We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just small things could improve ”

The Scottish Steakhouse
Ranked #57 of 196 Restaurants in Falkirk
Price range: US$8 - US$84
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Scottish Steak House is the signature grill for Macdonald Hotels, serving a selection of salads, platters, roasts and grills.True to our Scottish heritage, the beef we serve comes from the finest Scottish, naturally reared herds. Where many hotels, hotel chains and restaurants are de-skilling and buying ingredients pre-cooked pr prepared from frozen, our chefs work from whole raw ingredients using only the finest and freshest produce. The beauty of the dish is in the greatness of the ingredients with a focus on simplicity.
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and ate here while my husband was there for work near by ,
Staff all seem very friendly and lovely Charlotte always took care of us on a evening , although staff all seem young (or I’m just getting older ) .
Food is quite pricey but pleasantly presented on the plate, if your wanting quantity then this isn’t the place for you !
All looks very pretty but sometimes thoughts it could have been just a bit better in flavour . Over cooked chips with a well done burger , replaced once spoken to waitress .
Glass wear exchanged as not clear clean .

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pip1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at The Scottish Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Pip1014,

Thank you for choosing to visit with us recently and for taking the time to post your online feedback.

It is great to be able to read your review and to pass on the comments to the teams so that they can make changes to the service and offering.

I will certainly pass on your thanks to Charlotte, who looked after you during your visit.

Thanks again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Brett
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely evening meal. The quality of the food was fantastic and the staff were some of the most pleasant people I have ever met. The prices are a little on the high side (particularly for the starters) but the quality is such that perhaps that is justified.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank robertmT4262LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at The Scottish Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Robert,

Thank you for choosing to visit the Scottish Steakhouse recently and for posting your review online.

It was great to see that you enjoyed your evening and found the quality of the food fantastic, as well as finding the team to be pleasant. I will certainly share you feedback with the team.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Brett
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went with a friend on a Saturday for Afternoon Tea. Expected the restaurant to be busy but apart from ourselves and another couple that was it. We weren’t given any menu and they waitress came and asked us what we wished to drink - we had to ask what type of tea was available and we had to ask what came with the afternoon tea ie sandwich fillings. My friend was vegetarian and when the afternoon tea came the vegetarian sandwiches were placed beside the meat sandwiches - which should not happen. One of my friends vegetarian options was a sandwich just with picallili on it. The scones were the smallest I had ever seen and were so hard we struggled to get our knives through them. I suspect they had come straight out the freezer and defrosted. There were no savoury options and the cakes were definitely not ‘home baked’ and more bought from a shop. Normally you look forward to the cake selection and we didn’t touch ours at all and certainly did not want to take them home in a box as the waitress suggested. A very very disappointing experience!!

Thank hhjjllffgghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at The Scottish Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to visit us for afternoon tea recently and for taking the time to post your review online.

I am sorry that you encountered issues on the day with your afternoon tea. I have spoken to the management team and reiterated the standards for our afternoon service.
Feedback is important to us and allows us to review our product and service and to make changes when needed.

Thanks again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We drove here for dinner in the Steakhouse restaurant. We wish that we had not bothered. We both ordered pork chops. Eventually the waitress came to tell us that they had no pork chops!! A hotel, and no pork chops, which are on the menu? Unbelievable. She also informed us that they only had ONE half chicken left! My wife chose the half chicken. I went for a rump steak - and had to pay extra for a sauce! We elected not to have any bread - you even have to pay for that! Never come across a restaurant that didn't put bread on the table - unless you pay for it. Then we waited over 30 mins for the food to arrive. The half chicken turned out to be totally NOT that - it was just a small breast of chicken. My rump was OK, but rather dry. Usually the plate has the juices from the steak on it - my plate had no juice at all. Very disappointing. The standard of service was poor - they seemed to be indifferent. The only time we saw them was taking the order; telling us no pork; bringing the food; collecting the plates; bringing the bill. Never saw anyone when we left. We only called in for dinner, but it was so average that we have no wish to ever return. No wonder we saw no other diners.
Despite the uniforms, one of the waitresses was wearing jeans. The furniture and decor seems old - there were even seats with the stuffing showing, they were so old and worn. On a table outside there were empty glasses - there when we arrived, and still there when we left about 90 mins later! We even saw some litter on the floor in the restaurant; no one picked it up. When we arrived, my wife even had to brush the crumbs off her chair before she could sit down. Seems that they don't care about the restaurant business. It wasn't cheap, and certainly not worth the expense that we had to pay.

Thank RayB880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at The Scottish Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear RayB880,

Thank you for choosing to visit with us recently and for posting your review. We did sell out of pork chops unfortunately, and due to our strict purchasing policy regarding sourcing and quality we can from time to time sell out. we do though have an extensive menu available with alternative dishes.
Bread is an option which is often the case with brasserie and bistro restaurants. The steaks are supplied by Scot beef and are cooked on a grill which generally received great feedback, and I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with the food. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the chef, as well as our restaurant manager regarding the service.
All of the team wear jeans on the Scottish Steakhouse as part of their normal uniform.
The seats you refer to have been noted previously and the replacements ordered which are due to be in place later this week.
The empty glasses outside should have been cleared.
Thanks again for your feedback which we will certainly discuss with the team and make provision to improve the service aspects highlighted.
Thanks again and we of course look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

now everyone knows i only write honest reviews and always give credit where credit due but not on this occasion, visited the steakhouse on Sunday 10th June 2018 oh what a disapointment, to say this is meant to be 4 star steakhouse its most defo was not on Sunday, when we arrived we were the only two in the steak house, it took an hour for the food to arrive after the staff had to go ask where it was, to add insult a bus load of chinese arrived, got drinks tables and served before us, then the couple next to they to got served first, we were like erm excuse us, placed our order, caesar salad as decribed on the menu, it had no mention of fish on the menu, it came full of anchovies, bad advertising, then ordered club sandwich, there was more fat on bacon than bacon and it was black, the salad on the butty was yellow/ brown, the salad bowl that came with it the salad was brown, unwashed and obviously no care given to meal, hubby ordered 8oz fillet steak, nope none, although on the menu, opted for 8 oz sirloin, yes well it was a sandwich steak not even 2oz but wanted £32 for this, the meal was a total disaster from start to finish, the dining supervisor did not care and said, oh chef will be disappointed. the wee lass behind the bar, paige, could not do enough to try help out but she was doing the job of 6 people especially after the bus load of chinese arrived then the bus of oap arrived, to say we were disappointed is putting it mildly, poor paige was run of her feet while dining manager just stood at her perch .......

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at The Scottish Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Anna,

Thank you for choosing to visit us recently and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Thank you for contacting me directly as well to allow me to review the points raised

I will certainly pass on your thanks to Paige as well.

Kind regards,
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Steakhouse also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Scottish Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing