. The window in the bathroom did not shut properly so it was very cool (January). But the room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The restaurant was brilliant with friendly helpful staff and the food was very good - some of the best Indian food I've had - although a bit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service where you will enjoy your experiance by leaving feeling that you had received4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing