We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place - we'll be back”
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Glasgow to attend an event at the SECC. It's a really great little place, very clean and we received a nice welcome on arrival. We only saw one member of staff the time we were there and she was so nice and helpful. Our room was on the small side, but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We had a great sleep - brilliant pillows! The only complaint as such would be the lack of parking which I appreciate is outwith the hotels control. There are spaces right outside, but you have to buy tickets periodically so it could be inconvenient if you wanted to be away for the whole day. Very convenient location for the Kelvingrove Gallery, SECC and within easy reach of some fantastic eateries. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehellofitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Last minute trip booked see my beloved Glasgow Celtic win the title. Good location, very easy to get to. Free on street parking all weekend. Rooms well furnished although don't often sleep in a single bed. Breakfast, good quality. City centre easy walk. No more needed. Will be back.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Smack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed for weekend with a friend who had never been to Glasgow before,she was very impressed with the hotel,we had a lovely room,well equipped with everything we needed. The location suited us just a 15 min walk to city centre. Staff were helpful and friendly. Having stayed in the other hotels in this small group and been very happy with them I was delighted that the Acorn lived up to expectations for my friend.

Room Tip: rooms on the gardens side have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jintyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Modern hotel in a good location and good value. The staff were really friendly and very helpful and breakfast was cooked to order. Far better than one of the budget chains.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casslass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the SECC which is an easy 15minute walk away. My room was modern, spotlessly clean, great shower and comfy bed and pillows. All I wanted for my stay. Bonus was hairdryer and hair straighteners in the room. There was no decaf coffee on the tea tray but I asked at reception and was given a plentiful supply from the kitchen. Both receptionists I spoke to were extremely professional and helpful with local information. I had 2 peaceful nights sleep and for the price felt it was very good value for money. The breakfast buffet was not as varied as you might get in a big hotel but all good quality and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again. Almost forgot to mention the complimentary bottle of wine I received in arrival which was on offer at the time of booking!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#8 of 93 in Glasgow
991 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: €49 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by renowned architect Alexander “Greek” Thomson, you’ll find Grecian pillars adorning our grand entranceway and up-to-date décor throughout. With 18 newly renovated rooms on offer, the Acorn Hotel provides a contemporary, relaxed environment for you to enjoy during your stay. Our stylish interior mixes fresh tones with classic, walnut touches and each room comes equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, complementary WiFi, satellite television and GHDs to complete a true home-away-from-home experience. We offer a range of room configurations including singles for the solo traveler and Executive or Super-King bedded rooms if you’d like to indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing