We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
675
442
234
99
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
442
234
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocca restaurant gastro pub golf course cream tea lovely hotel reception staff west sands short break first class fantastic views one night stay play golf lovely room enjoyable stay a lovely stay full scottish breakfast afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,392 - 1,397 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

As a former student of the University, I never imagined that one day I'd be able to afford to stay here. The prepaid non-refundable Internet rates are very reasonable indeed particularly off-season when there are no tournaments or championships. Don't even think of staying here during Open or Dunhill week unless you are seriously famous or rich. The cheapest online rate was a fabulous £75 a night for a standard non golf view room with Old Course views starting at an extremely fair £129 considering you are overlooking the most famous course in the World with spectacular views of the R&A Clubhouse and West Sands.

Upon check in we were allocated Room 114 which rather amazingly turned out to be The one and only Tom Morris Senior Suite. The Suite is entered via a large lobby leading into three traditionally decorated and furnished rooms; A huge grand bedroom with ample storage, massive bed and views of the 17th; a splendid bathroom with similar views; a large lounge / dining room with sofa, armchairs, dining table, hot drinks service area, coffee table and sideboards. The views from the lounge are simply the best in the world of golf. This is what St Andrews is all about and why the Rusacks commands its' reputation as one of the World's leading golf hotels. It was a privelege to stay here.

The suite has constant reminders of who it was named after in terms of pictures and plaques but this is expected in a suite named after one of the forefathers of golf and a legend of St Andrews and Open Golf.

The Rusacks is within walking distance of everywhere you could possibly want to be in the Old Town and offers a high level of service and comfort. Of course, I cannot comment on the other types of rooms available but based solely on the stay experienced I cannot hesitate to give it 5 Tripadvisor stars. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and worn in parts but the character, service, facilities and staff more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

First time in St Andrews, stayed for two nights for £80 pn bed and breakfast. The hotel was clean and the bedroom comfortable (although mine was slightly on the small side, overlooking the road).

The stay represented excellent value for money, with a varied selection for breakfast. The service on the second morning was on the slow side - I had to ask to be shown to a table, there were no bowls for cereal out and I was warned there would be a ten minute wait for the cooked breakfast. That wasn't too much of a problem though.

The reception is extremely welcoming, with a log fire and friendly staff. I had a bar snack in the gastro pub on the first evening, wild mushrooms and poached egg on toast, and it was delicious. Cooked to perfection.

I'd certainly recommend to friends and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Ok the location was out of this world if you a re a golfer, we had breakfest over looking the Old Course each morning. The staff was helpfull from start to finish, Kevin the GM made the trip for myself and my buddy helping with golf courses, night life and great wine. If you are heading to the Old Course you have to stay at this hotel. Thanks for a great week

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeks79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

For an hotel charging £188 per night it does seem petty to charge £2-00 for paying the bill with a credit card. Also when we booked we specified no feathers in the room, the room had feather pillows which had to be changed. On the other hand the breakfast was magnificent, even though it took 40 minutes to arrive.
When queried about the credit card charge we were told that other hotels built the charge into their rates!- hardly convincing, Also the Rusacks charges for wi fi which in my experience is rare nowadays. They obviously take their charging system from Ryanair. Should we go again I shall no doubt be charged for the electricity I will use.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Having stayed at a Travelodge in Edinburgh the night before, this was another World. Not cheap at £109 a night out of season, but was the cheapest hotel & guest house left in the Town at 3 weeks notice.
We booked 2 rooms, for a wedding, and took my 7 month old daughter who unfortunately for the Grandparents babysitting, became ill the night of the stay. The rooms are huge, clean, well equipped and with a great view of the Old Course 18th Green.
We stayed in one of the standard rooms, which had two bay windows, and was situated above the conservatory. As we were attending a wedding, we didn't try either of the two restaurants, but the Grandparents managed to sample the cuisine, and said it was good, if no a tiny bit over priced.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertpurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews