We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”

No 11 Brunswick Street
Reserve with OpenTable
No 11 Brunswick Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #280 of 2,698 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$38
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The menu at No.11 is made up of some of Scotland's best local ingredients. Our fabulous chef, Willie Lonnie combines traditional flavours with the finest of produce. Meats from Henderson the butcher and fish from Welsh the Fishmongers in Newhaven and David Laurie from Anstruthers of Fife, Cheeses from the Banchory Devenick Dairy, Preserves from Isabella's of Edzel and Breads from the Manna House Bakery in Leith. All complemented by seasonal wild fungi & greens foraged daily for us by Ben Robertson. The final touch to a perfect meal, in house home made rich chocolate truffles served with a choice of original teas and coffees available from the Edinburgh Tea and Coffee company.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went here with a Groupon for the three course meal - everything we had was delicious. I had the cullen skink (outstanding), seabass and bread pudding. My husband had some sort of salad, venison (as a replacement for the steak they were out of) and berry desert - he said it was the best venison he's had in his entire life. The staff was fantastic, prosecco was great. It does however feel like a hotel dining room instead of a regular restaurant - but don't let that put you off. The seating was comfy and the decor and large windows were lovely. Would definitely recommend - especially for the Groupon price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jelaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Manager at No 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal, and have passed on to the chef your husband's comments on the venison! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Arrived early for a pre-booked meal with a voucher (which the restaurant had kindly extended the expiry date of). Lovely welcome & service to start with but once the place got busier, we felt the service slipped. We had to ask to order wine and were surprised not to be offered coffee. I had to go to the bar to ask for this. The food was really tasty & excellent value and the room had atmosphere but I feel the staff missed opportunities to ‘up-sell’ as we would probably have bought more wine or a liqueur, had they been offered. All in all a wee bit disappointing but we may well return in future.

Thank GypsyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Manager at No 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal, however it is disappointing that the service did not meet your expectations. We aim to offer all of our guests coffee and liqueur to finish their meal or to relax with in the lounge, and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here after day shopping expedition in Edinburgh. Evening dinner was excellent. We had the 5 course taster, with some champagne to wash things down. Breakfast poached eggs, black pudding (yummy) bacon was also freshly made with great produce. Hotel has great location, 400 yards to Lewis’s with parking outside. Highly recommend!

Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Manager at No 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review! Our team appreciate the positive feedback, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Ambience warm and inviting,food and wine sublime. Scottish fare with a golden touch. Staff friendly and helpful. This was the perfect birthday treat and we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Receptionist at No 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for this five star review. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Groupon or not it enticed us to number 11 and we had a very tasty 3 course meal with a proscecco. Food was excellent. Cullen skink or ham hock. beef falling apart or sea bass and cranachan or bread n butter pudding with veggie options. Good wines nice sangiovese. Pleasant surrounds

Thank iainmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Manager at No 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for your review Iain! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the Sangiovese, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 11 Brunswick Street also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to No 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing