We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
522
233
94
40
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
233
94
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george street atlantis room sunken bath cairo suite dirty martini shanghai club nightclub downstairs junior suite boutique hotel on arrival breakfast in bed mood lighting fabulous hotel fantastic stay bars and restaurants birthday treat the heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Another great stay at Le Monde! Definitely our favourite place to stay when we come to Edinburgh! Last time we stayed in the Cairo room and this time we got put in the LA suite which was just as amazing! A huge bath and 2 massive plasma TVs. We got a welcome back note in our room with some delicious chocolates which was a nice touch! Thank you to all the staff and we will see you again very soon!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Niamh,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted we made your stay as special as you imagined it would be and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Monde again soon to experience another one of our uniquely themed rooms!
Thanks,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

At first glance this hotel looks lovely. It's in a great position, easy to get to the place I had my meeting and has a lovely bar/restaurant attached.

The room was HUGE as was the bathroom and normally a big room is great.... however.... the ONLY mirror in the from was at one end of the room and the only 2 plug sockets were at the other making it IMPOSSIBLE to dry and straighten my long hair in the morning. You couldn't even unplug one of the many lamps as they were not plugged in but trunked into the wall.

Mirrors with no close plug sockets or EVER woman's pet hate.

I rang down and asked to be moved rooms but the only other room had no mirror except for in the bathroom.

I then asked for a mirror to be brought to my room and was brought a shaving mirror, about the size of a side plate.

The room was hot and the air con did not work.

The parquet flooring was loose and pieces kept coming out as I walked on it.

The curtain didn't close over all the way.

All in all a catalog of errors and issues.

These are just simple maintenance issues every hotel should get right.

Not what you expect from a place that charges £13 for a steak sandwich

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank vickyf594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Hi Vicky,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed our bar and restaurant as well as the spaciousness of your room.
We are sorry to hear about the small maintenance issues you experienced. This of course is not acceptable and we would like to assure you these have since been looked at.
We have a 24 hour reception team on hand who are more than happy to help with anything throughout your stay.
We hope that the deduction of your dinner charges on check out went some way in apologising for your disappointments and we hope to welcome you back to Le Monde in the future.
Thanks,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Stayed last Friday night in the Casablanca Suite. Would highly recommend.
Large spacious room, with a really cute themed sitting area in the bay window.
Impressive size Bathroom with walk in shower, large bath
Temple Spa toiletries in rom, robes, slippers, fancy cofffe machine, fully stocked mini bar!
Everything clean and up to standard.
All complimented by a high level of service - from check in to check out, genuinely helpful staff and interested in us.
Highly recommend.

Room tip: Each room is different based on cities of the world! So take your fancy!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Hi Suzanne,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Casablanca suite.
Our number one priority at Le Monde is to maintain a high level over customer service and we are happy that came across through out your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Thanks,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Loose flooring, freezing cold toilet, horrid marked velvet drapes and toothpaste splashed wall at sink, kettle and cups not near sink.Do I really have to say much more.
On the up side.......good location, comfy bed, nice linen

Room tip: Try to get one that looks on to George Street. Especially at Christmas
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We would like to apologise for the problems you experienced with your room. Your comments have been passed onto our Housekeeping team and the flooring in your room has since been looked at.
Had you mentioned your disappointments during your stay we would have been more than happy to resolves these for you.
We would love to welcome you back Le Monde Hotel again so that we can ensure you get the true Le Monde experience!
Call our reception team on 0131 270 3900 and we will ensure you are well looked after from check in to check out.
Thanks,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in Le Monde and were so happy we chose this hotel. We stayed in the 'Tokyo Suite' which was just beautiful with sunken bath and super comfortable bed. The bar and restaurant looks gorgeous but we didn't use it because we wanted to explore Edinburgh and ran out of time. Will defiantly try it next time we visit. We ate at Cafe St Honore in Thistle Street Lane, gorgeous french food and a wonderful atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel. Thanks for a great stay.

Room tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy because of the club below. Didn't hear a sound in the Tokyo Suite
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 636looby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Hi,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the unique features of our beautiful Tokyo suite impressed you.
We would love to welcome you back to Le Monde when you next return to explore the rest of the city!
Thanks,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews