We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place - we'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place - we'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Glasgow to attend an event at the SECC. It's a really great little place, very clean and we received a nice welcome on arrival. We only saw one member of staff the time we were there and she was so nice and helpful. Our room was on the small side, but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We had a great sleep - brilliant pillows! The only complaint as such would be the lack of parking which I appreciate is outwith the hotels control. There are spaces right outside, but you have to buy tickets periodically so it could be inconvenient if you wanted to be away for the whole day. Very convenient location for the Kelvingrove Gallery, SECC and within easy reach of some fantastic eateries. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thehellofitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    144
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
148
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conon Bridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Last minute trip booked see my beloved Glasgow Celtic win the title. Good location, very easy to get to. Free on street parking all weekend. Rooms well furnished although don't often sleep in a single bed. Breakfast, good quality. City centre easy walk. No more needed. Will be back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed for weekend with a friend who had never been to Glasgow before,she was very impressed with the hotel,we had a lovely room,well equipped with everything we needed. The location suited us just a 15 min walk to city centre. Staff were helpful and friendly. Having stayed in the other hotels in this small group and been very happy with them I was delighted that the Acorn lived up to expectations for my friend.

Room Tip: rooms on the gardens side have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jintyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Modern hotel in a good location and good value. The staff were really friendly and very helpful and breakfast was cooked to order. Far better than one of the budget chains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casslass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the SECC which is an easy 15minute walk away. My room was modern, spotlessly clean, great shower and comfy bed and pillows. All I wanted for my stay. Bonus was hairdryer and hair straighteners in the room. There was no decaf coffee on the tea tray but I asked at reception and was given a plentiful supply from the kitchen. Both receptionists I spoke to were extremely professional and helpful with local information. I had 2 peaceful nights sleep and for the price felt it was very good value for money. The breakfast buffet was not as varied as you might get in a big hotel but all good quality and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again. Almost forgot to mention the complimentary bottle of wine I received in arrival which was on offer at the time of booking!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing