We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with lovely owner”
Review of Kenvie Guest House

Kenvie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenvie Guest House
Ranked #222 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2014

The owners, Dorothy & Richard, make this B&B special. Parking is difficult in the area but Dorothy kept watch and shouted to me when a spot opened. Our room was a bit tight but very clean and comfortable. The dining room is beautiful and the breakfasts excellent. The neighborhood is very pleasant and there is good access for a quick bus ride to the Royal Mile as well as restaurants some blocks away.

Room Tip: There is a long set of stairs to get to the B&B itself so pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2014

We spent a week here and really enjoyed it. Dorothy is friendly, helpful, and knows the area well. Kenzie House is a short bus trip or inexpensive cab ride from the Royal Mile. Breakfast was good, and the WiFi was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anniejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and my aunt and uncle stayed here for two nights after traveling from York. Dorothy was very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were surprisingly large as we had an en suite bathroom. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms very clean. Turn in your breakfast orders at night for Dorothy to cook a lovely meal in the morning!

The four of us took a taxi into town which came out to about the same if we had each paid for a bus ticket. There is a Rick Steves & cash discount....so inquire before booking!

Room Tip: No elevators so be ready to lift your luggage up a couple flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here during our time in Edinburgh. It's in a good location, close to the bus stops to get into town, and not too far for dining. Dorothy was very friendly and served an excellent breakfast in the morning. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our room was large and the bathroom was large also. The room and bathroom were very clean. We had a beautiful view of Arthur's Seat from our window. The breakfasts were very good. Dorothy went out of her way taking messages from my friend from Glasgow. We were close to bus service to travel to Edinburgh but we were close enough so we could walk home at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenvie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenvie Guest House

Address: 16 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: €57 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly traditional 3-star guest house well-situated in a quiet Victorian residential area of Edinburgh, recommended by Lonely Planet and Rick Steves. 10 minutes from the city centre on good bus routes. Attractive, comfortable rooms, most with en-suite bathrooms. Free wireless internet access in all rooms and a free shared PC. Good Scottish breakfasts and warm helpful service! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenvie Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing