We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away in Kircaldy”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We spent 2 nights in this hotel , it was generally a nice stay , the staff were very nice and friendly , the hotel was pretty nice but there are some things worth mentioning . The hotel is located in a shared drive with a Snooker Hall , on arrival I noticed that the visitors to said snooker hall were of 'dubious morality'! Anyway within 2hours of leaving my car in the car park we had something stolen from our car . If you stay at the hotel at a weekend the 'snooker hall' has a night club that shuts at 0200am , the noise was quite bad at 0230 hrs when the 'clientele' left the club. Our room had a few decorative issues which were over due rectification. We had to ask for some method of timing back the room curtains as the wall they were on was angular and when closed the curtains we about half a metre away from the wall therefore letting daylight through . The fan in the toilet didn't work and the tiles on the floor were collapsing into the floor . The shower pressure was so low you almost had to 'dance around' in the shower to get wet. The above are the bad bits , the hotel was clean and tidy , the menu was extensive , the food was reasonable quality . The room was adequate . I would say that our stay was quite nice , IF I stayed again I would certainly ask that I was situated away from "the snooker hall" side of the hotel , and don't leave anything of value in or on your car when you park in the car park .

Room Tip: The side of the hotel away from nearby snooker hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AGray284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2017

Hi AGray284,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this feedback following your recent stay with us.
As a family run business, we really value customer satisfaction and would like to apologize that we fell short on the points stated above and would like to assure you that we have taken all of your comments on board and improvements will be made where required.
In regards to the Styx Snooker Hall at the rear of the hotel, we try our very best to ensure a quiet and pleasant stay for all of our guests, but as you will understand, some issues are out of our control.
Unfortunately, Any items left in or on your car, are at your own risk to do so. We have CCTV operating in our car park 24hrs a day, and this is a private car park, permitted for guests of the Victoria Hotel only. Styx Snooker Hall has their own private parking adjacent to our car park.
I would like to thank you very kindly, for your lovely comments on our restaurant, staff and overall cleanliness of the hotel.


With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was my first visit here for many years and I wasn't disappointed. Went for high tea on a Sunday, phoned to book a table prior to arrival. You sit in the bar to make your order then the waitress shows you to your table in the large hall. Toast and tea was brought to the table immediately. Food quickly followed maybe a bit too quickly hadn't even finished buttering my toast. Lots of choice with added daily specials and the portions are big. We had lamb, roast beef and macaroni and nobody was disappointed. After the meal you are then brought scones and a plate of mixed cakes. The cakes are shop bought but still tasty. The service was good. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 969chacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi 969chacha,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your high tea with us on Sunday.
However, in regards to our cakes & scones, all of our cakes and scones are homemade. We have an on site Patisserie Chef who has been with us for over 10 years and freshly bakes all of our cakes & scones, we are happy to hear you found them to be tasty.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to leave us this review and we do hope you will visit us again!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night whilst my partner was in the town for a pool competition in Styx which is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We had a nice clean and spacious room and breakfast offered all that we needed.
Spent a few hours sitting in the lovely lounge bar and enjoyed great meals on both Friday and Saturday nights. Would highly recommend the chicken Maryland off the High Tea menu - delicious! Prices for both drink and the food were also very reasonable.
The bar and the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely recommend anyone visiting Kirkcaldy to stay here

Stayed: July 2017
Thank snorksncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi Snorksncat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely feedback!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your evening meals to be thoroughly enjoyable, i will pass on your lovely comments on to all of the staff here at the Victoria Hotel.

We do hope you will visit us again some day!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This was a memory from my youth going for a high tea. The toast and tea arrived promptly and was lovely the main meals were all lovely but massive I had chicken Maryland it was good but a bit dry. Then came the mountain of scones and cakes all for £11.95 each couldn't fault the value but a lot was wasted due to huge portions, even if the portions were reduced by a third there would still be loads. will definitely be back

Room Tip: Don't eat anything all day if you want to finish your meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyrae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi Wendyrae13,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are glad to hear that you found our high tea to be of good value for money.
I have taken on board your comments in regards to portion size and our chicken maryland and will relay these comments to our Head Chef, however i am delighted to hear that you will return to the Victoria Hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With very kind regards,

Adele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as a business traveller. Not many places to choose from in the area which is why I ended up here. First impressions of the building good - ample parking, the reception area was decent with nice looking sofas and quite a grand staircase. Upstairs is like a rabbit warren - corridors leading everywhere. On arrival at my room - a triple room, which is always a bit odd as a solo traveller - I found it very drab and tired with awfully dated lampshades and mismatched furniture, with missing handles. Curtains have also seen better days, later found them to be ill fitting and let in lots of light around the edges at night. Saying that, the place was clean and the bed comfy. The shower in the morning went hot and cold, presumably when others in the hotel are using theirs, and the plug didn't fit the sinkhole - allowing the water to drain away before you've finished washing. Also saw open wiring under the radiator in the bathroom - I'm no plumber but I can't imagine it being particularly safe.
Breakfast was nice, although there were no cups or cutlery on the table both mornings - minor but getting up and down to gather tableware isn't ideal.
Overall it's not great - £132 for two nights - midweek - is not good value for money. I don't think it would cost much to give the place a facelift, and a bit more care and attention required at breakfast. Wouldn't return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank honestyetopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.9 km away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
276 reviews
3.7 km away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
390 reviews
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
211 reviews
6.4 km away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
304 reviews
10.8 km away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 28 Victoria Road, Kirkcaldy KY1 1DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: €68 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Kirkcaldy
Kirkcaldy Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing