We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Hoppity House”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #15 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few days in St Andrews to visit our son. We were advised to stay at Hoppity House by a local, and he was absolutely right. We had a great stay. Lovely room, enourmous flatscreen (Match of the Day...), excellent breakfast and a last but not least a very warm welcome by Gordon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

My niece and I enjoyed a very warm welcome at Hoppity House in St Andrews. It's very centrally situated for town centre, shops, restaurants, University (which we had come to visit) and the bus station (we had come by train/bus so not too far to walk with cases). Also less than a minute to the coast!
Gordon made us very welcome with a fantastic breakfast - nothing too much trouble. He is also a mine of information about St Andrews and the area.
Thoroughly recommend to anyone. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2011. Gordon and Heather the hosts are very friendly and helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and decor modern. Located just a couple of minutes walk to town or the beach, you could park on the street outside the B&B, we would stay here again if visiting the area.

We had a slight problem with the cold water in the sink, but Gordon provided us with more than enough bottled water to compensate whilst he got it mended.

Good luck to Gordon and Heather we hope the business works out well for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I would recommend to everyone spending time in St. Andrews to choose Hoppity House for accomodation. It's excellent in every respect. It's located just a few meters to the sea and many parts of university and "downtown" St. Andrews. My room was modernly furnished, very clean, well taken care of, and offered everything you need for a pleasant stay. But most importantly, staff was super nice and helpful. They also offer an extensive breakfast, the components of which you're free to choose yourself. Top rating! :-)

Room Tip: I was assigned the room on the ground floor, which is next to the kitchen / reception. I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

A very friendly and welcoming place to stay. Great breakfast and a very comfortable room. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
516 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range: €33 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoppity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing