We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“karan muir not that impressed”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“karan muir not that impressed”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

was really impressed with the hotel when i arrived. The cocktail bar was really impressive. we where told we can check in at 2pm but the rooms where not ready till 3pm. The room was lovely and very clean. had our meal booked in for 8.30pm the service was soo slow. 5 of us sent our main meal back as it was 2 salty and we couldnt eat it .when we complained they came back with this very cheap bottle of fizzy wine which was awful. my friend complained again and they gave us all a free cocktail which was really nice. but they should have asked us if we would have liked another main meal,but they didnt. we got our sweets at 11.45pm which was far 2 late.the breakfast was really nice. when we went 2 check out they asked us 2 pay a service charge which we said we will not pay as the service was soo slow and the main was awful. expained what had happed with the main me\als and all they could say was REALLY WE ARE VERY SORRY. dont think i would go back again. it costs a lot of money and dont think its value for money at all.

Room Tip: we stay in room 10 was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your recent stay at Tigerlily.

We advertise on our confirmation letter as rooms being available from 2pm. Whilst we always try our utmost to fulfil this, occasionally this is not always possible. On your day of arrival we had the entire hotel checking out in the morning and then checking back in. On these rare occasions we always offer to store luggage and will take a contact number so that we can advise our guests as soon as the room is available in order to avoid any further inconvenience.

We welcome large numbers of diners every day into the hotel and I am pleased to say that complaints are few and far between. So it is a shame you found your miso salmon dish too salty. I have spoken with our restaurant team who have confirmed that a bottle of Prosecco was delivered in the first instance by way of an apology on the evening for the delay in service you experienced. This is a particularly popular choice for many guests but I am sorry that it was not for you. I am glad the complimentary cocktails helped however! I know you also enjoyed your VIP access into our nightclub, Lulu.


Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    331
    117
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
987
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr , Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have just arrived back from Tigerlily, I can honestly say that i could not fault it, everything was perfect, the room , staff ,decor, food and of course the cocktails.We stayed in room 14 , when we got to the room , the open fire was on and was so welcoming, there was a docking station ( with ipod) mixed music , GHD for Mrs , the bed was luxury, Downstairs the decor is plush , really nice boutique feel to it, the drinks menu is fantastic with a wide range of cocktails ( reasonably priced).Bar staff really friendly. We ate dinner outside the hotel but the food menu looked great, We had breakfast this morning and it was superb, Defo be back soon....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

i was at tigerlily about a week ago with a small group for a meal only.we were all very impeessed with the venue,meal and service.max,our waiter has dedicated an excellent service to us.he took his time for us,making us feel welcome.
thanks,woud surely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorinRobertStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Lovely looking hotel, but when we arrived rooms were not ready even by 3pm! Dinner started at 9pm, service so slow still waiting for our desserts at 11.45pm! Main was awful, five within our party of eight couldn't eat it! Very disappointed considering i had flown up from London!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here at the end of March/Beginning of April and it was amazing. We booked the Sunday Escape package in a mini Georgian Suite. For what we had it was surprisingly well priced. We ate in the Tigerlily Restaurant and had a delicious meal and then moved over to the bar which had a great atmosphere especially for a Sunday night. If i ever find myself in Edinburgh again i would definitely go back! Thank you Tigerlily

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing