We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
40
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
12
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

That's a plea from the heart - and my stomach - to Donna, who runs Kilmaurs House, surely one of the best B & B's in Edinburgh. She is threatening to stop providing breakfasts to die for and a welcome much warmer than the Scottish weather in favour of early retirement. My annual visits to the Edinburgh Festival just won't be the same without Donna and Kilmaurs House. Watch this space and if she changes her mind, book now. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Kilmaurs House was our first stop after deplaning in Edinburgh, having been "on the road" for nearly 24 hours. The McKinlay's were the most enjoyable host/hostess, we very surely landed on our feet for the three nights we spent there. Ever helpful and accommodating, our hosts contrived to ease our trip in many ways, including a supper recommendation (Salisbury Arms) which turned out to be most excellent, and directions to several places, including walking directions to the Palace at Holyrood House. The rooms were large, and very comfortable; en suite shower was large, as well, and had uncommonly good (high) water pressure. The breakfast room was very bright, sunny, and gave us a great start on the day. Breakfast itself was a lovely fry-up for those inclined, fruit, cereal, and so on for those not. Great coffee! Very Highly Recommended, indeed.

Room tip: Book early, as they seemed to have no problem filling up.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and was very happy with the location and facilities. Donna is a super hostess and makes you feel right at home. Her suggestions (walk to Holyrood via the park - return via bus) certainly fit us. Recommendations for eating locally (Salsbury Hotel and Voujon) were hits with us. And her short-cut directions to the Glasgow airport made the trip so much easier.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days in mid September. We loved our host Donna and how she went out of her way to make our trip to Edinburgh a memorable one. The rooms were great with a comfortable bed and cable television. The breakfasts Donna prepared were delicious and she was always willing to give us travel ideas during our stay. She lent us golf clubs so we were able to play a couple of the numerous golf courses in the area. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. We look forward to returning in the near future.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed here with my friend during the few days that we spent in Edinburgh. It was the most lovely place. We had a spectacular view out of our bedroom window and it was in a nice quiet location close to everything. The owner is fantastic and was an exceptional host. She was very accommodating to my friends dietary needs and made sure we had a delicious breakfast every morning. She also gave great insight into what we should see and do around the city. A wonderful place that I would recommend to anyone, and would visit again myself!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffwarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews