We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
87
112
51
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
112
51
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money course meal national holidays breakfast was included dinner menu no lift friendly hotel the staff were friendly and helpful car park the ground floor very pleasant stay excellent value tea and coffee room was spotless member of staff double room falkirk wheel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Hadn’t visited here in some time as they had done away with their 3 course deal for £12. However, I found out that it’s returned and decided to go back straight away. The staff were very friendly and was pretty quiet ( around 515pm on a Saturday). The prices have went up to 3 courses for £14 which is incredible value. I had the veg pakora , highlander burger, and upside down mango and passion fruit cheesecake. Everything was great, however, I wasn’t really a fan of the cheesecake, very tart. Everyone should visit here and try for yourselves , definitely worth it!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveller201777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi There! Thank you for your lovely review, we really are very happy you decided to come back again. Hope to see you again soon, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

On a recent trip to Scotland we booked a room in the Cladhan Hotel for one night and ended up staying three nights!
The staff were great... very helpful and efficient. Excellent value for money with breakfast included... food was fab.
We ate dinner in the hotel on two nights... the dinners were great value and great quality too.
Room was fabulous size too. Clean and comfy. You could not go wrong booking here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Hi Paula! Thanks so much for your great review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

This review is applicable to my recent stay 14 Oct 2018 to the 16 Oct 2018 (two nights)
We have stayed here on two previous occasions and gave an accurate and fair assessment back then and we give another one today. We liked the hotel previously hence our return. Our only complaint in those days was a minor one, in that there was no toilet brush in the bathroom.
On this occasion we left almost certain that we may well not return.
Firstly, on the plus side we found the staff to be polite helpful and friendly. Food and drink served in the bar and restaurant was good.
Secondly, as far as I am concerned it all fell a bit flat. The bath had a gritty tide mark around it from a previous occupant of the room. The TV did not work and while we did mention it to reception who did offer to change our room. We declined the offer simply because in all honesty by this time the hassle to change would not be worth the effort. We also noticed there was in places a damp smell. I think there has been previous mention by other guests in assessments that the hotel decor looks a bit tired and I have to agree that it does, as does some of the furniture like in the reception area. Lastly still today no toilet brushes in the toilets
I would like to think that the management of this hotel rather than think of this assessment as one of outright complaint would look at it as an opportunity to put right and refurbish while out of season. This hotel does have all the basics in place but fails to deliver.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickinkernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Hi There,

Thank you for your constructive review, we take your comments on-board.

Please let me address some of your comments:

Unfortunately at the time in question our electrician was unavailable to attend to your television, this is the reason we offered to move your room which was the only resolution we could offer.

We, like many other hotels, do not provide toilet brushes as we believe that the brushes and pots they stand in are terrible growing areas for bacteria, however we do understand that you do not agree.

We are currently in the process of replacing our baths with walk-in showers, this has been in operation for some time now and we are almost complete. Your bath may have appeared dirty however our housekeeping team clean these each day, these age related marks are why the replacement started

We do not actually have an "out of season" time, our hotel - thankfully - is busy year around but we fully take your comments on-board & will address the issues that you have raised.

We do hope, that based on your previous experience at our hotel, you will revisit and allow us to regain your confidence.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Easy to find, and parking for one coach ob premises. Got my roo. Key from reception and tge room was horendous. The noise and smell from the bathroom in room 20, is disgraceful. Went back to reception and told her the score, I get the standard liar reply, no other rooms available!!!!! REALLY???, THEN I tell her that I am probably the only person in the group that will be reveiwing this hotel... hits the keyboard and heypresto... i get room 38, brand new refurbished and a 100 times better then the dump they stick all drivers in. Well done to that lady at reception. Breakfast was fantastic, as were the othere staff. So all in all a thumbs up at tye end of the day.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank coach1driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi,thanks for your review. Please note, we do not always put the drivers in to room 20 (which I beg to differ, is not a "dump") - I understand the bathroom is not to the same standard as the room you were provided originally but our rooms have been getting refurbished and this does take some time, and it is impossible to put all of our rooms off at one time to have them all done, so some will be newer than others, until they are all done and even although your room was complimentary we do value our standards and we are disappointed that you were not happy with the first room. Again, there were no "lies", as you put it - it is not commonplace for our staff to lie, however given how unhappy you were, we swapped the arrival coming in to room 38 in to your room (and received no complaints from them). I'm glad that you were happy in the end, with both the service, food and room that you stayed in - those are the things that we value the most.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Booked on-line, very efficient and a reasonable rate which included breakfast. On arrival, very friendly and helpful receptionist. The room is well appointed, twin bedded (exceptionally comfortable), recently refurbished and spotlessly clean. The same is true of the en-suite, with a proper sized shower thankfully replacing the traditional bath.

Free, secure and fast WI-FI is available throughout the hotel.

The restaurant staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Service is prompt and efficient. The same can be said of the bar.

But ... there’s always a but ...

The car park is overdue being resurfaced.
The en-suit toilet seat was never made to fit that bowl.
The water pressure from the shower was far from adequate.
The dinner menu choice is fine, but only if you’re into burgers

That said, the only thing that I missed was an iron and ironing board.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi! Thanks for the positive review! We are glad that you had a nice stay!

We are sorry there were some negatives, we are currently in the process of having the car parks at our properties re-tarred. Our menu does have over 20 other options, apart from burgers, but we do take your comment on board. We will have the plumber look at the toilet seat and water pressure - thank you so much for your constructive comments - we always value customer input!

Hope to see you again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews