We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient and cosy place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grassmarket 521

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ABarrett...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Convenient and cosy place to stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely flat in a very central location.
Very cosy and clean and although small was well equipped and had evertyhting needed for a comfortable stay.
Good communication with hostess.
Would certainly stay again on another trip to Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
997rogera
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely stay here.Clean, warm and comfortable with all we needed for our weekend stay.Location was ideal with castle on your doorstep .Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Apartment!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed at this apartment several times. It's ideally close to Grassmarket, the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The apartment is spacious, clean and everything you need. It's close to bars, restaurants and a Sainsbury's. Easy to get to from the airport by getting the tram into Edinburgh city. Lynne is very helpful and provides lots of information about the apartment and the local area. The communication is great also when booking and and questions you have. A pleasure staying there and I'm sure we'll be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
665lesley
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideally situated and most comfortable pied a terre with all mod cons”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Grassmarket 521 is an excellent base for reviewing Edinburgh. It is central (yet quiet), close to the railway stations and ideally situated for walking around the city or going further.
Lynne has equipped it with everything one can possibly need and provides comprehensive details of what the city has to offer. There is local food shopping and a wide range of restaurants and cafes ,
A most comfortable home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This turned out to be a great choice of accommodation for us.
Before our arrival we had some great correspondence with the owner,(Lynn) with regards to trains and arrival times etc. We had never been to Edinburgh before and were visiting to take part in the Hogmanay activities.
The accomodation was clean and warm with a little christmas tree in the living area . Lynn met us on arrival and gave us some tips for our stay and places to visit (there is a drawer with lots of leaflets on things to do)..
The apartment was very quiet and the heating was easy to alter when needed and so we had very comfortable nights sleep which is amazing for any busy city.
The location was great - easy to get to the Royal Mile and Princes Street and there was a little Sainsburys for the fresh milk etc very close by.
Grassmarket, was a lovely square of restaurants and bars and only a few yards from the accommodation.
Should we ever get the opportunity to stay again we would hope to stay in the same place -we had a fabulous time !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing