We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our second stay at this fabulous Country House Hotel. I was there with my husband and 2 friends and we both had lovely rooms. We stayed for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was outstanding as was the service throughout the hotel. It is only a short drive from St Andrews which isn't a problem and well worth it to stay in this beautiful hotel which is maintained to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molliescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
High standards and outstanding food are things that all Scottish hotels should be aiming to provide, and I am pleased that you have found both at Rufflets - twice!

We do see many very good comments coming back about the people that do all the hard work, and I do feel most grateful to have such a dedicated team to work with.

They do read these reviews, and to see how much their work has been appreciated does give them an extra spring in their step - and so thank you for your kind comments.

One question - when will you be back for the 3rd visit?

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    188
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
220
619
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire, scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

A beautiful experience. Rufflets is a country house hotel whose standards of hospitality, service and ambience are of international luxury standards. We felt at ease, looked after and utterly comfortable. Staff felt like attentive, efficient friends. Dinner was excellent and relaxing - before,during and after in the lounge. Breakfast was almost better - everything ordered fresh - egg florentine with bacon - fantastic !
If you want spas, shops and beauty salons go to the Old Course - if not , this is as good as it gets - and excellent VFM.

Room Tip: get one with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoretulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Scotland does offer (in some areas) such fabulous warm hospitality that does compete on an international level with some of the other great destinations in the world, and we are so pleased that you have felt that Rufflets can be viewed in that bracket.

It is not always easy to be able to get the balance right, but we do try hard, and it is clear from your comments that we can achieve it.

And you are right - the Eggs Floretine is a great dish - and we have many more to be enjoyed!

Many thanks for the feedback - and will hopefully be able to thank you personally in due course.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

First class country house hotel. Outstanding levels of service throughout. Located slightly outside St Andrews, but only a few minutes drive. Ate in restaurant one night - food is very good and in line with 2 AA rosette quality. Would certainly recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Personal recommendation is one of the very best ways to advertise the hotel, and one upshot of a first class hotel and really good staff is that our guests do leave with the strong feeling that they want to come back, but also that they feel confident enough to be able to tell their friends and colleagues about the experience - so thank you!

Very much look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel about 10 minutes from St Andrews town centre by car.

The food as mentioned in previous reviews was excellent. The Hotel is maintained and decorated to a high standard in true country house style and has a picturesque garden. We booked a special one night DBB offer via 5pm.com and were allocated a room on the top floor, room 34 which overlooked the car park, the room itself was spacious and well equipped although the sloping ceiling proved a bit of a challenge for my 6ft 3" spouse, the bed was generously sized with a firm mattress.The bathroom was large and luxurious with a free standing bath, separate large shower enclosure with power shower and top quality toiletries and towels.The staff are all friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Top marks to the front of house staff in the restaurant and the bar which has an impressive array of good whisky, the wine list is also excellent and the prices are reasonable for this type of hotel.

The hotel is full of nice touches; home made shortbread in the room, fresh milk available for tea or coffee for the room, a variety of current magazines in all the lounges.

I would recommend this hotel for a romantic, relaxing break and an ideal venue for a wedding or similar function and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoobyLou050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Having completed the refurb of the front hall, and continued to upgrade bedrooms to make it all a bit more contemporary, we had been concerned that we might lose some of the traditional feel to the hotel, so you can imagine how happy we are to feel that this is not the case.

Continued investment by the owners is clearly having the desired effect, and as always it is the staff who make the real difference.

Thank you for the feedback, and I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Husband and I had a wonderful weekend, nice to feel so welcomed to a UK hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful and great to see so many smiling faces. Food was excellent as was the bar service.Well done Rufflets, what a great team you have.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Jane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
One of the things that we do try to provide is a 'home from home' feeling, and it is great to hear that we do succeed in this (at least sometimes).

Knowing that our guests can relax so much in the hotel - and at times kicking-off thier shoes and putting their feet up on the table in the Drawing Room for a snooze does happen.

But it is the team that help make it all happen, and they are a great bunch to work with - and many thanks for the comments.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
6.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.0 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing