We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,968)
Filter reviews
2,968 results
Traveller rating
1,009
1,288
474
133
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,009
1,288
474
133
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletswimming poolexecutive roomgrassmarket arearoyal mileleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomsofa bedgrass marketmodern hotelprinces streetcity breakbooked this hotelshort breakcentral locationfamily roombus stop
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 2,968 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

The hotel isn't the easiest to get to on public transport but that isn't a problem as there is always a taxi or an Uber if you don't like walking. On arrival we were given our superior room and as we didn't get there until late we just went to bed, when we woke in the morning we both noticed the room smelt a bit funny and on closer inspection we found quite a bit of dust. We spoke to reception and they told us they would sort it out for us by the time we got back later in the day. When we arrived back later they had moved us to an executive suite and also gave us some vouchers for drinks at the bar. We thought this was a very good way to deal with what we found in the previous room. The new room was nice and spacious for a city centre hotel with good bathroom and a comfortable bed. Rooms are cleaned every day unless you ask for them not to be and if you don't have it cleaned they give you a £5 voucher to use in the bar.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and were always ready to help out with any questions we had.
We used the pool and sauna and these were both very good and made even better as there were only the 2 of us using them so it was very relaxing after all the walking around the city.
Checkout was quick and easy
This isn't a cheap hotel but not many are in city centres and we felt that it was worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Go for an executive suite if you can afford it
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrique T, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear David S.
Thank you for your detailed review.
We are glad to learn that our team dealt well with you problem.
We find our hotel very easy to reach by public transportation since we have plenty of buses taking you to the airport, Royal Yacht Britannia also the city centre.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Henrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel. Quite a walk away from the city centre despite its title. Modern rooms but weirdly designed. Toilet in a room with whole mirror wall. Not sure I liked that. No where to wash your hands until you’re back in the bedroom where the wash basin is located. Not sure this is at all hygienic. Who wants to watch their partner cleaning their teeth or shaving in the bedroom. All very odd. The shower is amazing but you can be seen from the bedroom. No privacy whatsoever. Breakfast excellent but no fish choice. Hot sunny day and no where at all to sit outside to enjoy the weather other than a park which was 10 mins walk away. Car park 5 mins walk NCP £12 a day.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank adabournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrique T, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear adabournemouth
Thank you for your review.
I am sad you did not love our "Open Bathroom rooms" we are happy to allocate you in a more conventional room next time you visit us.
Next time please feel free to seat in our sunny terrace outside the bar. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Best regards
Henrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Enjoyed our stay here for a few days after a long cruise and before a tour of Scotland. We had a newly renovated room which was very nice. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant and bar were fine for what we paid.I think there were still renovations going on which are probably complete by now. The hotel looked to be popular for families as we saw a number of happy family groups who seemed to have been enjoying the pool.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Dee291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrique T, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Dee291
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are very proud of our new rooms as well glad to learn you appreciate them.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Henrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Booked this hotel for a short stay and theatre visit. Stay began with some confusion and the receptionist unable to find my booking, however, after some time she managed to determine that the booking had been made in the wrong name. Other than that, we had no further contact or interaction from the staff during our stay.
Room was of a reasonable quality, good size shower/bathroom, small toilet, ample storage, TV, kettle, good size bed if rather too firm for our liking, not much of a view overlooking a parking yard and other rooms.
We did not take advantage of the catering at the hotel but the bar seemed well stocked and not overly expensive and the staff pleasant enough.
The pool and sauna facilities were an added attraction to our choice of hotel however the steam room was not working at the time of our visit, also, the provision of drinking water would have been a favourable addition to the facilities. In fact, somewhat parched after attending the leisure facilities, my wife enquired at the reception if drinking water was available, we were told that our room should have complimentary bottled water in the mini bar, we checked and there was none and upon asking a hotel maid we were informed that 'superior' rooms were not entitled to complimentary water, only executive rooms.....
Furthermore, having taken advantage of the in-room coffee making facilities on our arrival on Friday, and having both my wife and I using up our quota of sugar (a total of four sachets) we were not supplied any further sugar during our stay (presumably executive rooms were?).
Our main purpose of our stay was to visit the theatre to watch Wicked the musical and to enjoy the beautiful city of Edinburgh, which we did, although this particular hotel was further out of the 'centre' of the city than we had anticipated and taxies to and from proved rather expensive. However, the local bus routes proved not too inconvenient and a cheaper option for frequent travel.
In all, I found this hotel to be of an average standard and the service to be a little less so, nice stay in a beautiful city, but next time will look elsewhere for my accommodation.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrique T, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Allan J.
Thank you so much for your review.
We will take your feedback about have a water fountain down in our Leisure Facilities.
We look forward to welcome you back so we can change your perception of our hotel.
I remain at your service.
Best regards
Henrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Good hotel to use as a base. Stayed here whilst being tourists in our own city!! Not often in this part of town so it was a great experience! Very convenient for the Grassmarket, with its bistros & speciality shopping, also near the night life and bars. Lots of eateries to choose from within a gentle stroll. The rooms in the hotel are stylish and functional, nice toiletries, decent hairdryer and easy to use temperature control. Didn’t bother booking breakfast as there are so many options nearby but the bar/diner area looked really nice. The highlight for me (& the reason we booked this hotel) was the pool. Small but perfectly formed (max 14) I managed to have it all to myself on Sunday morning, for an hour. It is the perfect temperature. All & all would recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LAURIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrique T, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Laurie.
Thank you so much for your review.
We would be very keen in knowing what we could have improved in order to have a 5/5 next time you visit us.
Best regards
Henrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews