We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely high tea”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This was a memory from my youth going for a high tea. The toast and tea arrived promptly and was lovely the main meals were all lovely but massive I had chicken Maryland it was good but a bit dry. Then came the mountain of scones and cakes all for £11.95 each couldn't fault the value but a lot was wasted due to huge portions, even if the portions were reduced by a third there would still be loads. will definitely be back

Room Tip: Don't eat anything all day if you want to finish your meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyrae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi Wendyrae13,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are glad to hear that you found our high tea to be of good value for money.
I have taken on board your comments in regards to portion size and our chicken maryland and will relay these comments to our Head Chef, however i am delighted to hear that you will return to the Victoria Hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With very kind regards,

Adele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as a business traveller. Not many places to choose from in the area which is why I ended up here. First impressions of the building good - ample parking, the reception area was decent with nice looking sofas and quite a grand staircase. Upstairs is like a rabbit warren - corridors leading everywhere. On arrival at my room - a triple room, which is always a bit odd as a solo traveller - I found it very drab and tired with awfully dated lampshades and mismatched furniture, with missing handles. Curtains have also seen better days, later found them to be ill fitting and let in lots of light around the edges at night. Saying that, the place was clean and the bed comfy. The shower in the morning went hot and cold, presumably when others in the hotel are using theirs, and the plug didn't fit the sinkhole - allowing the water to drain away before you've finished washing. Also saw open wiring under the radiator in the bathroom - I'm no plumber but I can't imagine it being particularly safe.
Breakfast was nice, although there were no cups or cutlery on the table both mornings - minor but getting up and down to gather tableware isn't ideal.
Overall it's not great - £132 for two nights - midweek - is not good value for money. I don't think it would cost much to give the place a facelift, and a bit more care and attention required at breakfast. Wouldn't return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank honestyetopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Have eaten at the Victoria many times over the years and always found it excellent but as a family wedding was being held there we decided to stay the night and we are so glad we did Room was lovely Breakfast was terrific and Staff were lovely What more could you ask for and all at a very reasonable price!!!!!!
I would also add that the wedding reception was fab!!!!!

Room Tip: A large bright room at the front of the hotel that we had no complaints whatsoever about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We booked a private room at the Victoria Hotel to host an afternoon tea and meeting for the PBC Foundation last Sunday afternoon. The afternoon tea was excellent with a really good selection of both sandwiches and cakes not to mention a glass of champagne. The staff could not do enough for us, they were friendly, courteous and even donated to our Charity. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 885linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 June 2017

Hi 885linda,

Thank you so much for leaving this fantastic review!
I am so happy that your event went so well and that you thoroughly enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us! I have passed your kind comments on to all of the staff.
Please let us know if you have any future events coming up, we would love to welcome you all back.

Thanks again!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

I attended a retirement party at the Victoria Hotel last night. The accommodation for the party was lovely. The buffet provided by the hotel was Lovely, fresh and tasted as expected - excellent. There was home made sausage rolls, a wide selection of sandwiches, canapes and cake.
Disco at the venue was good. Bar staff attentive. Toilets clean. Full marks to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 June 2017

Hi Maureen D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review!
We are thrilled that you had such a great time at the Retirement Party and enjoyed all aspects of the evening including our buffet! I have passed your kind comments on to our team.

Thank you again!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.9 km away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
276 reviews
3.7 km away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
390 reviews
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
211 reviews
6.4 km away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
304 reviews
10.8 km away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 28 Victoria Road, Kirkcaldy KY1 1DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: €77 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Kirkcaldy
Kirkcaldy Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing