We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #74 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly service and great location. Nice easy walk in to town to high street and old town. Great pub around the corner called the bell too which serves awesome dinner. The only minor negative was that the bed was pretty firm, a bit too firm for us but didn't take away from a very pleasant stay

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Strathallan for nine nights during our honeymoon trip to Scotland.

Located in the south of Edinburgh, Strathallan is among a cluster of guest houses and bed and breakfasts dating back to the 1800s Georgian architecture.

The guesthouse is a 40 minute walk from the city center/ Waverly Train station, about 30 minutes from the Royal Mile. We throughly enjoyed these walks.

If walking isn't your favorite mode of transportation, there are bus stops close to the house for both the Lothian and First bus networks. One way currently costs £1.60 and day ticket £4.00

From Edinburgh airport you can get to the guesthouse by taking a bus or tram to the city center and then another bus to the house. Or a taxi, which can run you ~£25.

Eamonn, the proprietor, and his staff are great; providing any assistance that we needed and even storing our large bags when we took a night trip to the highlands. He is also prompt to respond to any emails.

Strathallan offers a full Scottish breakfast (bacon [aka country ham, y'all], sausage, two fried or scrambled eggs, mushroom, tomatoes, baked beans, potato scones, toast and black pudding), Cereal, Toast, Pot of tea, coffee from the drip, croissant pastries, fruit, yogurt, and juices.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

On the main city bus line so very convenient to meet up with hop on buses at waverly station. Only complaint is no help with luggage to and from room whIch was on the third floor. A long haul for two short, age 60+ ladies. Aside from that, owner and staff very friendly. Room clean and maintained.

Room Tip: Wifi was hit and miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teris1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Srathallan is a superb place to stay for location getting easily in and out of Edinburgh centre,and a wonderfull building. Staff are great with nothing any trouble.Breakfast choice and quality also very good.
Only negative point is we had room 7,and yes I know it's advertised as small attic room which was fine,but be warned it has sloping roof meaning only about a third of the room is high enough to stand up in,but I suppose you get what you pay for.If returning to Edinburgh would stay here again paying the extra for another room.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank PAUL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

A nice location, only 2 kilometres from the Edinburgh city centre. Our room had high ceilings and a tasteful interior design. Breakfast was good, though it had to be taken between 8.15 and 9 AM.
The room had an en-suite bathroom that I would assume would range in the top 10 of the world's tinyest bathrooms, but it was clean, and the shower worked once you read the instructions on the wall (important, otherwise no warm water). The bed was very wonky and on the verge of collapsing.
Very pleasant host.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 395 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 395 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
Acer Lodge Guest House
#54 of 395 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorstan Guest House
#63 of 395 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 395 in Edinburgh
363 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Address: 44 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: €55 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing