We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #169 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at Anvtree for 4 days.And we enjoyed everyone of them ;-)

Brian and Anne were very, very helpful and helped us wherever they can.
We felt like staying at home.
P.S. And the scottish breakfast was great ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRoth653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our guest house. I am so glad that we met your expectations. We hope to see you both again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Aynetree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed here for one night in October on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed everything about Ayntree. I usually stay at the larger hotels in the city but the standard of cleanliness and service in some of these bigger hotels often comprise the quality of your stay. I decided to try something different and I'm so glad that I did because I've now found this little gem! I've never felt so comfortable staying away from home before and I work away A LOT!! The rooms are exceptionally clean and very, very cosy. Even the bedding smells homely. 10 out of 10 for breakfast. Free parking AND lovely hosts. I couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSJLewis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

I was so pleased to read that you were very happy with our place and service, especially when comparing it with the larger establishments. With a guest house you will always get consistency (hopefully good) as the "staff" do not change. With a large hotel there is no continuity so therefore service and standards can change day by day. I hope that you stop again when conducting your business in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Brian and Anne ensured a very enjoyable stay in Edinburgh - helpful in every way and room was charming and clean. The breakfast was great - didn't even get hungrey till 3 or 4PM! The bus was so convient to the sights - just outside the house.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Thank you for your glowing review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We arrived a bit early after a drive from the Lakes but were made very welcome by Brian who also gave us some helpful tips about driving in Edinburgh. We had to return our hire car to the city which was a bit daunting given the crowds there for all of the festivals and the Tattoo. Brian's map and advice certainly helped. Our room was the petite double with ensuite and quite small but we were prepared for that as Anne had described it at the time of booking. It was comfortable, clean and suited us for our 3 nights in Edinburgh. The bus stop outside the house made travel to and from the city easy, especially after our night at the Tattoo when it was so busy. Our days began with an excellent breakfast although neither of us tried the haggis! Thank you for making our stay in Edinburgh so enjoyable. If we're ever back there, we'll stay at Aynetree Guest House.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Jenny, Thank you for the glowing review. Yes, the petite room is "petite" but is good if you want to spend less on accommodation and more on other things. The bathroom is not petite. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Festival and Tattoo. The prices are so much higher in the three weeks in August but if you want to see join in the festivities this cannot be avoided. I hope to see you again outwith August, perhaps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Aynetree Guesthouse very much. It was a pleasant visit with only minor points to criticise.
Brian and Anne were very friendly and always ready to help. They porvided us with helpful information and advice about the sights in Edinburgh.
We had room #2, the large family room, which we got as a complementary upgrade to our originally booked room after some booking difficulties. It was comfortable and clean but it went out front so we heard the busy road even at night.
Breakfast was fine with choice and prepared individually. On the last day, we had to leave early, before breakfast time. Unfortunately, we couldn't have the regular breakfast but we got fruit, cereals and tea instead to prepare by ourselves.
There was a bus stop directly in front of the guest houe with a good connection towards downtown Edinburgh but the ride takes quite long.
Thank your Brian and Anne for the good time you gave us!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We now have triple double glazing in the windows at the front and bearing in mind there is hardly any traffic from 6.30 pm to morning. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.3 km away
Milton House
Milton House
#122 of 393 in Edinburgh
28 reviews
3.9 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#193 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
215 reviews
1.0 km away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#105 of 393 in Edinburgh
130 reviews
3.8 km away
Sonas Guest House
Sonas Guest House
#21 of 393 in Edinburgh
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: €66 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing