We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location shame about he room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here 2 nights this week in room 327. I had an amazing view from my room and as I have stayed here before was looking forward to it.

Sadly the lift was out of order the whole time I was there and 6 flights of stairs is ok for me but the elderly cou[ple in the next room really did have an issue. There was no wireless on my floor and despite calling the BT helpline who said the issue was the hotels no one in the hotel could help which meant work emails became an issue .(Sadly the staff seemed unintrested or not willing to offer any help)

My room was badly in need of a good spring clean with the bathroom sink plug hole full of crap that Cleaned out in order to ger the water down and the mirrors and dressing table not cleaned well . The carpet had also not been cleaned . I am amazed as other times it was spotless.

The food was first rate as was the sevice in the resturant

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,234 - 1,238 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

As a former student of the University, I never imagined that one day I'd be able to afford to stay here. The prepaid non-refundable Internet rates are very reasonable indeed particularly off-season when there are no tournaments or championships. Don't even think of staying here during Open or Dunhill week unless you are seriously famous or rich. The cheapest online rate was a fabulous £75 a night for a standard non golf view room with Old Course views starting at an extremely fair £129 considering you are overlooking the most famous course in the World with spectacular views of the R&A Clubhouse and West Sands.

Upon check in we were allocated Room 114 which rather amazingly turned out to be The one and only Tom Morris Senior Suite. The Suite is entered via a large lobby leading into three traditionally decorated and furnished rooms; A huge grand bedroom with ample storage, massive bed and views of the 17th; a splendid bathroom with similar views; a large lounge / dining room with sofa, armchairs, dining table, hot drinks service area, coffee table and sideboards. The views from the lounge are simply the best in the world of golf. This is what St Andrews is all about and why the Rusacks commands its' reputation as one of the World's leading golf hotels. It was a privelege to stay here.

The suite has constant reminders of who it was named after in terms of pictures and plaques but this is expected in a suite named after one of the forefathers of golf and a legend of St Andrews and Open Golf.

The Rusacks is within walking distance of everywhere you could possibly want to be in the Old Town and offers a high level of service and comfort. Of course, I cannot comment on the other types of rooms available but based solely on the stay experienced I cannot hesitate to give it 5 Tripadvisor stars. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and worn in parts but the character, service, facilities and staff more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

First time in St Andrews, stayed for two nights for £80 pn bed and breakfast. The hotel was clean and the bedroom comfortable (although mine was slightly on the small side, overlooking the road).

The stay represented excellent value for money, with a varied selection for breakfast. The service on the second morning was on the slow side - I had to ask to be shown to a table, there were no bowls for cereal out and I was warned there would be a ten minute wait for the cooked breakfast. That wasn't too much of a problem though.

The reception is extremely welcoming, with a log fire and friendly staff. I had a bar snack in the gastro pub on the first evening, wild mushrooms and poached egg on toast, and it was delicious. Cooked to perfection.

I'd certainly recommend to friends and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Ok the location was out of this world if you a re a golfer, we had breakfest over looking the Old Course each morning. The staff was helpfull from start to finish, Kevin the GM made the trip for myself and my buddy helping with golf courses, night life and great wine. If you are heading to the Old Course you have to stay at this hotel. Thanks for a great week

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeks79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

For an hotel charging £188 per night it does seem petty to charge £2-00 for paying the bill with a credit card. Also when we booked we specified no feathers in the room, the room had feather pillows which had to be changed. On the other hand the breakfast was magnificent, even though it took 40 minutes to arrive.
When queried about the credit card charge we were told that other hotels built the charge into their rates!- hardly convincing, Also the Rusacks charges for wi fi which in my experience is rare nowadays. They obviously take their charging system from Ryanair. Should we go again I shall no doubt be charged for the electricity I will use.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,505 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
558 reviews
2.4 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
698 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
421 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: €96 - €444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing