We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay at Hoppity House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoppity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoppity House
Ranked #10 of 76 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geldermalsen
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Hoppity House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few days in St Andrews to visit our son. We were advised to stay at Hoppity House by a local, and he was absolutely right. We had a great stay. Lovely room, enourmous flatscreen (Match of the Day...), excellent breakfast and a last but not least a very warm welcome by Gordon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    24
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My niece and I enjoyed a very warm welcome at Hoppity House in St Andrews. It's very centrally situated for town centre, shops, restaurants, University (which we had come to visit) and the bus station (we had come by train/bus so not too far to walk with cases). Also less than a minute to the coast!
Gordon made us very welcome with a fantastic breakfast - nothing too much trouble. He is also a mine of information about St Andrews and the area.
Thoroughly recommend to anyone. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2011. Gordon and Heather the hosts are very friendly and helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and decor modern. Located just a couple of minutes walk to town or the beach, you could park on the street outside the B&B, we would stay here again if visiting the area.

We had a slight problem with the cold water in the sink, but Gordon provided us with more than enough bottled water to compensate whilst he got it mended.

Good luck to Gordon and Heather we hope the business works out well for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I would recommend to everyone spending time in St. Andrews to choose Hoppity House for accomodation. It's excellent in every respect. It's located just a few meters to the sea and many parts of university and "downtown" St. Andrews. My room was modernly furnished, very clean, well taken care of, and offered everything you need for a pleasant stay. But most importantly, staff was super nice and helpful. They also offer an extensive breakfast, the components of which you're free to choose yourself. Top rating! :-)

Room Tip: I was assigned the room on the ground floor, which is next to the kitchen / reception. I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

A very friendly and welcoming place to stay. Great breakfast and a very comfortable room. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing