We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delightful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beverley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beverley
Ranked #66 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a delightful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at The Beverley and were absolutely delighted with the hospitality we received. Judy and her husband were every helpful advising us about buses and providing directions and maps of where to go in the area, and places to eat etc.
Their guest house is set in a lovely peaceful tree lined avenue but it is not too remote. There is a very good bus service close by(for both into town and to the airport) however, we are quite active people and enjoyed the 20 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh!
The house is very tastefully decorated and our room (The Lowry) was bright, spacious, and very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent we particularly liked it because for fried food it was not too greasy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 654Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    60
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
113
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I booked this based on Tripadvisor recommendations and I was not disappointed. The owners and staff were very pleasant and helpful. My room was small but comfortable with WIFI access. Breakfast was served in a very well appointed dining room and the food and selection were very good.
The location is close to bus service and the location is close to Edinburgh city centre and a short drive to the airport.
I would return again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkeyrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Edinburgh is a beautiful city where our stay was made even better by Judy and her friendly and welcoming reception at the Beverley Hotel. The room was clean and was very comfortable. Breakfast is a treat and really sets you up for the day. We recommend that you catch a bus into Edinburgh and take the strain out of the day. Judy has plenty of information available and provides her own insights into the City. We will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights and found the location handy to the city bus. The room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast provided a good start to the day. There is a Laundromat at the end of the street which is very handy.
Car parking in the street may present a problem from time to time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our first trip to Edinburgh, and our first impression of this lovely hotel were very good. Judy gave us a very warm welcome, and provided us with maps and information about the excellent bus service into town which runs at the end of the road, a very short walk. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and we knew we had picked the right place to stay. Breakfast was great, the shower was hot and good, it's not noisy because its a little bit off the main roads, all in all I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team-Topper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#19 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#120 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4Kt Guesthouse
#30 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverley

Property: The Beverley
Address: 40 Murrayfield Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beverley 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and Hutch welcome you to their Victorian terraced house in Edinburgh. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue and only minutes from Edinburgh's historic city centre, The Beverley offers the epitomy of true Celtic hospitality. Whether you are in Edinburgh for just one night, on business, or intend to spend longer to explore the capital's many delights, we think you'll find the Beverley ideal, not only for its excellent location but, also for its comfort, attention to detail and unrivalled level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Beverley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing