We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Serene, Inexpensive accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alba House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alba House
Ranked #45 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Serene, Inexpensive accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Alba House is a thoroughly comfortable, quiet and peaceful b&b. Breakfast is generous, with very good coffee. I had a room on the top floor that had three lovely skylights, including one in the bathroom, right above the tub -- lovely to have it open while having a bath. Free wi-fi, very easy to use. Great in-room radio. Cathy encourages guests to look round the lovely garden, and there are chairs, etc. for an outdoor picnic if you wish. This was a 45 minute walk or ten minute busride to the University where my conference was held.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
90
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Alba House. Cath, our hostess was wonderful - so friendly and helpful! Lovely, spacious accomodations and delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the front room downstairs and found it to be most comfortable and restful. Great location for transportation with a bus stop nearby. We had a car but did not use it. Cath had the foresight to print bus numbers on Alba House's business card which was very helpful. (Cath also gave us some terrific restaurant recommendations - Amarone and Wild Elephant.) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alba House and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Lovely old house...reasonably looked after. Some of the decorating was slipshod...which is a shame with such a lovely property.

We stayed in the Four Poster room. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was large with two side chairs, a wardrobe, and a desk. We paid an average of 75 pounds per night.

Breakfast was average...lots of choices for cold foods...but the hot choices were a little disappointing. I have to say we have found with every bed and breakfast at which we have stayed in Great Britain...when they do a fry-up there's never any grease. Obviously you don't want your plate swimming with grease, but a little adds flavour and the meals tend to be rather bland.

Our room was ensuite and it had about the best shower I've ever had...very powerful...although they did run out of hot water one day when I had a shower in the afternoon.

Fairly clean, but we stayed 6 days and our room wasn't vacuumed even once...so the floor was looking a little crumby by the time we left.

Peeling wallpaper and paint in the bathroom and mold in the shower and on the blind in the bathroom.

We would stay again as it was more than adequate and the lady who runs it is very friendly and helpful. It is also right on a main bus route so that the buses run every few minutes to take you to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldtimerEdinburgh, Owner at Alba House, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to review her stay with us.Feedback, both positive and negative, is always useful.
I'm sure she will be pleased to know that we have a rolling programme of refurbishment over the winter months and the room she was in is top of the list.
I must, however, take issue with the comments on the servicing of her room. It is rather disingenuous to say that the floor was not vacuumed (actually it was!). I would like to point out that this guest was unwell during her stay with us and kept the do not disturb sign on the door until late afternoon most days. I did apologise on the one day we were unable to get into the room and was informed that she was quite happy to stay indoors as she felt unable to go out.
Perhaps for future trips it would be useful to know that most small establishments do not have 24 hour staff and it is courteous to let your hostess know if you intend to be in the room all day, so that arrangements can be made with regard to cleaning the room.

As for the lack of a greasy breakfast - sometimes you just cannot get it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Cathy, our hostess, was so great!

Even if it was a full house, all the guests got the attention and advise they needed. You could see that she´s done it for years. Small things count, like the bus numbers printed on the visiting card of Alba House.

No wonder Alba house got a prize last year. The only small minus comes from the traffic outside, but with earplugs even that could be pushed aside and looking at the other B&B on the same road we sure picked the right one. Our room had beautiful thick curtains , bathroom had a good powerful shower that felt super after the long daily walks. We surely can recommend Alba House with it´s white tablecloths and á la carte Scottish Breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side might cause sleeping problems to sensitive persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mervi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Cath was an excellent and cheery host. Easy 10 minute bus ride into "old town", great beds, and updated bathrooms set into a spacious Victorian home with free parking!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb7iuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Lauderville Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Appin House
#57 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba House

Property: Alba House
Address: 29 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba House is a beautiful detached listed Victorian Villa, situated in the Craigmillar Park Conservation area of Edinburgh. We offer comfortable, great value bed and breakfast. Alba House is a ten minute bus ride south of city centre and close to Edinburgh University and Einburgh Royal Infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing