We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
large sunny lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large sunny lounge
View of Great King Street from Lounge Window facing South/West Scottish Tourist Board Quality Assurance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
large sunny lounge
View of Great King Street from Lounge Window facing South/West
Scottish Tourist Board Quality Assurance
General View of Great King Street with Number 56 on the Right
External View of 56 Great King Street
Main entrance from the street
entrance to first floor apartment
sunny lounge looking towards the kitchen
large lounge dining
lounge dining with conservation area views
large light open plan lounge with heritage fire place
feature fireplace with smokeless fire log
Ceiling Feature
breakfast for 6
breakfast for 6
dining
dinner
Kitchen integrated fridge and dishwasher, oven, access to utility room with washer dryer/ freezer
Breakfast Bar/Kitchen high level oven and hob microwave
General View of Main Bathroom
main bathroom effect lighting
En-Suite to Main Bedroom
En-Suite to Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Double Bedroom to Rear
Quiet Bedroom
light and sunny bedroom looking through large window
bedroom with wardrobe storage and 2 single beds
double bedroom conservation area views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loubie71
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I've just returned from a great short break in Edinburgh and I have to say that this apartment is absolutely perfect! It is beautifully decorated, all the rooms are very spacious and it was immaculately clean upon our arrival. The kitchen was well stocked with glasses and crockery etc., and there was lots of tea and coffee provided for us. It was also really handy to have a Sainsbury's supermarket just around the corner for any extras that we needed.

From making my initial enquiry, Derek was extremely helpful, and answered any questions I had. Unfortunately he was away on the day that I arrived, but his friend was extremely welcoming and gave us plenty of information on the apartment and the local area. There are loads of shops, bars and restaurants within a minute's walk, or you can head on up to Princes Street which is about a 5-10 minute walk away. Everything we wanted to see and do was in walking distance, but there was also a bus stop a couple of minutes away from the apartment if we wanted to use it (this came in very handy for my dad who has a bit of trouble when walking too much).

After a long day of sightseeing, it was great to get back to a place which really did feel like home from home... very warm and welcoming!

I have been to Edinburgh quite a few times before, both self catering and hotels, but this is by far the best place I have ever stayed and would certainly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good sized apartment for a group of friends or family. I will certainly return if I get the chance!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glorious building in outstanding location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This elegant apartment on the spacious first floor of a glorious 18th century New Town building is located in a truly splendid street - surely one of Edinburgh's most beautiful. All central Edinburgh attractions are in easy walking distance, and the apartment is also close to trendy Stockbridge (NB excellent Sunday food market), and to Leith Walk.
We were a group of five (two couples, one single) who wanted to self-cater, and the place suited us perfectly. The interior is comfortable and practical, with one outstanding double, one good double, and a third large single. The furnishings are a fairly generic, as you might expect, but in good condition, and the bathrooms are very well equipped; everything feels clean, new-ish and comfortable. The kitchen ditto, with good fridges, and comfortable layout (although our only criticism would be we felt it was under-furnished in terms of cooking utensils and eg washing liquid/black bags). If you put your recycling in a separate bag, the proprietor will recycle for you.
The proprietor was friendly and very helpful, and I thought the whole package very good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: period building and location
Liked least: kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magsmill
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The ideal place to stay. Good location in a beautiful Georgian terrace. The apartment was really spacious with great facilities and having the ensuite was a real bonus. Centrally located but King Street itself was quiet but with lots of restaurants and pubs on the doorstep. Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were waiting for us and everything was really clean. Would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high ceilings and huge windows
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE...
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beyond Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The flat was the perfect place for our trip to Edinburgh! Derek (the owner) met us upon arrival and showed us around the flat and gave us lots of information and advice about local super markets, easy routes into the city and great local pubs. The location was perfect as it was an easy 5-10 minute walk into the city centre and even the area right on the flats doorstep was filled with great little pubs, shops and a Sainsburys super market in order for you to get in your own food and drinks. The flat itself was gorgeous and very spacious filled with everything we needed to have an easy and fabulous stay. It suited our family perfect. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful the flat was and the location of it.
Liked least: The stairs make it a bit hard for a pram but still easily doable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing