We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay!”
Review of The Beverley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beverley
Ranked #64 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed for just one night before an early airport run. It's a nice, neat little place is a very good location. Good service, friendly staff. And they left my breakfast on a tray outside my room since I was leaving early! Doesn't get better than that. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    65
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
117
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The room we had was a double bed and was abit smaller than expected with two adults in it with bags etc. However the rooms were exceptionally clean and the owner was amazing with her help whenever needed. There are no phones but there is a bell which alerts the owner when assistance is required. There is free wi-fi available and also a computer for guests to use downstairs. The Inn is abit of a distance away from the city centre - we took cabs because it was too cold to walk to the bus stop which is down the road from the inn. From Waverly station to the Inn was an average of £10 at night. From the inn to the city centre ranged between £6.50 - £10 each way depending on time of day. The breakfast was well cooked and served hot on request - cereals, yoghurt and coffee is available while you wait. There is no dinner or room service available but there are take aways and restaurants a road or two away. There are plenty of tourist information booklets available downstairs and the owners provided very detailed information when asked. I would not stay here again because of the distance to the city - however if you prefer a quieter stay away from the hustle and bustle then this is the place for you and I would definitely recommend it. Also only one room key was provided (which also opens the main door) which makes it difficult if you want to leave without disturbing anyone you are travelling with - had to always be together in order to get into the house and the room at night.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a double bed and faces the street - is upstairs on the 2nd floor and has sloped ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Very warm welcome, and a lovely clean and warm room. Liked the choice of DVDs to borrow as well as Freeview. Very quiet location, and being on a folding bike, it was good not to have to go too far with a pub for food about 500m away. Great breakfast very freshly prepared. All in all a good night's stay, close to Haymarket station yet quiet enough for great sleep. Wifi to work with too, what more can you ask, thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I chose this B&B according to its good rating here, and was not disappointed. It is very conveniently located close to the main road between the airport and city centre, yet in a quiet avenue without any traffic noise. The neighbourhood feels nice and safe, which is something I tend to keep an eye on, as a single female traveller. There are bus stops nearby, as well as a variety of shops including two small supermarkets (Co-op and Spar). There is also immediate access to the Water of Leith footpath which makes for beautiful walking, e.g. to the Botanical Garden, to the Modern Art Museum, or to the villages of Dean and Stockbridge.
I was surprised at the size of the room, which was beautifully furnished and decorated (I stayed in the Macintosh room). To be honest, it would probably feel less spacious for two people, but for single occupancy it was great. I have had lots of bad experiences with poor bathrooms and showers in Scottish hotels and guesthouses, so this one was a very pleasant surprise. The shower has excellent water pressure and is sufficiently hot.
Judy and Hutch made me feel very welcome, the guesthouse has a lovely atmosphere although some people might consider it a bit posh. However the hosts are very friendly and helpful and unobtrusive, and it was no problem to store my luggage after check-out when I wanted to spent a couple of hours in town before going to the airport.
The guesthouse has good wi-fi access, there were no technical problems at all (again, something I've had trouble with in other places).
Although the price was at the top end of what I am willing to pay for accommodation, I think it is very good value for money in this city. I actually felt it was a shame I was spending less than 24 hours there, I think it would be a lovely place for a long weekend or a week-long city holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lykaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at The Beverley and were absolutely delighted with the hospitality we received. Judy and her husband were every helpful advising us about buses and providing directions and maps of where to go in the area, and places to eat etc.
Their guest house is set in a lovely peaceful tree lined avenue but it is not too remote. There is a very good bus service close by(for both into town and to the airport) however, we are quite active people and enjoyed the 20 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh!
The house is very tastefully decorated and our room (The Lowry) was bright, spacious, and very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent we particularly liked it because for fried food it was not too greasy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 654Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,051 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
Hampton Hotel
#126 of 392 in Edinburgh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#130 of 392 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverley

Property: The Beverley
Address: 40 Murrayfield Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beverley 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and Hutch welcome you to their Victorian terraced house in Edinburgh. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue and only minutes from Edinburgh's historic city centre, The Beverley offers the epitomy of true Celtic hospitality. Whether you are in Edinburgh for just one night, on business, or intend to spend longer to explore the capital's many delights, we think you'll find the Beverley ideal, not only for its excellent location but, also for its comfort, attention to detail and unrivalled level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Beverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Beverley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing