We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient, clean and cosy - ideal!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
mombasagi...
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and cosy - ideal!”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed 3 nights at this apartment and loved it. It's immaculately clean, the bedding, towels etc are laundered well and it's light and airy. It was a lovely place to return to after all our sightseeing. The furniture is comfortable, the apartment is warm and it is a little haven right in the heart of the old town. We would thoroughly recommend it and would happily stay there again. It seemed secure, safe and quiet, yet it is just steps away from the castle and other attractions. Between the three of us, we used the double bed and both the Z-beds in the lounge (- be aware that although the z-beds look nice, the mattresses are actually very thin); we had to move things round just a bit to make room for both beds but it wasn't a hassle. There is a Sainsbury's Local just up the road. Cooking facilities were clean and worked well. All in all, we were more than satisfied with the apartment!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and recommendation. We are so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay at the property. The location of Castle Rock Apartment couldn't be better as you are so close to Edinburgh's main attractions such as the historic castle and the Royal Mile and of course local shops to pick up your everyday essentials. What more could you want from a property!. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes,
TS Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icantrave...
whitby
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location for Castle, food and nightlife.”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a great 5 nights here for the Tattoo in August. Lots of really good restaurants close by. The apartment was all we needed for our stay and quiet in the evenings.
Loved it!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Hello Yvonne,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you had such a terrific stay in Castle Rock Apartment and enjoyed your time in Edinburgh too. With regards to the property, the location is a ideal base for touring the city and not to mention that there's restaurants suited to all taste nearby. However in saying that the property contrasts with the hustle and bustle of the city as it peaceful place at night which is great if you've had a busy day! In addition to this, we hope you enjoyed the Edinburgh Tattoo, it must've been spectacular no doubt. We certainly hope to see you again in the future as a warm welcome awaits you.
Kind regards,
TS Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimbo504
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central location excellent facilties”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The flat was in a great location especially as we could walk to the Edinburgh Tattoo and plenty of sites. The hop on hop off bus stop was very close. Be aware two flights of stairs and an older unit but clean and all facilities in it you will need. Overall I highly recommend it for your stay in Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the apartment as it is certainly in a great location. So glad you managed to visit many of the attractions Edinburgh has to offer. Hope to welcome you back some day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Reel
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Grassmarket proximity”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent well equipped apartment located adjacent Grassmarket. Be aware that beds 3 & 4 are folding type camp beds.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and location.The 3rd and 4th beds are indeed fold-down beds and we make sure this is in our description. Hope you were able to enjoy all that Edinburgh has to offer! Kind regards, TS Holiday Lets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great location. Stayed for New Year”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

One bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with limited view of castle behind the building and no lift so it was 2 flights of stairs. Thats the negative......now the positive...
loads of room, comfy furniture, free wifi, all you need for cooking, comfy bed, good bathroom, light and airy feel and an acceptable tariff
Excellent breakfast across the road at the freindliest place you could want. Grassmarket has numerous eating and drinking places of various types.
The most impressive thing was the response from the owners whenever l called or e-mailed which almost immediate and always helpful even in the evning and weekends.
It was ideal for two people and would recommend it completely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the actual apartment
Liked least: two flights of stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing