We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“thoroughly enjoyable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
lynnev
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“thoroughly enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent the night in this lovely hotel, food was amazing, staff really friendly. Gave us some information on where to go in St Andrews for a couple of oldies! Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Glad to hear that the recommendations worked out - there is so much to do in St Andrews and the local area (not just about golf) for all ages.

We do seem to be seeing many comments with regards the friendliness of the staff which is so good to read - they are a great team, work hard - and smile at the same time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With my best regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    180
    56
    11
    8
See reviews for
207
578
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at Rufflet's Hotel, St. Andrews, on 17th February. A truly wonderfull experience from start to finish. Beautiful Country House Hotel with lots of character. Public areas very inviting and tastefully decorated. Bedroom spacious and extremely well appointed, comfortable bed, with resident teddy bear 'Rufus' - bathroom luxurious with superior toiletries, which all adds to the experience. Complimentary selection of teas and coffee, delicious home made shortbread in a attractive teddy bear tin and the option of fresh milk instead of UHT, if desired.
Staff all extremely attentive and curteous from reception to dining room and even included Mr Owen, General Manager, who showed us to our room. Dinner in the elegant dining room was first class, as was breakfast the following morning.
Although visited in February, the gardens were immaculately manicured and together with the function suite, would make a fabulous wedding venue.
The Hotel is situated about 5 mins, by car, from St. Andrews with all its amenities and attractions.
We had checked the website before visiting Rufflets and the reality did not disappoint. Thoroughly enjoyable experience for us and we hope to return soon.
Mr and Mrs Imlah, Stirling.

Room Tip: Room 36 was as well equipped and comfortable and very quiet overlooking the side garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It is not often that I get a mention in dispatches - but nice to see it said.

We all wear different hats sometimes, and if there is a job that needs to be done, we do it!

So pleased to read that even thought the visit was in February, you managed to enjoy the property to the full - not just the bits inside!

Look forward to being able to welcome you back to thank you personally for the kind comments.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had lunch on Friday the 17TH of FEB and enjoyed it so much I went back on Sunday for thedelicious Sunday Roast Lunch. The staff are very attentive and extremely professional. The hotel decor is beautiful and oozes class however the ambience and the staff certainly don't make it feel stuffy.
t was so good my niece is arranging her 21st birthday party in the garden suite to impress all her friends. Well done to all staff and management who made my visits such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Lovely gardens to enjoy whilst visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcakequeen402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We do like to think that we maintain a great ambiance in the hotel, and continue to invest in improvements across the property, but it is especially pleasing to read such comments about the team at Rufflets.

Essentially, we all care so much about what we do, and to know that the efforts are so warmly received makes it so much better - so thank you.

Hope that the 21st will be even better!

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely hotel! We got a good DBB package and would imagine we were given one of their cheapest rooms. Our room was fabulous! Spacious, immaculate, very comfortable and modern. Lovely tea/ coffee tray and all facilities you would expect. Even a turn down service at night. The lounge areas are restful and the dining experience fabulous. The hotel is set in lovely grounds. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a must visit. We were there on a Monday night and so it was very quiet but this was the only very small criticism. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labradorbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Mondays in February do tend to be a bit quieter than some other days, but it does allow us to provide some really good offers to our guests - and delighted to read that the expectations on the type of room were exceeded!

Hope that you will be able to return to the hotel when the gardens are in full-bloom - they are a real treat.

Many thanks for the comments - the staff love to read them as well as our potential guests.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We took advantage of a special 'dinner, B&B' offer at this lovely hotel just outside St Andrews. Recently refurbished (with an eye-wateringly jazzy carpet in the public areas!) it looks and feels classy. Our room (no 30) was up a private staircase and looked over the front of the hotel. It was very spacious, nicely furnished, comfortable, with an enormous bed, well-equipped bathroom and good hanging space,

Dinner was very good, if not entirely consistent. Breakfast was super - everything on offer from the fruit bowls to the full Scottish grill looked very tempting. The staff were unfailingly charming and attentive

Room Tip: No 30 is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeronScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Really pleased to read that you did enjoy the visit to much, and hope that the eyes have recovered. We have found that they do adjust to the jazzy carpet after a while, and it is clear that for the most part the refurb of the reception area has been well received.

Just in the process of finishing the other refurb jobs to some bedrooms and lodges before Easter.

Finally, many thanks for the comments on the team - we all work hard to be able to provide the great experiences for our guests.

Stephen Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.7 km away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#5 of 19 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
2.5 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing