We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba House
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$407
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$322
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$306
US$245
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
164
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreoutlander tourbus infofriendly and helpful ownersexcellent scottish breakfastnice furnishingsfront of the housevictorian houseedinburgh stayevery morningguest househigh ceilingsroyal mileoff street parkingexcellent facilitiesa short bus ridefree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Alba House. Cath, our hostess was wonderful - so friendly and helpful! Lovely, spacious accomodations and delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the front room downstairs and found it to be most comfortable and restful. Great location for transportation with a bus stop nearby. We had a car but did not use it. Cath had the foresight to print bus numbers on Alba House's business card which was very helpful. (Cath also gave us some terrific restaurant recommendations - Amarone and Wild Elephant.) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alba House and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Lovely old house...reasonably looked after. Some of the decorating was slipshod...which is a shame with such a lovely property.

We stayed in the Four Poster room. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was large with two side chairs, a wardrobe, and a desk. We paid an average of 75 pounds per night.

Breakfast was average...lots of choices for cold foods...but the hot choices were a little disappointing. I have to say we have found with every bed and breakfast at which we have stayed in Great Britain...when they do a fry-up there's never any grease. Obviously you don't want your plate swimming with grease, but a little adds flavour and the meals tend to be rather bland.

Our room was ensuite and it had about the best shower I've ever had...very powerful...although they did run out of hot water one day when I had a shower in the afternoon.

Fairly clean, but we stayed 6 days and our room wasn't vacuumed even once...so the floor was looking a little crumby by the time we left.

Peeling wallpaper and paint in the bathroom and mold in the shower and on the blind in the bathroom.

We would stay again as it was more than adequate and the lady who runs it is very friendly and helpful. It is also right on a main bus route so that the buses run every few minutes to take you to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldtimerEdinburgh, Owner at Alba House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to review her stay with us.Feedback, both positive and negative, is always useful.
I'm sure she will be pleased to know that we have a rolling programme of refurbishment over the winter months and the room she was in is top of the list.
I must, however, take issue with the comments on the servicing of her room. It is rather disingenuous to say that the floor was not vacuumed (actually it was!). I would like to point out that this guest was unwell during her stay with us and kept the do not disturb sign on the door until late afternoon most days. I did apologise on the one day we were unable to get into the room and was informed that she was quite happy to stay indoors as she felt unable to go out.
Perhaps for future trips it would be useful to know that most small establishments do not have 24 hour staff and it is courteous to let your hostess know if you intend to be in the room all day, so that arrangements can be made with regard to cleaning the room.

As for the lack of a greasy breakfast - sometimes you just cannot get it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Cathy, our hostess, was so great!

Even if it was a full house, all the guests got the attention and advise they needed. You could see that she´s done it for years. Small things count, like the bus numbers printed on the visiting card of Alba House.

No wonder Alba house got a prize last year. The only small minus comes from the traffic outside, but with earplugs even that could be pushed aside and looking at the other B&B on the same road we sure picked the right one. Our room had beautiful thick curtains , bathroom had a good powerful shower that felt super after the long daily walks. We surely can recommend Alba House with it´s white tablecloths and á la carte Scottish Breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side might cause sleeping problems to sensitive persons.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Cath was an excellent and cheery host. Easy 10 minute bus ride into "old town", great beds, and updated bathrooms set into a spacious Victorian home with free parking!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb7iuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Myself and my fiance were wanting to visit Edinburgh as we had heard glowing reviews from friends about the city. We had not been away together since getting engaged so felt we were due a weekend away.

We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend the weekend. The rooms are of the highest quality, the breakfasts amazing and nothing can be too much trouble for the hostess Cath. Even on the Sunday when we were heading off, she told us the best route to head back south so we could stop off at a beach she recommended.

I m eagerly awaiting another opportunity to head back north of the border and will definitely be staying at Alba House when I do.

Sam

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samleeds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews